Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.906985
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Just had to share! We adopted Vivian from the Middletown Humane Society in May 2013 - she was trucked up to NY from a Kill Shelter in Georgia - and although sweet, she was a 7 year old dog & not in her prime adoptable years. She was PERFECT for us. When our daughter started modeling they asked us if we had any dogs - we did! Vivi just made her debut in Vogue Bambini...from kill shelter to the pages of Vogue...I'd say this old girl is doing pretty good THANK YOU Middletown Humane Society for allowing our family to make this sweet girl a part of our lives...

UPDATE...this past May 2014 we decided it was time to get Vivi (and us humans) a companion - after seeing pictures of two Shih Tzu puppies on the Humane Society website I left work early and RUSHED over there. The staff is just SO excellent...they made sure to get the paperwork thru that day so that they little guys could go home immediately!! These sweet boys are a perfect addition to our family & great little brothers to Vivi - definitely keeping her on her old lady toes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would EXPAND! I wish I had endless funds to give to this organization. The work they do & the genuine love and kindness they show the animals ONLY makes me wish there was more space for more animals to be in their care!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Over the past 20 years, my husband and I have adopted three dogs from the HS of Middletown. We have been to other rescues and shelters but we always find our forever pet there. The staff has always been caring and knowledgeable, the facility is always clean. We are grateful .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We adopted our lil boy kitty Magee late last October. He was the last of his litter to be adopted and the staff had deep affection for him. We were looking for a kitty that was loving and affectionate since our other kitty is not. We also wanted a companion for our other kitty, Moxy. We wish we could've taken all the kitties home but that just wasn't possible. Brian recommended Magee (formerly known as Puck) and he was meant to be ours as soon as we held him. We left that day with Magee and have never looked back. His forever home is with us but without the Middletown Humane Society he would have never been a part of our family. Moxy hasn't totally fallen in love with him yet but we're sure she will eventually. We made an additional donation that day and still donate canned cat food and cat litter when we can. All the kitties (and the doggies too) deserve a forever loving home and the Middletown Humane Society is dedicated to this cause. They are a cut above the rest!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organizaion would greatly be enhanced by a larger facility, more dog runs, storage area, and cleaning/laundry area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We just adopted the cutest 4 year old poodle. It was a great experience. Everyone was very helpful at the Humane Society of Middletown. I would recommend the MHS to anyone thinking about adopting a new furry friend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I have nothing but nice things to say about Middletown Humane Society. We have adopted 2 dogs from there. One older dog which is a min pin mix about 7yrs old and an American bulldog about 2ys old. They tell you everything they know about the animal and spend as much time with you as you need. They also answer all your questions/concerns. By adopting the dogs I have also gained new friends because the volenters love the animals so much they keep in touch with us and love receiving photos.i would highly recommend adopting from Middletown Humane Society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I have nothing but nice things to say about the Middletown Humane Society I adopted two beautiful little Chihuahuas from them! They were wonderful with the adoption process and Mickey and Minnie still love to go visit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

MHS is, hands down, one of the best! The shelter is clean and the animals are so obviously well cared for and loved for however long they are at the shelter. I have adopted 2 cats from them - and each time they were somehow able to not only get to know and trust me as an adopter, but to match me with just the right baby. I went in thinking I wanted one thing and walked out with my perfect match instead :) It;s the love that they all have for the animals that makes all of the difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

The MHS is great. I have adopted a total of 4 animals from them, 2 cats and 2 dogs. You can see how much the employees and volunteers clearly care for these animals and only want the best for them. My furry family mean the world to me and the shelter is great about celebrating these animals to help find them homes by actively using social media to get the word out. Adopt today!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The adoption fees are high but if all the money is put back into the shelter then I'm ok with that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I have been involved with the Middletown Humane Society for over five years as a volunteer, and I have adopted four dogs from the shelter. The staff, Board and volunteers do a phenomenal job of finding many animals loving homes, and they have worked so hard over the past few years, with VERY limited resources, to improve the environment for the animals and create a welcoming, supportive atmosphere for adopters. They have built several spaces for the cats where the cats can roam freely during the day and socialize with volunteers. They have an exercise yard and several outside spaces for the dogs to play in, and recently, one of our wonderful Board members donated a treadmill which we have been using to give some of the dogs extra exercise. The shelter still has a ways to go to reach its goal of being the best municipal shelter in the area---so if you are able or interested in helping, they would welcome it. But his shelter has come such a long way from what it used to be and continues to strive for the best for the animals in its care every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

CHRISTMAS EVE 2013,MY WIFE AND I WERE AT PETCO ,WHEN WE RAN INTO VOLUNTEERS AND DOGS FROM MHS MY WIFE IMMEDIATELYFELL FOR A YOUNG MALE DACHSUND AFTER HER PLEADING AND THE PLEADING EYES OF THE POOCH, I GAVE IN ,HIGHLY RECCOMMEND THIS SHELTER GREAT STAFF AND THE DOGS ARE CLEAN AND UP TO DATE WITH SHOTS. NICK FIT IN RIGHT AWAY WITH MY OTHER PETS HES MY SECOND SAVE
FROM THIS SHELTER.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers