Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a no-kill shelter that is very professional, clean and attentive to the animal (no matter what the small animal is). I volunteer there occasionally and find the above to be true. We are most fortunate to have this organization in our town. They try their best to promote animals through many fund raising events, newspaper articles, and other forms of advertising. My husband is a dog walker and he re- inforces the above information.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Upon my first visit in 2011 to volunteer for this non-profit organization, I also ended up adopting a senior Boxer with extreme health issues within 2 weeks of putting in my application :) But to focus on the reason for this review, this organization is a fine organization that works hard to help animals for adoption, foster care and much more. I, myself, volunteer and provide many donations of different kinds when I can due to my busy schedule, and I always see how they really care for the animals, as a whole. The staff is caring, compassionate and friendly, and I would recommend this establishment 100% :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for the Humane Society Calumet Area for 7 years. I currently work with our Humane Education Program which was established to teach the children of our area (through schools, scout troops and Critter Camp) the humane treatment of all animals. Through this program, children not only learn about humane treatment of animals but, also, humane treatment of each other. HSCA values every animal life. I work with the foster program caring for special-needs animals. My experience has shown me that the medical staff gives each of these dogs or cats the specialized care they need so that each of them can reach their full potential. There are no animals that leave HSCA not feeling loved and well cared for. The staff and volunteers are a team with the goal of making the shelter experience for each animal a positive one. I am very proud to be associated with the HSCA family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with the shelter for 4 years. I started as a volunteer because I wanted to help the animals. Not only did I help them I also made many friends there. I now help foster any animals they need help with from dogs to rabitts. I was talking to one of the emplyees there telling them how I would like to become a vet and they allowed me to help the vets in the clinc over the summer.This was defanitly one of the best experiences of my life! This isnt just a non kill animal shelter. We are a family all working together to help the animals have a better life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Just adopted a new puppy from the society. This is the second one we have adopted from them. Great place to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The pets at Humane Society Calume Area are so well cared for. They have even opened a new spay-neuter clinic to help with the over-population problem in the United States. When you walk in there you really feel an atmosphere of caring and concern. I can't think of a better place to donate

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with HSCA for over four years and have found the best group of dedicated volunteers and staff. These people are dedicated to the animals first and go far above and beyond their job as an animal shelter. They are the only group in our area that offers comprehensive Humane Education programs and pet therapy to local nursing homes. I can't say enough good things about his place!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is the most hard working and dedicated group of people I have ever worked with at a non profit organization. They are truly dedicated to the cause and raising awareness for adoption of these animals. I am so proud to be a part of this organization and encourage others to join us in saving these rescues. Pay forward!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Humane Society of the Calumet Area is an excellent facility for animals who need care and shelter and food and affection from the many wonderful people who are part of that shelter. They do so many wonderful things with the animals in their care; always placing animals in their new homes with the utmost care. I am impressed with the professional way that the shelter is operated. The welfare of the animals comes first with them. The Humane Society of the Calumet Area is already No. 1 on the list of top rated non-profits in my opinion! Carole J.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a volunteer because my daugher wanted to be a voluneer as soon as she was old enough. This shelter is AWESOME! The animals are treated with such wonderful care. The staff is extremely helpful. Cheryl does an amazing job. My daughter really enjoys socializing with the kittens in the bonding rooms. She loves spending time in the cat colony. I'm happy that I can be a part of bringing a pet and family together. Recently my son has become a volunteer as well. He enjoys socializing with the puppies. We have participated in several off-site adoption events. These events teach my children how important it is to be responsible pet owners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers