Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.863645
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

HFC was a life changing experience for me, my family and my school. The two trips to Rwanda and Tanzania have taught us how the power of ordinary people working together can affect permanent change-t... more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the honor and pleasure of volunteering for HFC for three (soon to be four) summers. The passion and mission of this wonderful organization has inspired me, my family and friends to see the world from a new perspective and to realize that everyone is our "neighbor".

I have
received so much from from the people in Rwanda and Tanzania, far more than anything I have given.

Sincerely
Dan Harms
Dean of Students
Lutheran High School South
St. Louis, MO.
November 28, 2012

HFC was a life changing experience for me, my family and my school. The two trips to Rwanda and Tanzania have taught us how the power of ordinary people working together can affect permanent change-through micro-loans, education and husbanding of resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

So many non-profits garner recognition less from their work and more for their panache, so when I was first introduced to Humanity for Children I had expected much of the same. It was quickly apparent to me, however, that that was simply not the case with HFC.

When traveling in Rwanda
and Tanzania with HFC's project team in the summer of 2011, I was struck by the organization's approach to their work. Humanity for Children and its directors have built real relationships with the people in the communities in which they are active. They go to a community, observe it, talk to the people who know it and its needs best, and then set out to implement their projects. This means that whether they are raising funds for solar study lights for Rwandan school kids or constructing health facilties in remote areas of Maasailand, HFC is having a profound impact.

I'm so proud to be involved with this organization. It's through the opportunities I have had to work with its volunteers and meet the people whose lives HFC's projects affect that I'm reminded why we all need each other, how we can help one another, and how we challenge each other to be better versions of ourselves. HFC pours such passion and joy into all of their efforts, and I'm excited to see what they do in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I consider Humanity for Children one of the best of the best. I spent 9 months volunteering with HFC in Rota, Kenya and the experience changed my life. Since my return, I continued to volunteer with the NGO and am impressed and humbled by the great work that they do. I have experienced first hand what a difference HFC has made in the lives of others and am moved beyond words. I can not thank them enough for the impact they have made in this world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Humanity For Children can truly be said to be a Great Nonprofit Organization. Over this past Summer I was granted the opportunity to experience what it is that Humanity For Children does firsthand in Rwanda. Working with various community members, mothers, fathers, children and the elderly we were able to address issues of health, education and how women can achieve an income through starting their own small business. From such an experience, working with such a phenomenal NGO you are reminded of what your purpose in life is, how it is that such an experience can impact others as well as one's self. As this NGO continues to steadily grow, I wish for HFC to open a post in Burundi in the next coming years, because their mission fits perfectly. Their mission goes a long way in implementing a great cause. Humanity For Children, I sincerely thank you for all that you do to serve the East African community and change the lives within of many, among those, individuals who have the opportunity to be a part of this NGO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to be able to volunteer with HFC. They have changed my life and directed me to the importance of my life. The experience I had while in Rwanda, help me see first hand the importance of relationships. The relationships they build with the people grows and grows. All of their donations go towards a project in a community which they have build a relationship. This is important because they want to trust them and get feedback which I believe is a huge strength then just donating to donate. I cant wait to support them again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I had the opportunity to volunteer with HFC after graduating from university. I had the most amazing experience traveling with the group, and it really affirmed by belief in small-scale NGO work. Nothing seemed wasted, the contact with the local community was genuine and beneficial, and the people I met were absolutely incredible. Really amazing stuff and I would recommend it to anyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have had the privilege to volunteer with multiple NGOs that want to help diverse areas of our society, but none compared as working with Humanity for Children. I grew up in a third world country, where children constantly suffer from the repercussions of poverty. I have constantly strive to educate myself in the developing programs to help individuals overcome socio-economic problems through grassroots organizations. Humanity for Children not only strives to help people, but to educate, inform and motivate them to be better. What make HFC such a passionate organization is their drive to maintain relations with the communities they help. Through education, micro-loans and women empowerment HFC not only help individuals, but change their lives and the whole community. Furthermore, I had the pleasure to work with the HFC team, who are passionate, motivated and driven to help. I felt very blessed to have had such wonderful opportunity and to see through my own experience how rewarding it is to help others. Also, that through what may seem so little to some is a great gift to others. This organization truly makes a difference in Africa, but also in the lives of those that volunteer. HFC it is an organization that truly wants to help others meet their goals, as well serve the community through programs that are sustainable, independent, efficient, caring and passionate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This organization helped me believe that I can make a difference in this world. I have seen firsthand the kind of change they are creating in the areas they serve. Unlike larger non-profits, they KNOW the people they serve. The projects come from the people, and are left to the people. I have had the opportunity to go on two trips to take a look at the microloan initiatives, health projects, fair trade relationships, and partnerships between churches, schools... It's amazing what all they are doing. What's even better is that 100% of the donations go to their development projects! That's hard to argue with...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I have had the privilege to work with many NGos that support and change the lives of people. Humanity for children is by far the best and the most effective. Not only for helping people but for its way of changing lives in many places in Africa. They helped building generations that will help and give back for their communities, by using micro-projects, education and supporting women on creating small businesses Many people that I know of would appreciate and thank whoever helped or supported through Humanity for Children. Indeed it is great to see someone cares about you and treat you like one of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

Since i came in contact with HFC it was a life changing moment. I met with them while we were starting a partnership program with the government of Kenya in supporting a small dispensary called Rota i... more

February 16, 2013

I would like to say a great thank you to Humanity for children and the american people for their support to Africa. I am humbled to honor Bill and Mellinda Gates for their generous philanthropic initiatives to Africa.
Kindly watch at my profile picture which is drawn and painted to Honor the
great family. We as Tusawa Tunaweza youth project in Kisumu Kenya who have been supported by humanity for children and as the Representative of Humanity for Children Kenya which is registered as an affiliate of HFC US are humbled that the family of Bill and Mellinda Gates will recieve it at their doorstep specially through our offices of HFC US Missouri.

Thank you HFC for the good work in Africa. Thanks to Creag Foundation for your support as well.

Silas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

Since i came in contact with HFC it was a life changing moment. I met with them while we were starting a partnership program with the government of Kenya in supporting a small dispensary called Rota in Kisumu. They managed to sponsor medications and employment of a clinical officer when the clinic only had one nurse who was overwhelmed. Now the dispensary have more than six staffs including the clinical officer, a laboratory, HIV clinic in partnership with another partner who came because there was a clinical officer, electricity which was not there, a fence and a water tank. In addition to that a beautiful and friendly environment. This were never there, that is why HFC is made a great impact. We have new partners who have joined us through HFC, that is Africa Dream- Chile, who send Doctors and volunteers who support the dispensary and a youth project called Young Christian youth - Tuasawa Tunaweza project. Life is changing greatly in Kenya through HFC. n the Youth project: A poultry project has been started and creative Arts and handicarft is on going, just because of HFC. Asante Sana HFC

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers