Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.864865
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

On March 5, 2014, at 2:30 PM CST. the warning coordination meteorologist at the National Weather Service's Norman, OK, weather forecast office requested the assistance of the Oklahoma Virtual Operations Support Team in monitoring the audience reach for its 2014 Twitter Tornado Drill. I am team leader for OKVOST, and reached out on Skype to Cat Graham with HR. She in turn contacted the Arizona State University Data Mining and Machine Learning Lab to assist in data collection and analysis. By 5:30 PM, the time of the drill, the ASU DMML, HR and OKVOST were in place to assist NWS Norman. Without the quick and timely assistance from HR, we wouldn't have been able to provide NWS Norman with near real-time results as to reach and geographic location of its Twitter Tornado Drill. -- John Butler, Team Leader, Oklahoma Virtual Operations Support Team / volunteer, City of Altus (OK) Emergency Management Agency.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how ... more

April 15, 2014

Working with Humanity Road is one of the most rewarding experiences I've had in my many years of volunteer. Exemplary leadership, training and support for digital disaster response.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how this incredible organziation helps people via disseminating accurate and timely information during crisis, whether it's a natual disaster like atornado, an earthquake, a blizzard, or a hurricane or a manmade one like the bombings in Boston. I am honored to be a volunteer with this organization and plan to continue contributing my skills and energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cat Graham, vice president and cofounder of Humanity Road, gave an excellent presentation on Disaster Response in the Digital Age to our staff and volunteers at a local chapter of the American Red Cross where she shared her experiences, and that of Humanity Road's, in providing virtual humanitarian response to those individuals affected by disasters around the world. Its innovative strategies as an Internet-based crisis response organization, paired with its dedicated group of global volunteers, has positioned Humanity Road as a leader in virtual disaster communications. i've been a volunteer with different organizations for many years, and I've never seen such a dedicated group of people, led by two equally dedicated leaders, Chris Thompson and Cat Graham, as you will find with Humanity Road. It is an organization worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was involved personally with this organization in an effort to help stranded persons during a flood in the Dominican Republic. The effort paid off and people who were at high risk of being overrun by high waters were transported to a safer location. Great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with Humanity Road as a volunteer since 2011. I have worked with the team in responding to several disasters and the dedication of the other volunteers constantly amazes me. As someone who creates social media analysis tools, I find their approach to disaster response very innovative. Volunteering at Humanity Road has been a wonderful learning experience for me and I will continue to help in whatever way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have served on the board of directors of Humanity Road, Inc., since its founding in 2010. Since that time, I have seen our spontaneous team of volunteers take the germ of an idea and grow it into a disciplined and efficient organization that is a recognized leader in the field of using social media tools to improve the information available to first responders and to assist individuals impacted by sudden onset disasters. I am extremely proud of the dedication, professionalism and hard work of my colleagues and our global team of volunteers. In the almost four years since the organization was founded, Chris Thompson and Cat Graham have consistently amazed me with their talents and passion for helping others. In a world of 24-hour news and near ubiquitous access to the Internet, our awareness of and ability to help those caught up in a crisis (be it natural or man-made) has never been more possible. My Humanity Road colleagues and friends have developed a well thought out and replicable model for volunteers around the world to reach out and help their fellow man and for victims of disasters to quickly find the information they need to help themselves. I would encourage anyone who is interested to make a monetary donation or to donate your time/talents - you will be amazed at the lives that you touch!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Humanity Road is a trusted resource to many disaster response organizations. They provide relevant and verifiable information about developing events which can be relied upon for situational awareness or tactical deployment decisions. Our organization has worked with HR on several occasions since Hurricane Sandy, and would recommend them to any Emergency Management organization without hesitation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Humanity Road provided surge support to our volunteer-driven relief coordination for North India (Uttarakhand) floods and helped in the information collation on the Web, specifically with a 3W (Who-What-Where) report. The kind of active participation by HR volunteers in not just the specific tasks but overall in the coordination of this large volunteer group is absolutely commendable. I was also coordinator of this group and found the noteworthy skills shown from HR mates which are critical for both the overall goal of the work as well as collaboration. It includes drilling down on specificity, time-bound functions and reporting of each day for accountability. Really enjoyed working with you all, Cat et al.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In our third year of operation, I wanted to say that as a board member and CEO for Humanity Road, I am deeply humbled by and proud of the work done by our volunteers. From fulfilling individual urgent requests by people impacted by disaster to collecting evidence of damage caused by earthquakes, tornadoes and hurricanes, they are always ready to help the public when it needs most. We are driven by need and led by experience but we are powered by volunteers. Thank you team!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I am theSubject Matter Expert for Communications and Information Sharing as it relates to Humanitarian Civil Assistance and Disaster Relief within the Office of the Chief Information Officer for the Dept of Defense. One area that we are looking at is how can we better manage Social Media, globally, to assist our Commanders that are responding to an HADR event as well as the responder community in general. We have been working with HumanityRoad (HR) now for over three years as they been a key part of our experimentation on Social Media and its inclusion in our exercise process. I truely think that without HR's help we would have been lost in trying to figure out a way ahead.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us research online emerging urgent information during disaster. Or, research disaster preparedness information for various countries to help us increase our library of preparedness materials. Three hours assisting during an emerging event could help save someone's life. In 2012, volunteers helped facilitate a rescue during rapid flooding that struck the Dominican Republic. Volunteer from home and help save lives! Volunteer