Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.891895
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I was promised an adoption, turns out 2 volunteers promised at same time. Poor attitude of volunteer and miscommunication, volunteer adopted to other party across the country. Adoptive pet is now put through additional stress by being adopted to another much farther away. Now the pet will undergo travel stress unnecessarily. Volunteers not thinking about the pet, just thinking of the publicity in sending the pet across the country! I give poor review and do not recommend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I have been a volunteer for over two years and I have thoroughly enjoyed working at this great facility with a great staff and group of volunteers. Everyone is friendly and helpful, and they all work so hard to make sure the animals get the best of care.

About a year ago as I was coming
to work, a little dog came out of the area where he was awaiting heartworm treatment and greeted me. Even though I already had two dogs, I could not resist this one! He is now part of our family and is sitting here by me (along with the other two dogs) in the computer room as I am typing this. I would urge anyone who is thinking of getting a dog or cat to please consider adoption from HSSCG!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of much to change -- wish the location was a little closer to my home so I could come more often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 13, 2012

The Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia is an extraordinary non-profit organization that is dedicated to giving abandoned and stray animals the love and care they deserve. As a volunteer, I see fi... more

September 11, 2013

Although I wrote a review last year, I can't stop bragging about this fantastic organization. Day in and day out they continue to provide a loving environment for stray and surrendered animals that would otherwise end up wandering the streets or being neglected. The limited staff goes above and beyond their "job description" to make sure the animals have a clean and pleasant environment, are exercised each day, are provided excellent health care and are given plenty of loving, individual attention. HSSCG also has a wonderful pool of volunteers that are involved in everything from socializing animals, landscaping, health care, and general upkeep of the facility. I have volunteered at HSSCG for two and a half years and have recently become a Board member. I couldn't be prouder to be affiliated with an organization that is having such a positive impact in our county and southeast Georgia by finding loving homes for animals in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to find a way to have more off-site adoptions, giving our animals and organization even more exposure to the public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2012

The Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia is an extraordinary non-profit organization that is dedicated to giving abandoned and stray animals the love and care they deserve. As a volunteer, I see first-hand the commitment of the wonderful staff, Board members, and hard-working volunteers that want to make a difference in the lives of these cats and dogs. Many staff member and volunteers go above and beyond what’s asked of them by “fostering” animals that may need extra attention or medical treatment until they can be put up for adoption. Each and every animal from the cutest, cuddly ones to the scruffy ones are treated with compassion and loving care. Everyone works hard to make sure the animals are healthy and have a safe, comfortable place to live until they go to their forever home with a new family. The community and our animals are blessed to have such a wonderful organization in Glynn County, Georgia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 1, 2012

HSSCG is one of the best run non-profit organizations with which I've ever had the pleasure of being associated. The Board members, the Executive Director, and all of the staff and volunteers are som... more

September 9, 2013

From top to bottom, this is by far one of the best run non-profits with which I've ever had the pleasure of working. The staff and volunteers are top-notch, as is the Executive Director, who runs a very efficient operation and is one of the best fundraiser's I've ever known.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

HSSCG is one of the best run non-profit organizations with which I've ever had the pleasure of being associated. The Board members, the Executive Director, and all of the staff and volunteers are some of the most-dedicated, hard-working, animal-loving individuals I've ever known! It is an honor and privilege to serve with all of them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

WOW! What an AMAZING Organization. The staff goes ABOVE AND BEYOND to make sure the Animals are all kept in a clean and happy environment. I recommend this place to rescue a dog or cat to everyone. There are so many great things about it. The Staff, Cleanliness and the whole staff's love for animals. They really care about each and every animal there. I thank them every time I go there for the great work they do and for their love and dedication to the animals. We have adopted 3 animals from here and are always sending people there to adopt and new "furrever" friend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I am a volunteer at the Humane Society of Coastal Georgia. The dogs are walked often due to the many volunteers that work there. The medical clinic makes sure that the animals' medical needs are served. I also adopted a dog from the shelter one year ago. She is the love of my life and very healthy and happy. There are so many wonderful dogs and cats there to adopt. Kathy Pennington

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I have two dogs from the Coastal Georgia Humane Society. One I got as a puppy and one was a year and half when I adopted them. They are great dogs and a joy to my life. We go to the beach every day.
The CGHS is a wonderful facility filled with get employees and volunteers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I am a new Board Member and have been so impressed with this wonderful organization...the facility, the Staff and the Volunteers. The animals are so well cared for and everyone has there best interest at heart... i have been to many shelters and this is the best one by far that I have visited...we are so lucky in Glynn County to have such an outstanding facility. I am very proud to be a Board Member of this organization and hope that I , too, can do a job as worthy as the Staff and Volunteers. LIz Shaw

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

As an animal lover, I so appreciate organizations and individuals who have compassion for animals and back that up with action. I've had the tour of the HSSCC and the facility is first rate but more importantly the staff from top to bottom, the board and the valued volunteers are real animal lovers. That's where the rubber meets the road. Man didn't create animals. They are God's creation and should be cared for
in a way befitting of what God has made. At HSSCC, they have a first rate place to live while waiting to be adopted and are surrounded and cared for with much love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have even a bigger place where we could provide for animals. The need is so great it would never be big enough. Thank God for what we have.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I adopted a dog (male Great Dane) from the Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia, Inc. and was overwhelmed with the process that they employ. The employees and volunteers were wonderful and extremely helpful. The dog that I adopted had been previously adopted and returned more than once from what I was told. The dogs issues were-

1. The dog didn't get along with other dogs in the household and
2. In one case the dog was adopted one day then left alone the next day. He apparently was stressed and destroyed some furniture thus he was returned

As you can see I was briefed fully on the issues regarding this dog. I happened to have my female Great Dane with me the day I saw this male Great Dane that was up for adoption. The employees and volunteers at the Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia, Inc. arranged for a safe introduction of the two dogs. They didn't kill each other and the employees and volunteers were very surprised even ecstatic because of his past problem with other dogs. I assured the employees and volunteers that the stress and furniture destruction issue wasn't a problem for me since I am retired and would be home the majority of the time.

Consequently I adopted the male Great Dane (Diesel) and he and my female Great Dane (Ally) are best buddies. I was thoroughly impressed with the caring attitude of the employees and volunteers and their extraordinary efforts to assure a compatible adoption. Diesel, Ally and I visit everyone at the Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia, Inc. every once in awhile to let them see how their former resident is getting along and for him to visit with his people friends that work at the Society. He loves them very much and is always so happy to see them. They really took great care of him while he was in residence there.

The people are what make any organization and the Humane Society of South Coastal Georgia, Inc. has the best- most caring, compassionate, concerned and hard working people. They love the animals and really enjoy their work. They even love the clients or potential clients. They are an amazing group!

Furthermore, I've had both my dogs to excellent training sponsored by the Society. I also visit their pet store for various items I want for my dogs, e.g.: collars, leashes, toys, etc. They really have an excellent all around facility to go along with the superb people that work there.

Paul Schaffer
Brunswick, GA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing to change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

spend quality time socializing with and exercising our adoptable pets (walking, grooming, playing), assist with humane education, assist with onsite and offsite events, or help with many other projects and needs at HSSCG. Volunteer