Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2012

I am now with my fourth Humane Society dog. Don't act surprised, since this is over a 25 year period. You should, also, understand that I adopt dogs over the age of 6. They all have had many year... more

September 19, 2013

Chief is my fourth Humane Society dog. His family had to surrender Chief because he had a cancerous tumor on his hip and the family could not afford to treat him. At the age of 10, the vets removed the tumor and 4 months later I adopted him. At 13 1/2 years young he enjoys running all over the place. The Humane Society saved another life who greatly enriches mine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 4, 2012

I am now with my fourth Humane Society dog. Don't act surprised, since this is over a 25 year period. You should, also, understand that I adopt dogs over the age of 6. They all have had many years of love to give. My present companion, Chief, was adopted over a year ago. He was surrendered in January 2011 by his family due to a cancerous growth on his hip. When I first met Chief in May 2011, after the loss of Roxy Sue, he had completely recovered from the surgery performed by the Vet at the Humane Society. I was assured that the cancer was gone. Chief celebrated his 11th birthday this past January 2012. He enjoys running and climbing stairs. Chief has stood by me on the loss of my parents and my move to a smaller home. He is smart and right away, he understood where "Go home" is. I don't know how I could have survived all the changes (which are still happening) without the constant companionship of Chief. Thank you to the Humane Society for givingChief and me the time together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

I have three WONDERFUL pets -- two dogs and one cat -- from Seattle Humane Society. The adoption staff really get to know the dogs and cats, so they can recommend a pet that that is a good fit for your family. Our daughter loves all the pets, and they are gentle with her and love to play. We also took a dog training class with our adopted Dauschund, and the instructor was amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to come into the Seattle Humane Society on the first day my new baby was put out on the adoption floor. Luna (then Elsa) had been a stray for what the knowledgeable staff estimated to be several months. I fell in love with her as soon as a saw her, and requested a meet and greet. I spent 30 minutes or so throwing a ball for her on site, where there are several areas for people to meet potential pets one on one. I had been to other shelters before this, but really liked the layout of the kennels and the facility. It is easy to see that all animals in their care are treated with love, respect, and patience. When I returned inside, I had a lengthy consultation with an employee. She definitely had Luna's best interest at heart. She asked questions about my home, my exercise routine, familiarity with animals, what I would do to introduce Luna to my new home and so forth. The employee offered affirmation to several of my responses and provided additional suggestions with areas I didn't know as much on. (Such as a two-year-old german shepherd should have 4-5 miles of exercise a day, and swimming helps them burn energy faster while being gentle with their hips). I was able to adopt her that same day. A year and a half later, Luna is an absolute joy in my life and brings me so much love. If you are looking to adopt a pet, I strongly urge you to check the SHS website or stop by in person as new great pets are put out faster than the website may reflect. :)

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I had a negative bad experience during Mother's Day Weekend. I submitted my adoption papers on Saturday in person at exactly 5PM, and was told they were closing early (usually stay open till 8PM on Saturdays), but would be open from 11AM-6PM the next day, Sunday, 5/13/12. Therefore I came back the next day ready to adopt an extra large dog that I had selected the day before, but right upon entering was told that they could not find my application, but eventually found it after 20 minutes. During the meantime I went out to check on the extra large male dog I wanted but he wasn't there, so I asked a volunteer what happened and she told me he had bit or scratched somebody the day before. She wasn't sure what had happened, so I asked the receptionist and he too was confused. Basically I received a bunch of excuses that he was no longer available for adoption, though the day before he was, very odd & suspicious. So I said "okay", then I would like to adopt another medium sized dog I had seen, so the volunteer informed the receptionist and after 20 minutes an Adoption Assisant by the name of Tivo called me to her side with my application in hand and in a rude aggressive tone basically told me neither dog I was interested in would be available for me because *she/Tivo" felt none of the two dogs was right for me. She basically plays God. Even though I have owned 10 dogs throughout my 4 decades on earth, all lived to old age except one was stolen (which Tivo treated like a crime!), and paid thousands of dollars in medical care when needed for congestive heart failure as a result of old age (he died in September 2011), and when two of my dogs was diagnosed with cancer (she died in September 2008 & the other September 2000) , and another with a tumour in March 2001. I paid all costs without fail (my veterinarian is Dr. Heather Stewart of Carousel Veterinary Services). Also, I have my dogs professionally groomed by Tender Care Services (Debbie & Joanne). As well Mrs. Jeannie Chow of the Seattle Animal License Department (whom inspects one's home annually if there are 3 or more dogs in residence) has stated our house is one of the cleanest and it's obvious we love dogs. I even had to go through a bunch of red tape to get my two mixed breed labrador retrievers transferred from South America to the USA when I was a Peace Corps Volunteer back in 1997-1998. That's how much I love my dogs. Then to have this Adoption Assistant by the name of Tivo decide that I wasn't good enough for either dog literally broke my heart, broke my heart (this after 8 months of grieving for my beloved Jojo). I finally was ready to adopt, and instead of paying lots of money from a professional dog breeder (as is usually my custom, except my 2 Peace Corps dogs and the one I owned when I was age 4-17 yrs. old; my first) I decided this time I wanted one from the Seattle Humane Society, to help out one that was most likely abandoned. Just an upsetting experience (we donate to the Humane Society every Christmas), as well when my dog(s) pass away I donate as much of their items as I can. So to be turned away was just appalling, literally. ***PS: we own our own home, purchased in 1969, have approximately 2.5 acres of green luscious backyard & frontyard to romp in, 3 lovely doghouses (none being used currently b/c Jojo passed away on 9/23/11), have brand new dog beds, toys, bowls, leashes, collars, honestly anything a dog could wish for, including a fenced in 2.25 acres of 6-feet fence in the backyard, kennel, and a 4.5-feet 0.75 acres of wrought iron fence in the frontyard, a huge awning/deck/patio area, tall fluffy trees for shade. etc. etc. etc. In fact I would be honored to have anyone come to my house to see how beautiful it is for a dog or dogs.****

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers