Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have been fortunate enough to visit Humane Society - Calumet Area and see the amazing work they are doing first hand. With a group of such innovative, compassionate, and energetic staff members, they are making such a positive difference for animals in Indiana.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

Humane Society Calumet Area is one of the best shelters in Indiana. Animals who end up there are lucky to land at an organization with such a caring, compassionate and progressive staff. They are true leaders in the field and simply do a phenomenal job for the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

absolutely nothing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have adopted 3 animals from this shelter. They have an amazing volunteer program and are always open to suggestions. They are truly helping the community and strive to help people in need. From their food bank to low cost vaccines. I can only hope to see this facility grow and change how the community views shelter animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a no-kill shelter that is very professional, clean and attentive to the animal (no matter what the small animal is). I volunteer there occasionally and find the above to be true. We are most fortunate to have this organization in our town. They try their best to promote animals through many fund raising events, newspaper articles, and other forms of advertising. My husband is a dog walker and he re- inforces the above information.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Upon my first visit in 2011 to volunteer for this non-profit organization, I also ended up adopting a senior Boxer with extreme health issues within 2 weeks of putting in my application :) But to focus on the reason for this review, this organization is a fine organization that works hard to help animals for adoption, foster care and much more. I, myself, volunteer and provide many donations of different kinds when I can due to my busy schedule, and I always see how they really care for the animals, as a whole. The staff is caring, compassionate and friendly, and I would recommend this establishment 100% :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for the Humane Society Calumet Area for 7 years. I currently work with our Humane Education Program which was established to teach the children of our area (through schools, scout troops and Critter Camp) the humane treatment of all animals. Through this program, children not only learn about humane treatment of animals but, also, humane treatment of each other. HSCA values every animal life. I work with the foster program caring for special-needs animals. My experience has shown me that the medical staff gives each of these dogs or cats the specialized care they need so that each of them can reach their full potential. There are no animals that leave HSCA not feeling loved and well cared for. The staff and volunteers are a team with the goal of making the shelter experience for each animal a positive one. I am very proud to be associated with the HSCA family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with the shelter for 4 years. I started as a volunteer because I wanted to help the animals. Not only did I help them I also made many friends there. I now help foster any animals they need help with from dogs to rabitts. I was talking to one of the emplyees there telling them how I would like to become a vet and they allowed me to help the vets in the clinc over the summer.This was defanitly one of the best experiences of my life! This isnt just a non kill animal shelter. We are a family all working together to help the animals have a better life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Just adopted a new puppy from the society. This is the second one we have adopted from them. Great place to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The pets at Humane Society Calume Area are so well cared for. They have even opened a new spay-neuter clinic to help with the over-population problem in the United States. When you walk in there you really feel an atmosphere of caring and concern. I can't think of a better place to donate

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with HSCA for over four years and have found the best group of dedicated volunteers and staff. These people are dedicated to the animals first and go far above and beyond their job as an animal shelter. They are the only group in our area that offers comprehensive Humane Education programs and pet therapy to local nursing homes. I can't say enough good things about his place!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers