Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

After losing our Black Lab(Jakob), our Dalmatian mix(Lucky) went into a depression-he had never been alone before, so on his way home from work, my husband stopped by the Humane Society Calumet Area shelter and instantly fell in love with our Hound (Ozzie) and set up to adopt him-we only had to bring Lucky in to "Meet & Greet" before we brought him home....while there my husband mentioned that he had originally come in to see if he could find a Lab & it just so happened that a Lab (Otis) puppy's adoption had fallen thru, so we met him(of course I feel in love), he met Lucky, who immediately accepted him and within 1 week we had added 8 new feet to our home! As it turned out, Otis was a rescue from a Petland store in the area& would have been put down if it wasn't for the wonderful people of this Humane Society, and we have taken our boys back to visit the wonderful people to say Thank You for caring!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

We adopted our first cat as a kitten in September of 2011. Best experience we could have ever asked for. When we moved to a bigger house we made the decision to adopt a second cat. We adopted an older cat April 2014. Another great adoption. My family are all proud supporters of the Humane Society and would highly recommend adoption from this facility.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I've seen first hand the amazing work of HSCA not only working for an animal clinic in the community but a donor well. When I found a stray I couldn't keep, they were so helpful in taking him in and caring for him.
Great staff, great facility, great work.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

My daughter turned twelve this year and was interested in becoming a volunteer at the Humane Society. They have so many opportunities for the children to get involved. We are able to volunteer together and spend quality time doing what we love.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I adopted my dog from there 7 years ago and could not believe how hard they work to find the right homes for the animals there.I became a volunteer after a while and became involved in helping all I could.The people there really take care of these animals and work exceptionally hard to earn the money to help these animals. I can honestly say I am proud to be a volunteer there.The shelter is a non -profit organization. Three people that I know have adopted from there and they are happy with the care their animals received while there Great place.
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I have been with the Humane Society Calumet Area for 20- years. When I started working with them the building on Columbia Avenue in Hammond was barely standing. There was room for very few dogs and even fewer cats. The miracle which has been created at HSCA today is almost unbelievable. There have been times when there has been as many as 450 animals housed in the facility on 45th Avenue in Munster. Each and every animal is tested, treated, fed and given loving care until they can find their "forever home". This is due to an amazing staff, employees, outstanding volunteers and donors. The volunteers at HSCA are the most dedicated, hard working, patience, loving people you will ever find. The most important people who keep the shelter going are the donors and the volunteers. Without those two groups of people, the advancements of adding an Intake Center, then a clinic, PAWS move to bigger quarters, then joining in with other rescue groups to aid in animal welfare across the region would not have been possible. I feel HSCA is and will continue to be at the forefront of animal care in the Calumet Area for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I decided to adopt my first dog from Humane Society Calumet Area back in 2008, after going to multiple shelters before. I didn't feel comfortable with any of the other shelters, and didn't feel like they actually cared about matching me up with an appropriate dog. After looking through and finding the dog I wanted, they worked with me to make sure she was right for me and I was right for her. I could tell they really cared about not only me, but the forever-home that the dog would end up with. I would recommend them to anyone else, as I have had such a great experience and ever since I adopted my dog in 2008, she has been my best furry friend since. Thank you Humane Society Calumet!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have been fortunate enough to visit Humane Society - Calumet Area and see the amazing work they are doing first hand. With a group of such innovative, compassionate, and energetic staff members, they are making such a positive difference for animals in Indiana.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

Humane Society Calumet Area is one of the best shelters in Indiana. Animals who end up there are lucky to land at an organization with such a caring, compassionate and progressive staff. They are true leaders in the field and simply do a phenomenal job for the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

absolutely nothing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have adopted 3 animals from this shelter. They have an amazing volunteer program and are always open to suggestions. They are truly helping the community and strive to help people in need. From their food bank to low cost vaccines. I can only hope to see this facility grow and change how the community views shelter animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers