Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Humanity for Children is an organization that, despite its small size, makes a huge impact in every east African community it decides to engage in. Humanity for Children is faced with monumental challenges(opportunities) in striving to improve the quality of life of children in east Africa. While volunteering with this organization I was overwhelmed by the amount of work that there is to do with the wonderful people in Rwanda and Tanzania. The organization is very deliberate and strategic in its relationships, always seeking to leverage the limited resources available to create the most positive outcomes for the children in east Africa. This is an international NGO that is conscientious and uses clear, predetermined guidelines for engaging with communities in service activities.

I was most impressed by the quality and depth of the relationships that this organization has cultivated with servant leaders in Rwanda and Tanzania. These relationships of trust enable Humanity for Children to have a clear advantage when looking to accomplish projects/plans that will further it's mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The impact that Humanity for Children has made in Kibungo, Rwanda is incredible. Through dedicated volunteers, board members and donors - the organization is able to truly make a difference in the lives of women and children. Their commitment to continue to reach out, help and support the villages and communities in Rwanda is simply amazing.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

I can't express enough with my words what HFC has been doing to change people's lives particularly in Rwanda, Kibungo city. I have been working for HFC as an interpreter, translator, advisor, guide and assistant since 2007 and I have seen with my own eyes where dreams came reality, and where projects, ambitions, goals and humanitarian passions get implemented. It is so impressive and humbling experience to get to see mothers and children lining up at one of the most needed HFC health center (Gashanda) to see a nurse/doctor. How awesome, inspiring and rewording is to see micro project groups get together and sit under the tree to share the progress of their own income activities! Personally, I would say that without HFC, I wouldn't be able to come the States to pursuit graduate school. Anyway, there are a lot to say about this nonprofit organization; I wish all international NGOs can learn from HFC such effective and cross -culturally sensitive approaches to serve the world.

Valens

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

HFC was a life changing experience for me, my family and my school. The two trips to Rwanda and Tanzania have taught us how the power of ordinary people working together can affect permanent change-t... more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the honor and pleasure of volunteering for HFC for three (soon to be four) summers. The passion and mission of this wonderful organization has inspired me, my family and friends to see the world from a new perspective and to realize that everyone is our "neighbor".

I have
received so much from from the people in Rwanda and Tanzania, far more than anything I have given.

Sincerely
Dan Harms
Dean of Students
Lutheran High School South
St. Louis, MO.
November 28, 2012

HFC was a life changing experience for me, my family and my school. The two trips to Rwanda and Tanzania have taught us how the power of ordinary people working together can affect permanent change-through micro-loans, education and husbanding of resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

So many non-profits garner recognition less from their work and more for their panache, so when I was first introduced to Humanity for Children I had expected much of the same. It was quickly apparent to me, however, that that was simply not the case with HFC.

When traveling in Rwanda
and Tanzania with HFC's project team in the summer of 2011, I was struck by the organization's approach to their work. Humanity for Children and its directors have built real relationships with the people in the communities in which they are active. They go to a community, observe it, talk to the people who know it and its needs best, and then set out to implement their projects. This means that whether they are raising funds for solar study lights for Rwandan school kids or constructing health facilties in remote areas of Maasailand, HFC is having a profound impact.

I'm so proud to be involved with this organization. It's through the opportunities I have had to work with its volunteers and meet the people whose lives HFC's projects affect that I'm reminded why we all need each other, how we can help one another, and how we challenge each other to be better versions of ourselves. HFC pours such passion and joy into all of their efforts, and I'm excited to see what they do in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I am so thankful that my Westminster students (and my own children) have had the opportunity to volunteer with Humanity for Children. Working with HFC in Rwanda and Tanzania has been a life-changing experience for them, primarily because HFC presents such a fine model of what it means to be a global citizen, devoted to improving the lives of others. I hope I have the opportunity to serve with HFC someday, as well!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I am so proud to be working with Humanity for Children. Most people don't realize that nobody in the organization's leadership gets paid for their time and that all of us pay our own expenses when we travel to Africa. The only paid staff are three on-the-ground workers in East Africa.

When asked about our administrative overhead, we can be very truthful when we say that almost 100% of our contributions go directly to projects in Rwanda, Tanzania and Kenya. We are a lean and transparent organization that is always seeking to improve.

On behalf of our board of directors, I want to thank our Executive Director, Kathryn Morgan, for her efforts and commitment to our work, and to all of our volunteers who serve the organization with great passion and enthusiasm.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to bring more of our volunteers to sub-Saharan Africa so they can see our projects up close and to bring some of our partners in Rwanda, Kenya and Tanzania to the U.S. so they can thank our supporters and also to tell their stories.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Humanity for the Children goes places where even the most basic healthcare is simply not available. it's very sad knowing the distances mothers and their children must walk to get this basic care. We feel like HFC is serving a vital need in these underdeveloped countries.
Tim & Susie Rupp

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I consider Humanity for Children one of the best of the best. I spent 9 months volunteering with HFC in Rota, Kenya and the experience changed my life. Since my return, I continued to volunteer with the NGO and am impressed and humbled by the great work that they do. I have experienced first hand what a difference HFC has made in the lives of others and am moved beyond words. I can not thank them enough for the impact they have made in this world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Humanity For Children can truly be said to be a Great Nonprofit Organization. Over this past Summer I was granted the opportunity to experience what it is that Humanity For Children does firsthand in Rwanda. Working with various community members, mothers, fathers, children and the elderly we were able to address issues of health, education and how women can achieve an income through starting their own small business. From such an experience, working with such a phenomenal NGO you are reminded of what your purpose in life is, how it is that such an experience can impact others as well as one's self. As this NGO continues to steadily grow, I wish for HFC to open a post in Burundi in the next coming years, because their mission fits perfectly. Their mission goes a long way in implementing a great cause. Humanity For Children, I sincerely thank you for all that you do to serve the East African community and change the lives within of many, among those, individuals who have the opportunity to be a part of this NGO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers