Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 21, 2012

more

December 21, 2012

I first became familiar with Humane Society Silicon Valley when I decided I needed to do something about the 25 scrawny and suffering feral cats living in my apartment complex and the many kittens they were producing every year. The Humane Society helped me with everything including a class on the TNR program, loaning me the traps, giving me trapping advice, doing the spay/neuter surgeries, microchips, vaccines and treatments - not to mention finding homes for all the kittens. Now the colony has stabilized at 5 healthy and robust adult cats which I care for and the program is working better than I ever imagined. I couldn't be happier with the help I received from HSSV. They really know what they are doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have supported the Humane Society of Silicon Valley for the past many years and hope to continue my support. My concern is that less than 80% of expenses go to actual program activities and fundraising is over 14%. In addition, for a charity of this size, the CEO compensation is on the high side: 2.4 cents of every dollar go to the CEO. I hope future fundraising costs can be reduced and the CEO compensation be more in line with similar charities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

HSSV euthanizes [kills] young, healthy animals in order to make room for animals that are more easily adopted. This new policy began under the current CEO, Carol Novello. This is nothing but bean counting at the expense of helpless animals. Under the previous CEO, Chris Benninger, animals were kept util adopted [except under extremely unusual circumstances, such as a dog that bites everyone who gets near]. Young, healthy animals were never killed for convenience, until Novello came on board. Now HSSV kills healthy young animals -- for Novello's bragging rights for having adopted out "X" number of animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My girls took a six-month class there and they absolutely loved it. They have learned so much, from handling the kittens, to petting dogs, to making toys for the kittens, etc. They are so happy to go there. The staff is friendly, lets us know what they have done, and what to expect before each class (we receive an email). I am considering becoming a volunteer there myself! We will continue going next school year. It's great to see such amazing, selfless, dedicated staff and volunteers there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2010

more

July 29, 2010

Humane Society Silicon Valley's Animal Community Center is a beautiful facility for animals and people who love them. The leaders and board members of this organization are awesome -- dedicated, visionary, compassionate, innovative and great communicators. A true asset to the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the tours they provide by well informed staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 14, 2010

more

July 14, 2010

My first experience with HSSV was in 2006, when I visited their old facility in hopes of adopting a dog. While my husband and I did not end up adopting my dog through HSSV but through another shelter, the staff were friendly, professional, and thorough in their advice. After we adopted our dog, we revisited HSSV to purchase new puppy supplies (based off their very helpful new puppy checklist) from their well-stocked pet store. What's great about their store is that all proceeds benefit the shelter, so your purchases are going back to helping more animals. I made a pet supplies donation last year when we moved and had the chance to visit the brand new facilities in Milpitas. I was very impressed with the care and attention that was put into the design! The building is bright, clean, and open. It was clear that the dogs, cats, and critters we saw were quite comfortable in their temporary homes. Overall, HSSV is a great local organization with staff and supporters that care deeply about the animals they serve.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

researching online and offline as a first-time pet adopter, meeting with a pet adoption coordinator.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers