Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.739135
Write A Review
January 29, 2015

more

January 29, 2015

My mom and I went into the Middletown, NY shelter on 01/28/2015 to find a companion for her and immediately fell in love with Alaska.. We put in an application (the first and only application for her) at 1:30pm with help from the staff at the desk. At 4:30 I called and left a message that we would like to adopt Alaska and to please call us when the office opens so we can help expedite the application process.

At 12:15pm the next day Brian Keller (Shelter Manager, Facebook Administrator) called to tell me the application was declined.. At first he refused to tell me why saying that's not policy. I further explained "if I don't know why then I cant fix it?". I was denied because of this question: "Please give your veterinarian’s name, address and phone number" (copied and pasted right off the application)... NOW when I filled out the application I asked the ladies behind the desk (This I guess was my mistake thinking they could help) "do you want my current Vet info or my Previous??" explaining we moved and will be taking our new dog to a new Vet since the previous one was too far.... I put a new Vets office (I called to make sure they are taking on new pets first) Name and number and they called and had no record of us or any pets there of course.. We hadn't gone there yet we didn't have a pet to take.

I explain to Brian on the phone that the ladies at the desk told me to put that information on the application and I could give him our Previous Vets info his reply "you were denied " AND HE HUNG UP ON ME!


Now, he just called to tell me I was denied at 12:15pm... I immediately get in my car with Vet records in hand to speak to them face to face since our conversation was abruptly ended. It takes me 1 hour to get there...

Once there (1:15pm) I offered the more information for my application and the dog was ALREADY "promised" to another family..... Now we were being denied a dog because the staff told me to put the wrong information is just unacceptable. If the staff cant help you then who can????

This is so not fair.. In now have to start all over and Alaska was such a great dog!! We are all heart broken...
January 22, 2015

more

January 22, 2015

This place is a disgrace. They have had a dog Mira at the facility for three years. This reflects poorly on them. Why haven't one of the staff or volunteers adopted Mira. Why don't they make it MANDATORY that every person coming to adopt a dog has to first be sat down and told about Mira. Whoever is the adoption coordinator they are not aggressively marketing Mira. This is a disgrace. A shameful disgrace that any dog should be at a facility for this long. This is outrageous.
November 22, 2014

more

November 22, 2014

My husband and I recently adopted a two year old mixed breed from this noble shelter. We are over the moon about the newest member of our family and are grateful to Brian and the staff for making the process so easy. It was obvious to us how much these folks care about the animals in their care.Our new baby made a smooth transition to her new life, we believe, because of the care she received at Middletown Humane. Thanks again for bringing such joy into our lives.
August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Just had to share! We adopted Vivian from the Middletown Humane Society in May 2013 - she was trucked up to NY from a Kill Shelter in Georgia - and although sweet, she was a 7 year old dog & not in her prime adoptable years. She was PERFECT for us. When our daughter started modeling they asked us if we had any dogs - we did! Vivi just made her debut in Vogue Bambini...from kill shelter to the pages of Vogue...I'd say this old girl is doing pretty good THANK YOU Middletown Humane Society for allowing our family to make this sweet girl a part of our lives...

UPDATE...this past May 2014 we decided it was time to get Vivi (and us humans) a companion - after seeing pictures of two Shih Tzu puppies on the Humane Society website I left work early and RUSHED over there. The staff is just SO excellent...they made sure to get the paperwork thru that day so that they little guys could go home immediately!! These sweet boys are a perfect addition to our family & great little brothers to Vivi - definitely keeping her on her old lady toes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would EXPAND! I wish I had endless funds to give to this organization. The work they do & the genuine love and kindness they show the animals ONLY makes me wish there was more space for more animals to be in their care!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Over the past 20 years, my husband and I have adopted three dogs from the HS of Middletown. We have been to other rescues and shelters but we always find our forever pet there. The staff has always been caring and knowledgeable, the facility is always clean. We are grateful .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We adopted our lil boy kitty Magee late last October. He was the last of his litter to be adopted and the staff had deep affection for him. We were looking for a kitty that was loving and affectionate since our other kitty is not. We also wanted a companion for our other kitty, Moxy. We wish we could've taken all the kitties home but that just wasn't possible. Brian recommended Magee (formerly known as Puck) and he was meant to be ours as soon as we held him. We left that day with Magee and have never looked back. His forever home is with us but without the Middletown Humane Society he would have never been a part of our family. Moxy hasn't totally fallen in love with him yet but we're sure she will eventually. We made an additional donation that day and still donate canned cat food and cat litter when we can. All the kitties (and the doggies too) deserve a forever loving home and the Middletown Humane Society is dedicated to this cause. They are a cut above the rest!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organizaion would greatly be enhanced by a larger facility, more dog runs, storage area, and cleaning/laundry area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We just adopted the cutest 4 year old poodle. It was a great experience. Everyone was very helpful at the Humane Society of Middletown. I would recommend the MHS to anyone thinking about adopting a new furry friend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I have nothing but nice things to say about Middletown Humane Society. We have adopted 2 dogs from there. One older dog which is a min pin mix about 7yrs old and an American bulldog about 2ys old. They tell you everything they know about the animal and spend as much time with you as you need. They also answer all your questions/concerns. By adopting the dogs I have also gained new friends because the volenters love the animals so much they keep in touch with us and love receiving photos.i would highly recommend adopting from Middletown Humane Society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I have nothing but nice things to say about the Middletown Humane Society I adopted two beautiful little Chihuahuas from them! They were wonderful with the adoption process and Mickey and Minnie still love to go visit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

MHS is, hands down, one of the best! The shelter is clean and the animals are so obviously well cared for and loved for however long they are at the shelter. I have adopted 2 cats from them - and each time they were somehow able to not only get to know and trust me as an adopter, but to match me with just the right baby. I went in thinking I wanted one thing and walked out with my perfect match instead :) It;s the love that they all have for the animals that makes all of the difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers