Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
August 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to come into the Seattle Humane Society on the first day my new baby was put out on the adoption floor. Luna (then Elsa) had been a stray for what the knowledgeable staff estimated to be several months. I fell in love with her as soon as a saw her, and requested a meet and greet. I spent 30 minutes or so throwing a ball for her on site, where there are several areas for people to meet potential pets one on one. I had been to other shelters before this, but really liked the layout of the kennels and the facility. It is easy to see that all animals in their care are treated with love, respect, and patience. When I returned inside, I had a lengthy consultation with an employee. She definitely had Luna's best interest at heart. She asked questions about my home, my exercise routine, familiarity with animals, what I would do to introduce Luna to my new home and so forth. The employee offered affirmation to several of my responses and provided additional suggestions with areas I didn't know as much on. (Such as a two-year-old german shepherd should have 4-5 miles of exercise a day, and swimming helps them burn energy faster while being gentle with their hips). I was able to adopt her that same day. A year and a half later, Luna is an absolute joy in my life and brings me so much love. If you are looking to adopt a pet, I strongly urge you to check the SHS website or stop by in person as new great pets are put out faster than the website may reflect. :)

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 3, 2012

more

August 3, 2012

My cat Button and I are part of the Visiting Pet Program of the Humane Society. We visit assisted living facilities and nursing homes. So far we have made over 60 trips to these facilities and visited over 500 residents. It is incredible to see Button in action. She knows how to get on each person's lap if they are in a chair or where to position herself on their bed if they are bedridden. She has an amazing connection with people suffering from severe Alzheimer's. I have seen people who were staring into space and not moving, suddenly become responsive to her presence next to them. I cannot express how blessed I feel that the Humane Society has this program going, what it means to those we visit and what it means to be to be able to watch my cat in action. I have been with the Visiting Pet Program since it started and it is the most rewarding volunteer experience I have ever had.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the responses of the people that we visit. Seeing a little cat come in to visit someone who is bedridden brings such joy to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the size of the visiting pet program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have a meeting of all the visiting pet volunteers so that we could share experiences. We are out 'in the field' and don't have any contact with other visiting pet volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, it has taught me to have patience. When an Alzheimer patient asks 'what is your cat's name' 5 times in a row, I have learned to respond like it is the first time they asked that question. It has also made me aware that little things mean a lot. It doesn't take much to bring Button on our visits but the visits mean so much to those that can't get out.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I am the one who has been truly blessed to be able to do the Visiting Pet program.

August 3, 2012

more

August 3, 2012

I volunteer as part of the "Dog Behavior and Socialization" group. We exercise and train the dogs. Volunteers are the main source of exercise for the adoptable dogs. I definitely feel like we make a deference the the dogs' stay at SHS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a retired physician with managerial experience who has been volunteering at SHS for three years. I started out in Dog Behavior and Socialization, which I still do, then added Jog-a-Dog (running approx 4 mi with a dog) and dog Playgroups, total 15-20 hours a week. There are abundant opportunities at SHS to volunteer in various capacities as well as to acquire new knowledge and skills. Unlike my experience at another animal shelter, volunteers are well-managed and know that we are appreciated. The staff are knowledgable, friendly and seem to appreciate our feedback and our enthusiasm. Turnover of staff is remarkably low considering the stressful nature of this "business". Quality of volunteers and of managerial staff is outstanding. Focus is always on the animals and their potential adopters. Animals and people are treated kindly. Despite the many constraints of our small and outmoded facility, morale is high. Continuing educational opportunities and ability to give feedback that is listened to support a level of enthusiasm that results in long-term volunteering. (Some volunteers have been active for 10-20 years!) I love this organization and intend to support it with my time and contributions for as long as I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012

more

August 2, 2012

I was a kitten foster parent for Seattle Humane Society. It was an incredible experience. First, the fact that SHS has a foster program is commendable. It has allowed the shelter to help so many cats and dogs it otherwide couldn't take in. The program was well run and provided me with all the advice, supplies and medication needed to help kittens become adoptable. Each time I returned my foster kittens back to the shelter, they were adopted right away. This was a very rewarding experience and I would recommend it to any animal lover who has some extra time to make a difference in a pet's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 2, 2012

more

August 2, 2012

I started working at the 1 1/2 yrs ago. I spend Saturday mornings working in the Cat Annex taking care of the cats. This involves monitoring, feeding and cleaning out the cubbies. And when time permits, playing or cuddling them. I work with the best group of volunteers and it makes my Saturday mornings lots of fun. Working as a volunteer at the SHS is so rewarding and they make you feel so welcome and appreciated. I wish I could volunteer there everyday instead going to my paying job! I think the thing that impresses me most is how everyone cares so much about the animals. I'm always proud to say I volunteer for the Seattle Humane Society.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've adopted three kitties from them over the past 4 yrs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lotto and donate as many millions as I could so we could have a state-of-the-art facilities. This would give the animals the best environment possible until they fine forever homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of any, I think it's a great place to spend my Saturday mornings.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Meeting new people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fabulous!

August 2, 2012

more

August 2, 2012

I've been a volunteer for seven years at the Seattle/King County Humane Society. My first role was assisting the public with meeting and adopting dogs and cats. I've since moved on from that role to packing food for the Pet Food Bank, a monthly program that provides dog and cat food for senior homes. In addition, I participate in various events, especially the HS annual Tuxes and Tails working registration. Most recently my husband and I have become foster parents. We are currently fostering Buddy a three year-old part German Shepherd. He's the sweetest dog and we're probably going to adopt him! I love volunteering for the Humane Society and will continue to do so for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012

more

August 2, 2012

SHS is a very organized no-kill shelter, with extremely dedicated staff and volunteers, with tons of opportunities to do good for the animals. My husband and I work full time busy jobs and we've been volunteering there for 2 years, every Sunday - it really feels like what we are doing helps a lot.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I had a negative bad experience during Mother's Day Weekend. I submitted my adoption papers on Saturday in person at exactly 5PM, and was told they were closing early (usually stay open till 8PM on Saturdays), but would be open from 11AM-6PM the next day, Sunday, 5/13/12. Therefore I came back the next day ready to adopt an extra large dog that I had selected the day before, but right upon entering was told that they could not find my application, but eventually found it after 20 minutes. During the meantime I went out to check on the extra large male dog I wanted but he wasn't there, so I asked a volunteer what happened and she told me he had bit or scratched somebody the day before. She wasn't sure what had happened, so I asked the receptionist and he too was confused. Basically I received a bunch of excuses that he was no longer available for adoption, though the day before he was, very odd & suspicious. So I said "okay", then I would like to adopt another medium sized dog I had seen, so the volunteer informed the receptionist and after 20 minutes an Adoption Assisant by the name of Tivo called me to her side with my application in hand and in a rude aggressive tone basically told me neither dog I was interested in would be available for me because *she/Tivo" felt none of the two dogs was right for me. She basically plays God. Even though I have owned 10 dogs throughout my 4 decades on earth, all lived to old age except one was stolen (which Tivo treated like a crime!), and paid thousands of dollars in medical care when needed for congestive heart failure as a result of old age (he died in September 2011), and when two of my dogs was diagnosed with cancer (she died in September 2008 & the other September 2000) , and another with a tumour in March 2001. I paid all costs without fail (my veterinarian is Dr. Heather Stewart of Carousel Veterinary Services). Also, I have my dogs professionally groomed by Tender Care Services (Debbie & Joanne). As well Mrs. Jeannie Chow of the Seattle Animal License Department (whom inspects one's home annually if there are 3 or more dogs in residence) has stated our house is one of the cleanest and it's obvious we love dogs. I even had to go through a bunch of red tape to get my two mixed breed labrador retrievers transferred from South America to the USA when I was a Peace Corps Volunteer back in 1997-1998. That's how much I love my dogs. Then to have this Adoption Assistant by the name of Tivo decide that I wasn't good enough for either dog literally broke my heart, broke my heart (this after 8 months of grieving for my beloved Jojo). I finally was ready to adopt, and instead of paying lots of money from a professional dog breeder (as is usually my custom, except my 2 Peace Corps dogs and the one I owned when I was age 4-17 yrs. old; my first) I decided this time I wanted one from the Seattle Humane Society, to help out one that was most likely abandoned. Just an upsetting experience (we donate to the Humane Society every Christmas), as well when my dog(s) pass away I donate as much of their items as I can. So to be turned away was just appalling, literally. ***PS: we own our own home, purchased in 1969, have approximately 2.5 acres of green luscious backyard & frontyard to romp in, 3 lovely doghouses (none being used currently b/c Jojo passed away on 9/23/11), have brand new dog beds, toys, bowls, leashes, collars, honestly anything a dog could wish for, including a fenced in 2.25 acres of 6-feet fence in the backyard, kennel, and a 4.5-feet 0.75 acres of wrought iron fence in the frontyard, a huge awning/deck/patio area, tall fluffy trees for shade. etc. etc. etc. In fact I would be honored to have anyone come to my house to see how beautiful it is for a dog or dogs.****

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2011

I volunteer at the shelter, and for the most of the part they do a great job. Especially now, when they became a no-kill shelter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Dog Behavior & Socialization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advocating more on the welfare of farm animals in the region & the state.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers