Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.878055
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how ... more

April 15, 2014

Working with Humanity Road is one of the most rewarding experiences I've had in my many years of volunteer. Exemplary leadership, training and support for digital disaster response.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how this incredible organziation helps people via disseminating accurate and timely information during crisis, whether it's a natual disaster like atornado, an earthquake, a blizzard, or a hurricane or a manmade one like the bombings in Boston. I am honored to be a volunteer with this organization and plan to continue contributing my skills and energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cat Graham, vice president and cofounder of Humanity Road, gave an excellent presentation on Disaster Response in the Digital Age to our staff and volunteers at a local chapter of the American Red Cross where she shared her experiences, and that of Humanity Road's, in providing virtual humanitarian response to those individuals affected by disasters around the world. Its innovative strategies as an Internet-based crisis response organization, paired with its dedicated group of global volunteers, has positioned Humanity Road as a leader in virtual disaster communications. i've been a volunteer with different organizations for many years, and I've never seen such a dedicated group of people, led by two equally dedicated leaders, Chris Thompson and Cat Graham, as you will find with Humanity Road. It is an organization worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was involved personally with this organization in an effort to help stranded persons during a flood in the Dominican Republic. The effort paid off and people who were at high risk of being overrun by high waters were transported to a safer location. Great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with Humanity Road as a volunteer since 2011. I have worked with the team in responding to several disasters and the dedication of the other volunteers constantly amazes me. As someone who creates social media analysis tools, I find their approach to disaster response very innovative. Volunteering at Humanity Road has been a wonderful learning experience for me and I will continue to help in whatever way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer with Humanity Road since from past one year. I've experienced the importance, role and scope of the internet technology and social media during emergency with Humanity Road. It save people and animals lives through first aid advice and other life-saving information on social media. I'm learning with Humanity Road team and enjoying too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am Team Leader of the Animals in Disaster cluster, and have been volunteering with Humanity Road since May, 2011. I was attracted to HR for the opportunity to use social media and other resources to disseminate information that helps people and animals around the world survive in times of disaster. I respect and admire HR's founders, Christine Thompson and Catherine Graham, for their gifted ability to inspire our volunteers to creatively and competently apply innovative and creative solutions to promote safety and well being in communities. I am honored to collaborate with HR’s team of knowledgeable, compassionate people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Imagine for a moment that you've been involved in a disaster in your community, and you've tried to inform the local emergency responders about your need for rescue, food, shelter, or even medical and civil aid. Yet you cannot get through to them. Local phone and powerlines are down, so is the internet, but you're able to send out a text message on your phone. You've tried to text 911, but couldn't get through. You think that there is nothing that you can do. Then you remember seeing a news article about a non-profit group, with volunteers from around the world who during the aftermath of Haiti provided the link to inform others of your need for rescue and relief. Losing the ability to contact your local emergency responders is very real, as is the ability to contact other dedicated experts who will answer your call. Humanity Road is such an organization. They've been leaders in connecting those in need, and in educating others that it's possible. Our US Military as well as several International governments have recognized their dedication and contribution to provide subject matter expertise on utilizing social media and crowd source mapping to support the rescue and relief efforts. I'd like to recognize them too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The effect and use of social media to aid in the rescue and response to a catastrophic event will continue to grow as as an expectation of those involved in a disaster. Humanity Road are experts in it's use. They taught me the value and the necessity that responders and government must learn to be able to utilize these methods. They taught me that I could quickly learn as well as contribute this invaluable skill. Teamed with other volunteers around the world, I've developed greater awareness as well as friendships with others utilizing their teaching and methods. With this additional knowledge, I have become a spokesperson informing others, government leaders, and community groups to learn and to take advantage of their training, as well as to participate in on-going relief and rescue efforts.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I truly felt that I made a difference, and that lives will be saved because of my involvement and participation with this Phenomenal organization.

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Humanity Road through my college and became a volunteer. I liked the fact that I could help others via Twitter, Skype, Facebook, etc. and that additional training was offered within the organization to help with growth when needed. I have used Twitter in weather emergencies within my state and surrounding states during tornado season. Humanity Road is a wonderful organization that helps so many around the world and will continue to help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I became a volunteer for Humanity Road after finding out about the organization through the college I attending. As an Emergency Management student, this group is teaching me more about how techonology is helping people connect with those in need anywhere in the world than the text books are teaching right now. I throughly enjoy working with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

I first became acquainted with Humanity Road shortly after the Haiti earthquake. After seeing the devastation, and remembering how helpless I felt during 9/11, I was determined to find a way to help the victims and Humanity Road was that vehicle. The founders and volunteers have such big hearts and serve as such great mentors. I was new to disaster relief and felt I learned so much from my volunteer experience. What was also exciting was the feeling of being on the cutting edge of technology. Never before had I seen social media being used in such creative ways to save lives. I know that Humanity Road has grown a tremendous amount since the days/weeks/months of the Haiti earthquake and they continue to make an impact where it is needed most. I am grateful for the opportunity of having been able to work with this organization and I look forward to becoming a more active volunteer soon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Use the Internet from home and help save lives. Volunteer