Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.384625
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

How many animals make it out of this shelter alive? Most are killed. This is a high kill shelter with a fundraising machine. We have the power to build a new consensus, which rejects killing as a method for achieving results. And we can look forward to a time when the wholesale slaughter of animals in shelters is viewed as a cruel aberration of the past. We have a choice. We can fully, completely, and without reservation embrace No Kill as our future. Or we can continue to legitimize the two-pronged strategy of failure: adopt a few and kill the rest. It is a choice which history has thrown upon us. We are the generation that questioned the killing. We are the generation that has discovered how to stop it. Will we be the generation that does?

"Sometimes it falls upon a generation to be great. We can be that great generation."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement the components of No Kill Equation like Austin's city shelter has successfully done!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2012

more

December 8, 2012

I don't know how HSNT could be any better. I adopted my Ranger from them two years ago when I was heartbroken over the loss of my Jack rescue dog. This organization and the people and volunteers who work there are exemplary. They truly care about the animals, and they make the best use of every donation. Simply put: THEY ARE THE BEST!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I adopted my lab / american staffordshire terrier mix from HSNT when he was 8 weeks old. My sister fostered all four of the puppies in his liter, and the day she returned them, I decided to adopt Chuy. The other three puppies in his liter were adopted within a few days and I'm so glad! HSNT did an amazing job of keeping the puppies healthy while they were in the shelter. They offered to get him neutered before I picked him up and his recovery was excellent! Chuy has been such a great addition to the family and I will definitely head to HSNT when I decide to adopt another pet!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

We adopted our wonderful Akita mix from this shelter, and I will be forever grateful to them for giving her a second chance. They were so very accomodating to us in helping us select her, and even let our other dog meet her before we took her home to ensure they got along well. HSNT does fabulous work for our community, and has impacted so many lives, both human and four-legged. Highly recommend visting one of their adoption centers if you're looking for a new addition!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I first served as a volunteer, and after several years walking dogs and working at off-site adoption sites, I became a board member. This organization is not without its faults, but most of those faults stem from too much work to do and not enough resources to do it..a failing of many non-profits. The people here care so much about the animals whom they aim to protect. The group is called out time and again when other agencies say no because of lack of resources. The Humane Society of North Texas does an amazing amount work with limited resources, and the people and staff that support HSNT are the reason HSNT is able to do so much with so little. It is grueling work with very little downtime. HSNT remains dedicated to their open door policy when other shelters have gone to a reservation-only system, leaving many animals stranded and on the streets. HSNT will continue to work tirelessly to find good homes for animals and to treat all animals with dignity and respect.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The tenacity of HSNT personnel and volunteers to make a positive impact on EVERY animal that comes through their doors never ceases to amaze me. I am honored to be a part of the family of critter crusaders for the past 7 years and will continue to support them in their quest to make life better for animals who come into their care. HSNT is the ONLY open door shelter in N Tx-no animal dealt a bad hand by man'kind' is turned away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

My sister told me about the Extreme Mutt Makeover which I followed this year; each dog has his own webpage! Through HSNT and EMM I received my loving, friendly, wonderful dog Emmit--I highly commend his youth trainer Ashley. He has the most beautiful personality and fits right into our family. I can't imagine him languishing without a home. I wish all "unwanted" pets could find their forever home. Thank you so much to everyone involved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

HSNT is a miracle with its feet on the ground. It makes do with the least and does the best. It deserves widespread support for its efforts. Please consider a donation, especially to the Waggin' Tails center to open in 2013 in Benbrook, Texas. The new site literally needs money and in-kind contributions of all kinds. Thank you.--Steve Munday, Fort Worth, Texas

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Our family has been blessed to both foster animals for and adopt animals through the Humane Society of North Texas. In all of our experiences with them, HSNT staff members have consistently demonstrated a common mission of compassion towards animals and a commitment to excellence. Of all the animal welfare organizations in Texas, I would recommend HSNT over any other, hands down!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

The three years my family has been participating in the Extreme Mutt Makeover have been the most rewarding volunteer efforts we've experienced. My daughter participated the first two years and my granddaughters participated this year. The Humane Society of North Texas pulls dogs from shelters that they feel deserve a second chance and applicants are chosen to train the dogs from 6-9 weeks and then they return to complete in the EMM with the goal of finding these sweet dogs forever homes. The dogs my family have trained have found the most wonderful homes that they would never have had an opportunity to be exposed to. It takes a lot of effort and money to put the event together and the team from HSNT does a wonderful job, especially this year, 2012, when they lost their biggest sponsor. They didn't let that deter them from carrying on this wonderful event and we all hope they can continue and grow bigger and better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs, socialize cats, greet visitors, and help tend to the animals. Volunteer