Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Human Service Organizations, Human Services

Mission:

The Human Services Center Corporation improves the quality of life for children, adults, and families in the Mon Valley area. It fulfills this mission in four ways:

Serving as a collaborative leader by promoting and supporting a network of providers within and outside the walls of its multi-purpose center.Serving as a bridge between human service organizations and those who develop policies and funding that impact the quality of life in the Mon Valley area.   Monitoring community needs and initiating innovative strategies to fill service gaps. Providing essential services to both community members and human service organizations.

Results: It would be impossible to list all of the HSCC’s results to date. In 2006 alone, the following honors were bestowed upon the HSCC’s programs, staff, and consumers. We have also listed some of our program accomplishments.  Citizens Bank/WPXI Champions in Action for the Youth Learning In a Fun Environment (Youth LIFE) After-School Program, January 2006  YouthWorks, Inc.’s Outstanding Youth Award is presented to one of the Emerging Leaders Program’s youth, June 2006  McKeesport Healthier Communities Partnership (State Health Improvement Partnership) honors its first SHIP-mate Hall of Fame awardee, Darlene Salih, Family Development Specialist, McKeesport Collaborative, June 2006  YouthWorks, Inc. Community Based Organization of Distinction Award for in-school youth for the Emerging Leaders Program, June 2006  Allegheny County Family Development Specialist Training certifies first group in the County, including Darlene Salih, Family Development Specialist, McKeesport Collaborative, September 2006  YWCA Women of Achievement Award for Social Service Staff Person, Diane George, Director, McKeesport Collaborative, October 2006  Nonprofit Congress, an initiative of the National Council of Nonprofit Associations selects Dave Coplan, Executive Director, as one of a handful of delegates from Pennsylvania to congress, October 2006  YWCA Women of Achievement Award for Service Organization of the Year, October 2006  Community Action Association of Pennsylvania Self Sufficiency Award bestowed upon one of the participants in the McKeesport Collaborative, October 2006  Pittsburgh Magazine and PUMP 40 Under 40 Honoree, Alicia Andrews, Associate Director, November 2006 Some of the major highlights of the 2005-2006 Youth LIFE Program were: • 84% of all youth who participated in the tutorial services earned better grades in the grading period following completion of the program than in the grading period preceding enrollment in the program. • 100% of youth increased awareness of community needs through engaging in community service projects. • 85 of the youth who participated in social enrichment seminars and recreational activities enhanced their social skills and interactions with peers. Some of the major highlights of this summer’s KOOL program were: • 100% of the youth attended the KOOL Summer Program completed at least three community service projects. • FREE nutritious breakfasts and lunches were served daily through Allegheny County’s Summer Feeding Program. • Blind and Vision Rehabilitation Services of Pittsburgh conducted a seminar where 81% of the children learned what it is like living with a visual impairment. • 20 students participated in weekly sessions with Earth Force and Conservation Consultants Inc. where they learned how to conserve energy and conducted multiple community awareness projects. • The Carnegie Science Center’s “Science In Your Neighborhood” Program afforded exciting science experiences to 85 children on a weekly basis. 2006 MVPC Outcomes and Achievements • 845 people were screened for osteoporosis at 26 of community sites conducted by MVPC member agencies and MVPC staff and volunteers who are trained to use the machine. • 737 people were screened for vision throughout the Mon Valley. • More than 80 people attended the “Home Sweet Home” Housing Conference for consumers and providers. • More than 70 people attended the Capacity Building Conference and the Legislative Reception that followed. • Over 36 people have been referred to the West Mifflin Wal-Mart Vision Center to receive a free eye exam and glasses. • More than 50 people whose insurance covered their exam and glasses were educated to access covered care. • Over 55 youth attended the ME Inc. Entrepreneurial seminar in February. • Over 130 people representing dozens of different agencies attended the Annual Breakfast Meeting on November 3, 2006. • Over 1,200 copies of the MVPC Membership Directory were distributed to a variety of agency staff and consumers in a month’s time period. • 2,000 youth will receive pocket sized help cards. • The Working Group on Employment and Training purchased an employer database of over 9,500 employers which is now available to member agencies. Already, several agencies have used the data. • At the 5th Annual Super Expo: • Hundreds of people gained access to a wide variety of services available in Southwestern Pennsylvania. 46 agencies occupied a total of 53 tables and distributed countless materials concerning health services, housing resources, employment and education opportunities, as well as general information about an assortment of other services. UPMC Braddock, Magee Womens Hospital, Wal Mart and the Mon Valley Providers Council provided free health screenings for many consumers at the 5th Annual Super Expo. • 69 people received vision screenings from Wal Mart and the MVPC’s Working Group on Health’s Vision Screening Project. • 28 people received Osteoporosis screenings from the MVPC’s Working Group on Health’s Osteoporosis Screening Project. • 66 people received blood pressure readings from UPMC Braddock. • 70 people received free cholesterol screenings from UPMC Braddock. • 40 people received body fat percentages from UPMC Braddock. • 80 people were screened by Agona Chiropractor with 23 people making follow-up appointments. • 12 individuals were interviewed and screened for drug and alcohol awareness. • 120 people received information from the Blind & Visual Rehabilitation Service. • 40 people received pulmonary function testing by UPMC Braddock. • 16 women received Breast Cancer screenings from Magee-Womens hospital. • 250 people received important health information from Magee-Womens Hospital. • Over 100 people received information and referrals from Turtle Creek Valley MH/MR. Each year, the Center works in cooperation with the Pantry Network to collect and distribute toys to thousands of children. The average gift for each child is worth approximately $30. In 2006, volunteer efforts represented well over 2,500 hours. The total value of all the donations was over $160,000. Thanks to the generous support of State Senator Sean Logan, countless individuals, businesses and families, as well as the volunteers, the holidays were just a little happier for 5,250 Mon Valley children.

