Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Write A Review
October 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My late husband had a heart for Africa from the time he was area director for Europe, Africa and the Middle East for Junior Chamber International in the early 80s. Through Humanity for Children he was able to fulfill his dream of returning to Africa and working with the people there to help them help themselves. His passion inspired other people, including me, to work with Humanity for Children. It is a small organization, run completely by volunteers, but it accomplishes big things: a clinic for women and children, micro-financing projects to help Rwandans obtain self-sufficiency, solar lights to allow young students to do their homework at night in a home without electricity, to name a few. Through their connections with Humanity for Children, three young African men have come to the U.S. and completed their master's degrees at the University of Missouri, and one is working on his Ph.D. They will be able to return to Africa and assume leadership roles, working for a better life for all Rwandans and Tanzanians. I can't say enough about this wonderful organization that manages to accomplish so much without any overhead or administrative costs.
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Humanity for Children supports by helping people help themselves. When an Association of farmers is given a pig, one baby pig is given away to a farmer who does not have one. Then from his baby pigs, a pig is given to someone else. That way the people are given a way to make a living or send a child to school. There is a sense of pride and togetherness in the community that is invaluable. It is money well spent. I have personally witnessed this project when I traveled to Kibungo, Africa. The smiles on their faces are worth more than money can buy. This organization sends all the money donated for projects. Their only outlay is the native African who travels to each project to make sure it is running well. And this employs a person in the countryside, not someone from a western country. What a great organization!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Humanity for Children through my dear friend Kathryn Morgan. I'm passionate about health and education in many contexts and capacities. Their mission and work is inspiring and I wanted to support their efforts. I volunteered at one of their fund raising events. I also helped organize a team to complete the Rock N Roll 1/2 marathon and we raised money for Humanity for Children. They are a great organization and its wonderful to watch the positive impact they're causing expand and grow.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the incredible opportunity to volunteer with Humanity for Children starting early on-- traveling to East Africa for 8 weeks in 2007. What an humbling process it all was--a big vision with little funds, few but dedicated volunteers. Although, because of this, I was able to see first hand the development of this small, but passionate organization. I saw friendships strengthen and community cultivated, I saw empty lots turn into health clinics. I have witnessed people of different cultures, ages, races working together to improve education, health care and empower communities--learning from each other and growing as individuals along the way.

To see the impact of this small, but dedicated organization for the past 7 years has been remarkable, and personally I have come to see many fellow volunteers are part of my family- and for that I am so thankful. As my husband finishes up his residency to become a physician, we are already brainstorming ways we can continue to volunteer and travel back to East Africa with Humanity for Children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am blessed to have had the opportunity to volunteer with Humanity For Children. It was amazing to travel to East Africa to be a part of the difference this organization is making as well as the incredible impact the experience had on me. Not only will I continue to help support this organization but I will also work to find another opportunity to travel back to Africa to be a part of the difference first hand.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Humanity for Children is an organization that, despite its small size, makes a huge impact in every east African community it decides to engage in. Humanity for Children is faced with monumental challenges(opportunities) in striving to improve the quality of life of children in east Africa. While volunteering with this organization I was overwhelmed by the amount of work that there is to do with the wonderful people in Rwanda and Tanzania. The organization is very deliberate and strategic in its relationships, always seeking to leverage the limited resources available to create the most positive outcomes for the children in east Africa. This is an international NGO that is conscientious and uses clear, predetermined guidelines for engaging with communities in service activities.

I was most impressed by the quality and depth of the relationships that this organization has cultivated with servant leaders in Rwanda and Tanzania. These relationships of trust enable Humanity for Children to have a clear advantage when looking to accomplish projects/plans that will further it's mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The impact that Humanity for Children has made in Kibungo, Rwanda is incredible. Through dedicated volunteers, board members and donors - the organization is able to truly make a difference in the lives of women and children. Their commitment to continue to reach out, help and support the villages and communities in Rwanda is simply amazing.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

HFC was a life changing experience for me, my family and my school. The two trips to Rwanda and Tanzania have taught us how the power of ordinary people working together can affect permanent change-t... more

March 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the honor and pleasure of volunteering for HFC for three (soon to be four) summers. The passion and mission of this wonderful organization has inspired me, my family and friends to see the world from a new perspective and to realize that everyone is our "neighbor".

I have
received so much from from the people in Rwanda and Tanzania, far more than anything I have given.

Sincerely
Dan Harms
Dean of Students
Lutheran High School South
St. Louis, MO.
November 28, 2012

HFC was a life changing experience for me, my family and my school. The two trips to Rwanda and Tanzania have taught us how the power of ordinary people working together can affect permanent change-through micro-loans, education and husbanding of resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

So many non-profits garner recognition less from their work and more for their panache, so when I was first introduced to Humanity for Children I had expected much of the same. It was quickly apparent to me, however, that that was simply not the case with HFC.

When traveling in Rwanda
and Tanzania with HFC's project team in the summer of 2011, I was struck by the organization's approach to their work. Humanity for Children and its directors have built real relationships with the people in the communities in which they are active. They go to a community, observe it, talk to the people who know it and its needs best, and then set out to implement their projects. This means that whether they are raising funds for solar study lights for Rwandan school kids or constructing health facilties in remote areas of Maasailand, HFC is having a profound impact.

I'm so proud to be involved with this organization. It's through the opportunities I have had to work with its volunteers and meet the people whose lives HFC's projects affect that I'm reminded why we all need each other, how we can help one another, and how we challenge each other to be better versions of ourselves. HFC pours such passion and joy into all of their efforts, and I'm excited to see what they do in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I consider Humanity for Children one of the best of the best. I spent 9 months volunteering with HFC in Rota, Kenya and the experience changed my life. Since my return, I continued to volunteer with the NGO and am impressed and humbled by the great work that they do. I have experienced first hand what a difference HFC has made in the lives of others and am moved beyond words. I can not thank them enough for the impact they have made in this world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers