Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have to tell you, after giving for 15 years to HDSA I was shocked when it came my turn to ask for help. My wife's Mother passed from HD and we gave religiously for 15 years afterward to HDSA. When my wife in turn became diagnosed with HD, I turned to HDSA for assistance. I was asked my name and SSN so they could see how much donating I had done to HDSA, and then only gave me flyers on where to find assistance. I now give to the Hereditary Disease Foundation that is actually searching for a cure, that is their main goal. HDSA helped you die with HD, it doesn't want a cure, please check the numbers in there budget and finances to see what your donated money goes to.
September 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

My husband had HD and passed away in January. Our oldest daughter has HD. We have a long history of this disease in our family. HDSA is providing support, research for a cure, hope, knowledge, and ... more

September 22, 2014

Our family has HD. We have been supported, informed, inspired and been given hope through the Huntington's Disease Society of America. This disease is not as wide spread and widely known as many are, therefore, those of us who have this disease are often at a loss. We are given great hope from HDSA, because of the tireless work they do for fund raising and research to find a cure. HDSA has been working tirelessly for decades to find a cure, and they have done this without the huge public awareness and financial donations many diseases get. As a result of the research they have done, many breakthroughs for other diseases have been found and shared by HDSA. The HD community is a very special community, as we have become very proactive in creating many local fundraising events across the country and around the world to support the continued research for a cure. We are very committed to supporting each other to help us live day to day with this disease.
October 19, 2012

My husband had HD and passed away in January. Our oldest daughter has HD. We have a long history of this disease in our family. HDSA is providing support, research for a cure, hope, knowledge, and understanding for the families living with this disease. Without HDSA and their affiliated local chapters we would be adrift and lost. The support, knowledge and doctors that give us the strength to go on day to day is invaluable.to us. The research that HDSA not only is finding information to help HD persons, but has also helped other diseases like alzheimers, parkinsons and more. I can think of no other organization that have members like HDSA who personally develope fund raisers and contribute their time, money and support as the HD families do. When we first became aware of this disease in our family, we had no information, support, or doctors who knew about HD and we were filled with fear. Now we have the tools, knowledge and support to help us along this tragic road that is Huntingtons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

My family has a history with this devastating disease. Huntington's Disease Society of America has been a godsend. They not only help support, but educate as well. I have used numerous resources provide by HDSA. I truly don't know what I would do without this organization. Thank you to everyone @ HDSA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

HDSA is a truly amazing organization. It provides a sense of clarity and comfort to families affected by HD when things are seemingly spiraling out of control. They provide information and resources we are desperately seeking, and show you that you're not in this alone. They definitely deserve the recognition.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

The HD Society is a wonderful organization. Not only do they support those affected by HD, they invest in realistic research and contribute to the HD patient as a whole person, not just the disease. They also provide support for families, caregivers, and the community. The fundraising done for HD is done in realistic, local levels to produce national results. Very pleased overall and there are tons of ways to give.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

HDSA has helped families and patients themselves with the devastating effects of HD. They offer wonderful programs for families to help educate caregivers and also support for the patient. They have also offered great programs for the children of HD families to deal with this hereditary gene.

They have made great progress in regard to stopping the HD Gene but so much more needs to be done to help the thousands of people effected. One day before I leave this earth I hope to read they have found a way to stop HD and that treatment can be giving to all the patients and family members that tested positive for the gene.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Best non-profit organization out there. The information they provide is hugely comforting. This disease is not as recognized in the general public, but with HDSA working 24/7 with families and for a cure, we hope to raise more awareness.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Best non-profit doing great work! Feel great about my money going to HDSA!
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

The service is great for families and patients alike. No matter what question you ask, or what service you need, the agency employees are there to work tirelessly to give you an answer or point you in the right direction for immediate help. Donations are accepted with great gratitude and receipts are issued without fail. Highly recommended for families, caregivers, etc. Whenever I have visited the office, the staff is courteous and helpful.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

We have a 36 year old daughter with Huntington's. This non-profit page provides us with comfort and information. There are other HD families out there and this helps us with perspective.
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers