Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.864865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an Emergency Manager and Board Member to Humanity Road, I am constantly impressed with HR's ability to leverage limited resources from around the globe to provided, real, genuine, and targeted assistance to people in areas impacted by emergencies and disasters. Humanity Road truly does a great job filling gaps for people falling between formal response and traditional volunteer groups. I'm proud to be associated with their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I do not know what I would have done without the help I received from Humanity Road. I lost everything due to Superstorm Sandy. I tried getting help and got no where until Cat Graham from Humanity Road got involved. I was living in a house that had mold, no walls, no flooring, no kitchen, in fact my kitchen sink was on saw horses so that I could use it. I am only a year recovering from nose and throat cancer and I am still after two years receiving back procedures and surgeries. Cat Was amazing getting in touch with organizations and Fema telling my story and having them listen and help me. I am now in a rental with clean sofa's and beds for my daughter, my husband and myself. Due to Cat and her organization Humanity Road, Red Cross (the only organization which has helped me), I am sitting and sleeping on bacteria free furniture, able to have home cooked meals and I am breathing better without the dust that was constantly coming out of the walls. I would and have already recommended them to people that are dealing with all the problem which I have encountered. I do not know what I would have done without them. Thank you Cat and Humanity Road for allowing me to feel I mattered.
Debra Versheck

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer with Humanity Road since from past one year. I've experienced the importance, role and scope of the internet technology and social media during emergency with Humanity Road. It save people and animals lives through first aid advice and other life-saving information on social media. I'm learning with Humanity Road team and enjoying too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am Team Leader of the Animals in Disaster cluster, and have been volunteering with Humanity Road since May, 2011. I was attracted to HR for the opportunity to use social media and other resources to disseminate information that helps people and animals around the world survive in times of disaster. I respect and admire HR's founders, Christine Thompson and Catherine Graham, for their gifted ability to inspire our volunteers to creatively and competently apply innovative and creative solutions to promote safety and well being in communities. I am honored to collaborate with HR’s team of knowledgeable, compassionate people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Imagine for a moment that you've been involved in a disaster in your community, and you've tried to inform the local emergency responders about your need for rescue, food, shelter, or even medical and civil aid. Yet you cannot get through to them. Local phone and powerlines are down, so is the internet, but you're able to send out a text message on your phone. You've tried to text 911, but couldn't get through. You think that there is nothing that you can do. Then you remember seeing a news article about a non-profit group, with volunteers from around the world who during the aftermath of Haiti provided the link to inform others of your need for rescue and relief. Losing the ability to contact your local emergency responders is very real, as is the ability to contact other dedicated experts who will answer your call. Humanity Road is such an organization. They've been leaders in connecting those in need, and in educating others that it's possible. Our US Military as well as several International governments have recognized their dedication and contribution to provide subject matter expertise on utilizing social media and crowd source mapping to support the rescue and relief efforts. I'd like to recognize them too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The effect and use of social media to aid in the rescue and response to a catastrophic event will continue to grow as as an expectation of those involved in a disaster. Humanity Road are experts in it's use. They taught me the value and the necessity that responders and government must learn to be able to utilize these methods. They taught me that I could quickly learn as well as contribute this invaluable skill. Teamed with other volunteers around the world, I've developed greater awareness as well as friendships with others utilizing their teaching and methods. With this additional knowledge, I have become a spokesperson informing others, government leaders, and community groups to learn and to take advantage of their training, as well as to participate in on-going relief and rescue efforts.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I truly felt that I made a difference, and that lives will be saved because of my involvement and participation with this Phenomenal organization.

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Humanity Road through my college and became a volunteer. I liked the fact that I could help others via Twitter, Skype, Facebook, etc. and that additional training was offered within the organization to help with growth when needed. I have used Twitter in weather emergencies within my state and surrounding states during tornado season. Humanity Road is a wonderful organization that helps so many around the world and will continue to help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Humanity Road has proven to be an important tool, using social media for communicating when disaster strikes. Their team of dedicated volunteers are committed to helping, not only here in the states, but worldwide. Humanity Road continues to connect disaster survivors with the assistance needed to recover.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I connected with Humanity Road via Twitter (@HumanityRoad) while researching earthquake relief organizations operating in Haiti. At the time, I was looking to provide assistance in the form of urgently needed goods or services where 100% of my donation would be applied for immediate use to benefit those in crisis. There were so many organizations to chose from, with each claiming their need for donations, but I didn't know who to trust with all certainty that my donation would directly (not indirectly) benefit those in need. Tracking their activity and learning more about the organization's goals, progress, and operational integrity, I reached out to Humanity Road with my concern and wishes. Highly knowledgeable, trained, and compassionate volunteers swiftly provided me with contact info, specifications, and guidance that facilitated my donation to the intended recipients in an incredibly expedient and efficient manner. With great satisfaction and gratitude, I knew I made the right choice to collaborate with Humanity Road.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

through research on Twitter

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I became a volunteer for Humanity Road after finding out about the organization through the college I attending. As an Emergency Management student, this group is teaching me more about how techonology is helping people connect with those in need anywhere in the world than the text books are teaching right now. I throughly enjoy working with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

I first became acquainted with Humanity Road shortly after the Haiti earthquake. After seeing the devastation, and remembering how helpless I felt during 9/11, I was determined to find a way to help the victims and Humanity Road was that vehicle. The founders and volunteers have such big hearts and serve as such great mentors. I was new to disaster relief and felt I learned so much from my volunteer experience. What was also exciting was the feeling of being on the cutting edge of technology. Never before had I seen social media being used in such creative ways to save lives. I know that Humanity Road has grown a tremendous amount since the days/weeks/months of the Haiti earthquake and they continue to make an impact where it is needed most. I am grateful for the opportunity of having been able to work with this organization and I look forward to becoming a more active volunteer soon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us research online emerging urgent information during disaster. Or, research disaster preparedness information for various countries to help us increase our library of preparedness materials. Three hours assisting during an emerging event could help save someone's life. In 2012, volunteers helped facilitate a rescue during rapid flooding that struck the Dominican Republic. Volunteer from home and help save lives! Volunteer