Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.913045
Write A Review
November 15, 2014

more

November 15, 2014

I have been an HSSCG volunteer for almost 5 years. I love spending time exercising and socializing the dogs - and allowing them to feel like "normal" dogs in doing so. I especially love working with the scared, abandoned dogs and helping them trust humans again. Doing so just warms my heart. The staff and volunteers here are the most dedicated you'll find anywhere. Their devotion to these wonderful animals is endless and awe-inspiring. They all work tirelessly at the shelter and within the community to improve the lives and futures of these oft-forgotten animals.
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2012

To say that SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY HAPPENS when you visit our shelter is a huge understatement. The dedication of the staff and volunteers is MOST amazing with tears of joy when an animal goes home ... more

October 31, 2014

This orgnazition has the MOST dedicated staff and volunteers. Each animal is treated personally with respect and love. Long after an animal is adopted the staff and volunteers continue to care about them and want to know how they are adjusting. I make all the follow up calls after adoption and it is a constant JOY to hear the kind stories how our animals have made such a change in many lives. This is the most rewarding job I have ever done. Judy Jones
July 1, 2012

To say that SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY HAPPENS when you visit our shelter is a huge understatement. The dedication of the staff and volunteers is MOST amazing with tears of joy when an animal goes home with their new family to tears of sadness when we see newly abandoned and frightened animals come in. Our volunteers socialize these animals and we see them transformed to pets ready for adoption. The staff and the volunteers have a "whatever it takes" attitude that is catching. There is a true spirit here! A day at the shelter for me could be helping at the front desk, doing data input, teaching a school group proper animal care, holding a pup coming out of surgery, collecting food donations or really anything that comes up. There is never a dull moment. I have the privilege of making all the follow up calls after an animal has been adopted. This is a truly touching experience. I hear stories how a new pet has enriched family lives. One family had a troubled child that bonded with the new dog and treated him with the utmost love and care. Another was a woman who took her newly adopted dog to visit her mother in a nursing home. The mother had not spoken in a very long time; that is not until the woman put the new dog in her mom's arms and she began to speak again. Doesn't get much better than that. I hear of the "new family member" going to the beach, out fishing, and a lot of lap sleeping. At times it is like asking a Grandmother about her grandkids. The stories go on and on......... Judy Jones

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This is an amazing facility with a dedicated, animal loving staff. It is my happy place. A great place to volunteer.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I love this branch of the Humane society. The animals are well taken care of and are showered with love and care.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This is such a well run volunteer program. It is a flexible program, but also so well organized. I work with cats and I cannot tell you how rewarding it has been for me to spend time helping to socialize cats that need a little concentrated care. The Humane Society will tell me which cats they think could use some special time and interest and I work usually with one cat at a time, trying to get to know the cat and suss out his particular likes and needs. When the cat is eventually adopted, I feel on top of the world. I miss the kitty, but feel so good thinking about him/her in the new home.

I know that some people, like me, fear that it will be heart breaking to work with homeless animals. But, I can tell you that this Humane Society is a positive, cheerful place. They find homes for so many animals and just being around the shelter and the staff is a great experience. As a volunteer you feel that you are part of a team trying to do the best for this animal and find him/her the best home.

I would recommend volunteering to anybody. It's great for you and your spirit and great for the animal.

Dr. Christina Johns
September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I have been a volunteer for over two years and I have thoroughly enjoyed working at this great facility with a great staff and group of volunteers. Everyone is friendly and helpful, and they all work so hard to make sure the animals get the best of care.

About a year ago as I was coming
to work, a little dog came out of the area where he was awaiting heartworm treatment and greeted me. Even though I already had two dogs, I could not resist this one! He is now part of our family and is sitting here by me (along with the other two dogs) in the computer room as I am typing this. I would urge anyone who is thinking of getting a dog or cat to please consider adoption from HSSCG!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of much to change -- wish the location was a little closer to my home so I could come more often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 13, 2012

The Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia is an extraordinary non-profit organization that is dedicated to giving abandoned and stray animals the love and care they deserve. As a volunteer, I see fi... more

September 11, 2013

Although I wrote a review last year, I can't stop bragging about this fantastic organization. Day in and day out they continue to provide a loving environment for stray and surrendered animals that would otherwise end up wandering the streets or being neglected. The limited staff goes above and beyond their "job description" to make sure the animals have a clean and pleasant environment, are exercised each day, are provided excellent health care and are given plenty of loving, individual attention. HSSCG also has a wonderful pool of volunteers that are involved in everything from socializing animals, landscaping, health care, and general upkeep of the facility. I have volunteered at HSSCG for two and a half years and have recently become a Board member. I couldn't be prouder to be affiliated with an organization that is having such a positive impact in our county and southeast Georgia by finding loving homes for animals in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to find a way to have more off-site adoptions, giving our animals and organization even more exposure to the public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2012

The Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia is an extraordinary non-profit organization that is dedicated to giving abandoned and stray animals the love and care they deserve. As a volunteer, I see first-hand the commitment of the wonderful staff, Board members, and hard-working volunteers that want to make a difference in the lives of these cats and dogs. Many staff member and volunteers go above and beyond what’s asked of them by “fostering” animals that may need extra attention or medical treatment until they can be put up for adoption. Each and every animal from the cutest, cuddly ones to the scruffy ones are treated with compassion and loving care. Everyone works hard to make sure the animals are healthy and have a safe, comfortable place to live until they go to their forever home with a new family. The community and our animals are blessed to have such a wonderful organization in Glynn County, Georgia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I am a volunteer at the Humane Society of Coastal Georgia. The dogs are walked often due to the many volunteers that work there. The medical clinic makes sure that the animals' medical needs are served. I also adopted a dog from the shelter one year ago. She is the love of my life and very healthy and happy. There are so many wonderful dogs and cats there to adopt. Kathy Pennington

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I have been volunteering at HSSCG for two years. Their new building is phenomenal, designed to meet the needs of the animals, not the humans. They incorporate the community by holding birthday parties, summer camps, and events throughout the county.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage them to use social media more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

my grandaughter and i have been going on thurday after school for about 2 years to walk some doggies and play with the cats. it is true how clean the place is and how happy the animals are. the staff are amazing and go the extra mile often to get a dog or a cat adopted. they even raised money for a dog to the surgery she needed so that she could be adopted. it makes one feel happy just to be there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend quality time socializing with and exercising our adoptable pets (walking, grooming, playing), assist with humane education, assist with onsite and offsite events, or help with many other projects and needs at HSSCG. Volunteer