Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Staff from Humanity Road have been incredible at helping out with preparations for the World Humanitarian Summit, which is an initiative of the United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, being managed by UN OCHA. Their staff have helped with outreach and with our online forums to gather input about how to improve global humanitarian action. They are very professional and extremely talented.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When I joined Humanity Road over a year ago as a volunteer, I noticed through out the internet there was a lack of Disaster Preparedness information for the Vulnerable Population. And since I am disabled and have a Service Dog, I was interested in what I should be doing to be ready for disasters. So I went to Cat Graham and mentioned what I had seen was missing and thought needed to be included and offered to the Vulnerable Populations around the world. So first we ran a poll to find out what Hash tag we would use in Social Media. And it was decided to use #DAFN (Disability, Accessibility, Function Needs), and now we are working on Information Alerts to send out related to the different types of Disasters. Our first disaster information alerts are covering what to do Before, During and After a Hurricane to go along with National Hurricane week. We also wrote a blog with suggestions for owners of Service Dogs of what to include in a Go-Bag and a Disaster Kit. I am so thankful to Humanity Roads for seeing the need for this type of information, and look forward to more disaster tips and ideas for persons with functional needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. The Team leaders of Humanity Road work hard to keep the volunteer's up to date on training and what is new and happening in Social Media around the world. They are always open to new ideas or ways to make things run better. The only thing I can think of that the group as a whole would change, and that is that there would be no more disasters!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I have a very small budget but wanted to help in a real way. I make a small donation monthly to this organization and I see what they do on a very small budget. Its amazing. I'm very happy with their work and their transparency.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how ... more

April 15, 2014

Working with Humanity Road is one of the most rewarding experiences I've had in my many years of volunteer. Exemplary leadership, training and support for digital disaster response.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how this incredible organziation helps people via disseminating accurate and timely information during crisis, whether it's a natual disaster like atornado, an earthquake, a blizzard, or a hurricane or a manmade one like the bombings in Boston. I am honored to be a volunteer with this organization and plan to continue contributing my skills and energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

On March 5, 2014, at 2:30 PM CST. the warning coordination meteorologist at the National Weather Service's Norman, OK, weather forecast office requested the assistance of the Oklahoma Virtual Operations Support Team in monitoring the audience reach for its 2014 Twitter Tornado Drill. I am team leader for OKVOST, and reached out on Skype to Cat Graham with HR. She in turn contacted the Arizona State University Data Mining and Machine Learning Lab to assist in data collection and analysis. By 5:30 PM, the time of the drill, the ASU DMML, HR and OKVOST were in place to assist NWS Norman. Without the quick and timely assistance from HR, we wouldn't have been able to provide NWS Norman with near real-time results as to reach and geographic location of its Twitter Tornado Drill. -- John Butler, Team Leader, Oklahoma Virtual Operations Support Team / volunteer, City of Altus (OK) Emergency Management Agency.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cat Graham, vice president and cofounder of Humanity Road, gave an excellent presentation on Disaster Response in the Digital Age to our staff and volunteers at a local chapter of the American Red Cross where she shared her experiences, and that of Humanity Road's, in providing virtual humanitarian response to those individuals affected by disasters around the world. Its innovative strategies as an Internet-based crisis response organization, paired with its dedicated group of global volunteers, has positioned Humanity Road as a leader in virtual disaster communications. i've been a volunteer with different organizations for many years, and I've never seen such a dedicated group of people, led by two equally dedicated leaders, Chris Thompson and Cat Graham, as you will find with Humanity Road. It is an organization worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was involved personally with this organization in an effort to help stranded persons during a flood in the Dominican Republic. The effort paid off and people who were at high risk of being overrun by high waters were transported to a safer location. Great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with Humanity Road as a volunteer since 2011. I have worked with the team in responding to several disasters and the dedication of the other volunteers constantly amazes me. As someone who creates social media analysis tools, I find their approach to disaster response very innovative. Volunteering at Humanity Road has been a wonderful learning experience for me and I will continue to help in whatever way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have served on the board of directors of Humanity Road, Inc., since its founding in 2010. Since that time, I have seen our spontaneous team of volunteers take the germ of an idea and grow it into a disciplined and efficient organization that is a recognized leader in the field of using social media tools to improve the information available to first responders and to assist individuals impacted by sudden onset disasters. I am extremely proud of the dedication, professionalism and hard work of my colleagues and our global team of volunteers. In the almost four years since the organization was founded, Chris Thompson and Cat Graham have consistently amazed me with their talents and passion for helping others. In a world of 24-hour news and near ubiquitous access to the Internet, our awareness of and ability to help those caught up in a crisis (be it natural or man-made) has never been more possible. My Humanity Road colleagues and friends have developed a well thought out and replicable model for volunteers around the world to reach out and help their fellow man and for victims of disasters to quickly find the information they need to help themselves. I would encourage anyone who is interested to make a monetary donation or to donate your time/talents - you will be amazed at the lives that you touch!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Humanity Road is a trusted resource to many disaster response organizations. They provide relevant and verifiable information about developing events which can be relied upon for situational awareness or tactical deployment decisions. Our organization has worked with HR on several occasions since Hurricane Sandy, and would recommend them to any Emergency Management organization without hesitation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Use the Internet from home and help save lives. Volunteer