Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.913045
Write A Review
November 15, 2014

more

November 15, 2014

I have been an HSSCG volunteer for almost 5 years. I love spending time exercising and socializing the dogs - and allowing them to feel like "normal" dogs in doing so. I especially love working with the scared, abandoned dogs and helping them trust humans again. Doing so just warms my heart. The staff and volunteers here are the most dedicated you'll find anywhere. Their devotion to these wonderful animals is endless and awe-inspiring. They all work tirelessly at the shelter and within the community to improve the lives and futures of these oft-forgotten animals.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Many people don't want to visit an animal shelter as it either makes them sad or it smells really bad. When you first walk into the lobby area you know that this shelter is a wonderful place. The staff is friendly, the volunteers are actively working with the animals, and the animals are well loved and taken care of. I adopted a little chi mix last year and she is the love of my life. The organization is out in the community thorugh off site adoption events and fundraisers. Sherrie's Food Bank provides food for community members who are having financial difficulty feeding their animals and don't want to surrender them. Kudos to HSSCG. I was so impressed with the operations of the organization I am now a part time employee.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I've had the pleasure to work for this organization for many years. The volunteers and staff are such a joy to be around. They work incredibly hard to find the homeless dogs and cats a great, furever home AND they do it with care and professionalism. I highly recommend adopting or just stopping by to visit!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I've worked with the Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia for the past couple of years and have seen first hand what a wonderful humane society it is. Everyone from the staff to the volunteers work hard to help bring homeless animals into the facility, provide them with excellent medical care, and find them wonderful new homes. They also work hard to educate the community on animal welfare and the importance of spay and neuter to help reduce the number of unwanted, homeless animals.
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2012

To say that SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY HAPPENS when you visit our shelter is a huge understatement. The dedication of the staff and volunteers is MOST amazing with tears of joy when an animal goes home ... more

October 31, 2014

This orgnazition has the MOST dedicated staff and volunteers. Each animal is treated personally with respect and love. Long after an animal is adopted the staff and volunteers continue to care about them and want to know how they are adjusting. I make all the follow up calls after adoption and it is a constant JOY to hear the kind stories how our animals have made such a change in many lives. This is the most rewarding job I have ever done. Judy Jones
July 1, 2012

To say that SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY HAPPENS when you visit our shelter is a huge understatement. The dedication of the staff and volunteers is MOST amazing with tears of joy when an animal goes home with their new family to tears of sadness when we see newly abandoned and frightened animals come in. Our volunteers socialize these animals and we see them transformed to pets ready for adoption. The staff and the volunteers have a "whatever it takes" attitude that is catching. There is a true spirit here! A day at the shelter for me could be helping at the front desk, doing data input, teaching a school group proper animal care, holding a pup coming out of surgery, collecting food donations or really anything that comes up. There is never a dull moment. I have the privilege of making all the follow up calls after an animal has been adopted. This is a truly touching experience. I hear stories how a new pet has enriched family lives. One family had a troubled child that bonded with the new dog and treated him with the utmost love and care. Another was a woman who took her newly adopted dog to visit her mother in a nursing home. The mother had not spoken in a very long time; that is not until the woman put the new dog in her mom's arms and she began to speak again. Doesn't get much better than that. I hear of the "new family member" going to the beach, out fishing, and a lot of lap sleeping. At times it is like asking a Grandmother about her grandkids. The stories go on and on......... Judy Jones

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This is an amazing facility with a dedicated, animal loving staff. It is my happy place. A great place to volunteer.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I love this branch of the Humane society. The animals are well taken care of and are showered with love and care.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This is such a well run volunteer program. It is a flexible program, but also so well organized. I work with cats and I cannot tell you how rewarding it has been for me to spend time helping to socialize cats that need a little concentrated care. The Humane Society will tell me which cats they think could use some special time and interest and I work usually with one cat at a time, trying to get to know the cat and suss out his particular likes and needs. When the cat is eventually adopted, I feel on top of the world. I miss the kitty, but feel so good thinking about him/her in the new home.

I know that some people, like me, fear that it will be heart breaking to work with homeless animals. But, I can tell you that this Humane Society is a positive, cheerful place. They find homes for so many animals and just being around the shelter and the staff is a great experience. As a volunteer you feel that you are part of a team trying to do the best for this animal and find him/her the best home.

I would recommend volunteering to anybody. It's great for you and your spirit and great for the animal.

Dr. Christina Johns
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I had no intentions of adopting a furry friend but after meeting Charlie, we instantly fell in love. The staff gave us all the time we needed to bond and ensure Charlie was right for us. We hadn't had a pet in over 12 years so their knowledge and expertise prepared us for the transition in our home. The center is clean, the staff is very nice, and they get to know their furry friends to assist patrons with good decisions. I am a fan of HSSCG!
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I was promised an adoption, turns out 2 volunteers promised at same time. Poor attitude of volunteer and miscommunication, volunteer adopted to other party across the country. Adoptive pet is now put through additional stress by being adopted to another much farther away. Now the pet will undergo travel stress unnecessarily. Volunteers not thinking about the pet, just thinking of the publicity in sending the pet across the country! I give poor review and do not recommend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend quality time socializing with and exercising our adoptable pets (walking, grooming, playing), assist with humane education, assist with onsite and offsite events, or help with many other projects and needs at HSSCG. Volunteer