Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.428575
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

I am a blood and platelet conor recruiter for the American Red Cross. I went to the shelby Humane Society and asked them to partner with us. They gladly oblidged and we are partnering for about 3 months. They generously offered to waive adoption fees for our donors. We are collecting items they need and promoting their programs. I am excited to be working with them and know our partnership will save people and animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
October 3, 2011

I have adopted 2 wonderful dogs from Shelby Humane Society. I have also volunteered in a few of their programs. They are an awesome organization! I have had nothing less than a great experience with their group. I love the fact that they have great outreach programs with other animal organizations, community awareness programs, internal procedures/programs, volunteer programs, and that they take their mission to heart! I truly believe that more animals could be saved and able to retire and be spoiled as they deserve if more societies and organizations had such talented and motivated employees and volunteers behind the scenes as Shelby Humane. Shelby Humane, please keep up the good work! You have had a tremendous impact already and I am excited to see what is in store for the future! Thank you for the opportunity to spread the good word!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 18, 2011

more

August 18, 2011

I have adopted 3 cats from Shelby Humane Society over the last 7 years and they are fantastic. I began volunteering with the shelter in 2007. Since then, I have participated in several programs that Shelby Humane Society offers. This would include working at offsite adoption events, low cost vaccination/microchip clinics and the Shelter Partners program. The offsite adoption events help find loving homes for many dogs or cats. The low cost vaccination/microchip clinics and Quick Fix Spay/Neuter program have been a huge success in our communities. These two programs provide low cost options to residents who may not be able to afford the regular cost of the services provided. Not only will these services keep our community pets healthy but will also help with the pet overpopulation that we have. The Shelter Partners program transport dogs from our crowded shelter to shelters in New England where they have spay/neuter and pet license laws. Due to these laws being strictly enforced, they do not have the overpopulation that we have. Since this program began in 2006, over 4400 dogs have found a loving home in the north. I've had the opportunity to do one of the transports in which we carried 31 dogs to New Hampshire. When we got there, the receiving shelter only had 3-4 dogs up for adoption. They had adopters who were already approved and were waiting on our dogs to get there and be placed up for adoption. Within a week and a half, all of them found their new homes. If it were not for this program and the generous donors and volunteers, many dogs would not find a home of their own. I am proud to be associated with Shelby Humane Society and look forward to many more years with them. The communities in which they serve depend on them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

assisting with placing dogs and cats into loving homes. Many adopters have told me they are so happy with their new pets and that Shelby Humane does a great job. I've also assisted the public at the low cost clinics. Many of them said that they depend on this service.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more funding for additional services to our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

August 18, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 18, 2011

I volunteer for Shelby Humane Society on a regular basis and I can’t begin to adequately describe the personal satisfaction that is has given me.

SHS is making a real difference in the quality of lives of pets and pet owners, from the simpler things like quick fix spay and neuter
programs, low cost vaccinations and microchip clinics to the more complex programs like Shelter Partners where they transport dogs to New England. I do not know how they provide such quality services and programs with the resources available to them.

The staff at SHS is wonderful and they do a great job of recognizing the volunteers and people who adopt from the shelter. The volunteer appreciation dinner really makes the volunteers feel like we are making an impact and provides an opportunity for us to come together and get to know one another. SHS also encourages adoptive “parents” of shelter pets to give updates on their new family member through the Happy Tails forum.

SHS is doing so many good things that I could go on and on, but I will wrap it up by saying that I am proud to be associated with Shelby Humane Society and I look forward to volunteering with them for years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization when we help a shelter pet and a family find each other. There are few other experiences that are as rewarding to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would help them to be better funded so they could do more community awareness regarding spay and neuter programs.

August 12, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 12, 2011

We have donated to this organization for aproximately 10 years and I have never felt so good about where my money goes. I volunteer with several animal groups and have been impressed with the work SHS is doing, they have so many wonderful programs that help to place the animals in their care and reduced the euthanasia rate. I have had personal experience with the transporting of some puppies I found that had ben dumped in a rural cemetary, I wanted them to go up north for adoption where is a need for shelter animals, both were adopted into loving homes. I appreciate the work SHS is doing and I feel they are leading our area in programs to help the community and the animals in our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced this organization work personally and have been very pleased with the outcome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate more money to help them implement even more community programs

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

fundraising to purchase a van to begin a transport program

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I thought it was a wonderful idea and I wanted to help

What would you tell others about this organization?

how great and forward their programs are

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 12, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 12, 2011

Shelby Humane Society is a wonderful organization to support and work with! As a professional in the non-profit world, I am constantly impressed by SHS's professional and positive reputation in the community. Because of this reputation, I chose to become a volunteer and have completed a transport to New Hampshire - one of the most rewarding experiences of my life! The staff were extremely helpful in preparing me for the trip so I would know what to expect and I can't wait to do another. After the tornadoes that struck Tuscaloosa, AL this spring, SHS put together transport trips to NH with dogs they already had at the shelter (who were having trouble finding homes), in order to make room for the displaced pets from Tuscaloosa. Many families were able to find their pets as a result!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through the transportation of dogs to New England so that they would find homes quickly and not be euthanized due to overpopulation at the shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more volunteers and spread the word about Shelby Humane Society so more adoptions take place within the county.

May 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization was involved in transporting dogs out of the state of alabama after the tornadoes of April 2011. Shelby Humane has repeatedly stated that they were pre-storm dogs, yet in some media reports they were called "Tornado Dogs." We have asked repeatedly for pictures and intake data on the dogs to make sure that no family pets were transported, and they refuse to comply.
Per their 990 they received govt. funding and per the Sunshine laws of Ala. they should respond to a FOIA request and they will not.
Most of all, there are people who are traumatized by the tornadoes, and by refusing to provide something so simple as pictures, they further traumatize individuals who can't find their dogs.
This has made the citizens question their actions even more. Our family has requested that no donations be given to this organization based on their behavior.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working in the current situation of trying to locate missing pets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Quickly provide pictures and information as requested by the public to show that there was no wrong doing and to verify that the dogs were pre tornado dogs. Most of all I would provide the information to help people who are so traumatized. I would also make sure that my determination letter was on this site.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers