Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12.75345
Write A Review
November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If I could give this sorry excuse for a shelter a big fat 0, I would. I would like to inform everyone on google that this humane society is running a big fat scam that is costing pet parents an arm and a leg. A few months ago my cat went missing. I was desperate to find her. I placed several ads through them, made several phone calls and sent several emails to them. Not a single phone call, or email was returned. After several days of trying to hunt my kitty down my mother looked on their web page just to find my cat. They had her and claimed I had abandoned her. She was wearing a harness and a tag. When I went to retrieve my cat they charged me $175 to bail her out. I asked where they had picked her up from and they then gave me MY address. I asked why they hadn't called me and they then claimed it wasn't their reponsibillity. When I got my cat home I had noticed that she wasn't acting like herself. I figured she was in shock from the craziness. This continued for several days. My cat had caught a viral upper respitory infection that in more cases than not is caused by keeping sick and healthy animals together. They are running a scam and blindsiding responsible pet owners with fees that are outrageous. I am a full shelter supported but this one WILL NEVER recieve my support, nor should it recieve yours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would show some ownership and respect to the pet parents out there. I would also give courtesy calls and treat me like I am adult.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have adopted several dogs from this humane society over the past 14 years. Last year I adopted a 9-week old puppy that had been abandoned in downtown Colorado Springs. I suspect that the puppy was dumped because she had a cherry eye. In addition to the normal spay and giving shots process, the HSPPR actually surgically fixed her cherry eye at no additional cost to me. This was above and beyond the call of duty!

I have also volunteered with the TNR program for cats. The people working with this program are amazing; and the TNR program is so very critical in controlling the feral cat population.

For the past year and a half, I have been researching dog rescues. I am a strong believer in the no kill philosophy. In order to become a total no kill facility, many things have to happen. I know that HSPPR is working hard toward this goal. They are increasing the fostering program, they are creating many new & creative ways to advertise the animals needing adoption, they are making relationships with the pet stores in town to provide more opportunities for the public to see animals needing homes; they are making relationships with other rescues in town to cooperate between rescues as numbers of animals dictate, and they have a reasonable adoption process. They WANT to adopt out their animals. They believe what you write on an application and/or contract. They do not come inspect your home, and when you adopt a pet from them, you actually own your pet. These things are important because there are many rescues--especially puppy mill and specific breed rescues--that make adopting a dog more difficult that adopting a child and, even, more absurd, their adoption contracts include a clause saying they may reclaim your dog at ANY TIME IN THE FUTURE. Thus, you are actually only renting your dog.

If you are considering donating either your time or your money to a rescue, please place the HSPPR at the top of your list. Also, please check my website and read the ten items that you should check into before donating financially to any group.

http://slicktipsaboutdogrescues.com (Slick Tips About Dog Rescues)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Apparently the truth doesn't matter about HSPPR. Only friends & relatives of employees of HSPPR write these reviews. The truth is that HSPPR is in the "business" of filing bogus animal cruelty charges against innocent people in an attempt to financially destory them with smear campaignsand then the courts don't even know where the money or the animals end up. HSPPR is about to be sued by a couple that was found innocent by a jury. HSPPR can only whitewash so many people, and then the truth starts coming out. Jan McHugh-Smith, the CEO at HSPPR, was run out of the San Francisco SPCA by her own employees and staff because of her greedy deeds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Humane Society of the Pikes Peak Region is an amazing organization of people dedicated to the animals of Colorado Springs. The care they provide and the work they do is a vital part of the community. They provide Sterilization services at low cost and a Trap-Neuter-Release program that serves the feral cats who live in the community. They provide education to students of all ages including a wonderful kids camp in the summer. They are constantly trying to improve the care to the animals and have added a surgery center that sterilizes pets before they go out into the community and can help injured animals and provide surgeries that are necessary for the animals that are in their care. They are innovative and have utilized the ASPCA in gaining and improving their adoption rate with cats. The dogs who come to the shelter are in good hands with a TLC program that teaches the dogs socialization skills that are necessary to have happy endings. I enjoy volunteering in this environment where teamwork among volunteers and staff thrives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They allowed me to come up with a solution to a problem, present it to the staff and the board and helped me implement a program called Cat Showcasing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many new friends through this organization. But more importantly it has taught me so much through their Continuing Education program available to volunteers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It has empowered me and shown me that I can make a difference in something that I care for.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers