Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I've seen first hand the amazing work of HSCA not only working for an animal clinic in the community but a donor well. When I found a stray I couldn't keep, they were so helpful in taking him in and caring for him.
Great staff, great facility, great work.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

My daughter turned twelve this year and was interested in becoming a volunteer at the Humane Society. They have so many opportunities for the children to get involved. We are able to volunteer together and spend quality time doing what we love.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I adopted my dog from there 7 years ago and could not believe how hard they work to find the right homes for the animals there.I became a volunteer after a while and became involved in helping all I could.The people there really take care of these animals and work exceptionally hard to earn the money to help these animals. I can honestly say I am proud to be a volunteer there.The shelter is a non -profit organization. Three people that I know have adopted from there and they are happy with the care their animals received while there Great place.
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I have been with the Humane Society Calumet Area for 20- years. When I started working with them the building on Columbia Avenue in Hammond was barely standing. There was room for very few dogs and even fewer cats. The miracle which has been created at HSCA today is almost unbelievable. There have been times when there has been as many as 450 animals housed in the facility on 45th Avenue in Munster. Each and every animal is tested, treated, fed and given loving care until they can find their "forever home". This is due to an amazing staff, employees, outstanding volunteers and donors. The volunteers at HSCA are the most dedicated, hard working, patience, loving people you will ever find. The most important people who keep the shelter going are the donors and the volunteers. Without those two groups of people, the advancements of adding an Intake Center, then a clinic, PAWS move to bigger quarters, then joining in with other rescue groups to aid in animal welfare across the region would not have been possible. I feel HSCA is and will continue to be at the forefront of animal care in the Calumet Area for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I decided to adopt my first dog from Humane Society Calumet Area back in 2008, after going to multiple shelters before. I didn't feel comfortable with any of the other shelters, and didn't feel like they actually cared about matching me up with an appropriate dog. After looking through and finding the dog I wanted, they worked with me to make sure she was right for me and I was right for her. I could tell they really cared about not only me, but the forever-home that the dog would end up with. I would recommend them to anyone else, as I have had such a great experience and ever since I adopted my dog in 2008, she has been my best furry friend since. Thank you Humane Society Calumet!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have been fortunate enough to visit Humane Society - Calumet Area and see the amazing work they are doing first hand. With a group of such innovative, compassionate, and energetic staff members, they are making such a positive difference for animals in Indiana.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

Humane Society Calumet Area is one of the best shelters in Indiana. Animals who end up there are lucky to land at an organization with such a caring, compassionate and progressive staff. They are true leaders in the field and simply do a phenomenal job for the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

absolutely nothing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have adopted 3 animals from this shelter. They have an amazing volunteer program and are always open to suggestions. They are truly helping the community and strive to help people in need. From their food bank to low cost vaccines. I can only hope to see this facility grow and change how the community views shelter animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a no-kill shelter that is very professional, clean and attentive to the animal (no matter what the small animal is). I volunteer there occasionally and find the above to be true. We are most fortunate to have this organization in our town. They try their best to promote animals through many fund raising events, newspaper articles, and other forms of advertising. My husband is a dog walker and he re- inforces the above information.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Upon my first visit in 2011 to volunteer for this non-profit organization, I also ended up adopting a senior Boxer with extreme health issues within 2 weeks of putting in my application :) But to focus on the reason for this review, this organization is a fine organization that works hard to help animals for adoption, foster care and much more. I, myself, volunteer and provide many donations of different kinds when I can due to my busy schedule, and I always see how they really care for the animals, as a whole. The staff is caring, compassionate and friendly, and I would recommend this establishment 100% :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers