Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.847835
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I met with Ms. Cat Graham, Vice President, Humanity Road during the Pacific Endeavor (MCIP) exercise from 11-22 August 2014 in Kathmandu, Nepal. Her contribution in the White Cell of Pacific Endeavor was an opportunity to learn and grow further. She has linked humanitarian community with translators without borders, Direct Relief - Medicines, CISCO’s humanitarian services as well as HA/DR services for boarder disaster preparedness in Nepal.

While we were focused in the exercise, the massive floods and landslides triggered by heavy rainfall from 14-18 August 2014 caused hundred of thousands of people across 25 districts affected in the country. Among the affected districts, the four districts of Western Nepal - Banke, Bardiya, Dang and Surkhet were the most affected districts. More than 163,000 population were affected by the flood and about 31,500 houses were damaged (8,562 houses fully destroyed and 22,890 partially damaged).

The major gap was identified in shelter. Based on this gap, Ms. Graham immediately linked with Shelter Box to provide possible assistance. International Federation of Red Cross (IFRC) and Nepal Red Cross Society was linked with Shelter Box for possible quick assistance. This linkage worked and Shelter Box agreed to provide support in Surkhet District. As of now, 58 shelter box installed in three VDCs of Surkhet district, however, remaining 166 under process of installation.

I fill honored working with her as she is always ready to assist people affected by disasters and quite supportive, encouraging and motivating. I would love to keep working with her and Humanity Road in coming day.
September 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I joined Humanity Road 2 months ago and it’s been the most fulfilling volunteer experience I’ve ever had. I really enjoyed working with this group of warm-hearted and dedicated individuals who are always ready to assist people affected by disasters. The leadership is very supportive, encouraging and provides lots of opportunities to learn and grow. I am very happy that I found this organization and would love to keep working with them.
September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I recently joined Humanity Road as a volunteer and I’ve been so happy with my time so far. Everyone has been so helpful in teaching me new skills and welcoming me to the team. The teams are well organized and flexible; I have been able to work at my own pace as I learn the details of a social media focused. Very happy I joined!
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Humanity Road helped during a recent public event by monitoring social media for information that would be instrumental in our Emergency Operations Center.

The Humanity Road team proved to be proficient in using new and established tools to monitor Twitter, Facebook, Google Plus,
Instagram, and other sources.

During the event, the team produced information that was not readily available to EOC staff.

Thanks to the Humanity Road team for their innovative application of social media in emergency management.
September 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Humanity Road worked with Florida State University to develop the 28th Annual Governor's Hurricane Conference's first social media exercise. It was a resounding success and we plan to conduct another one next year. Social media has become an integral part of emergency management so this exercise and related training sessions and workshops were very beneficial to our attendees. We are most appreciative of Humanity Road's support.
August 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Humanity Road’s unyielding, dedicated and quality efforts of collecting, aggregating, posting and disseminating information in supporting disaster awareness and relief, and humanitarian assistance is industry’s best, providing other respective organizations a standard for which to aspire. Core to their success is their depth and breadth knowledge and experience of open source information, using a best-of-breed approach across a variety of tools and methods in harmony to obtain the best timely and accurate intelligence possible. They do not just passively use these various open source information tools and methods, but continuously improve industries policies and processes through actively participating in exercises, training and program events, and directly coordinating requirements and evaluation with tool providers. We have been working with Humanity Road since 2012 developing supporting capabilities for which their assistance has been continuously professional, un-biased and spot-on. They are a true and proven leader in forming the way forward for open source information intelligence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

When I joined Humanity Road over a year ago as a volunteer, I noticed through out the internet there was a lack of Disaster Preparedness information for the Vulnerable Population. And since I am disabled and have a Service Dog, I was interested in what I should be doing to be ready for disasters. So I went to Cat Graham and mentioned what I had seen was missing and thought needed to be included and offered to the Vulnerable Populations around the world. So first we ran a poll to find out what Hash tag we would use in Social Media. And it was decided to use #DAFN (Disability, Accessibility, Function Needs), and now we are working on Information Alerts to send out related to the different types of Disasters. Our first disaster information alerts are covering what to do Before, During and After a Hurricane to go along with National Hurricane week. We also wrote a blog with suggestions for owners of Service Dogs of what to include in a Go-Bag and a Disaster Kit. I am so thankful to Humanity Roads for seeing the need for this type of information, and look forward to more disaster tips and ideas for persons with functional needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. The Team leaders of Humanity Road work hard to keep the volunteer's up to date on training and what is new and happening in Social Media around the world. They are always open to new ideas or ways to make things run better. The only thing I can think of that the group as a whole would change, and that is that there would be no more disasters!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have a very small budget but wanted to help in a real way. I make a small donation monthly to this organization and I see what they do on a very small budget. Its amazing. I'm very happy with their work and their transparency.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Staff from Humanity Road have been incredible at helping out with preparations for the World Humanitarian Summit, which is an initiative of the United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, being managed by UN OCHA. Their staff have helped with outreach and with our online forums to gather input about how to improve global humanitarian action. They are very professional and extremely talented.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how ... more

April 15, 2014

Working with Humanity Road is one of the most rewarding experiences I've had in my many years of volunteer. Exemplary leadership, training and support for digital disaster response.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found Humanity Road after reading an article by Bill Lohmann in the Richmond (VA) Times Dispatch. Working with HMRD as a volunteer has been rewarding and challenging. I've learned so much about how this incredible organziation helps people via disseminating accurate and timely information during crisis, whether it's a natual disaster like atornado, an earthquake, a blizzard, or a hurricane or a manmade one like the bombings in Boston. I am honored to be a volunteer with this organization and plan to continue contributing my skills and energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Use the Internet from home and help save lives. Volunteer