Target demographics: The Human Services Center Corporation (HSCC) provides a continuum of services to many targeted low-income segments of the community. Each of the 10 tenant agencies also provides very specific services. The HSCC offers facility services to ensure proper operations of the Center physical plant, development to protect the Center as a crucial community investment and support for a cooperative environment (facility and grounds maintenance and improvements, and establishment of an emergency fund). Network/Coordination Services ensure cooperative and coordinated response to pressing and emerging community needs through the Center network and from the larger network of Mon Valley human services providers (coordination of the: Mon Valley Providers Council, Holiday Toy Program, and work with the Pantry Network of Eastern Suburbs). The HSCC is also the fiscal home of the McKeesport Collaborative. Community and Outreach Services assist families and individuals to access the widest range of human services through the Center (Urban League’s Rental Assistance Program, Turtle Creek Library, Flu Shots, Community Events, Family Movie Nights, Support Groups such as AA and Parents of Murdered Children, and 80+ others). The HSCC’s Youth Programs provide educational and fun activities for youth year-round. The Youth Learning In a Fun Environment (LIFE) Program provides after-school programming for students ages five to thirteen. Administered from 2:30 p.m. until 7:30 p.m., the program has a heavy academic focus, while also providing social, recreational and community service components. There are currently more than 90 local youth enrolled in the program. The Emerging Leaders Program is a workforce development endeavor for 35 older, in-school youth ages 14 to 18. The seven week KOOL (Kids Outgoing, Outdoing and Learning) Summer Program offers academic and social enrichment for 150 youth between the ages of five and thirteen. KidShape, a partnership with Highmark, builds healthy families through fun, interactive exercise and nutrition activities to help promote wellness and self-esteem. The Annual Children’s Safety Fair, which will be held in conjunction with the HSCC’s 25th Anniversary Celebration, will be held on Friday, May 18th from 3:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. This event provides hundreds of local children with health and safety information in a fun atmosphere. For more information on any of these programs, contact Leah Price at 412-829-7112. The Mon Valley Providers Council is is an alliance of human service and related organizations which are based in or have a substantial service presence in the Mon Valley. The MVPC serves as a formal network for information and resource exchange among human service providers in the Mon Valley. It involves its member organizations in Working Groups which address crucial issues in the Mon Valley in the areas of Employment and Training, Health, Housing, and Youth. The McKeesport Collaborative became a program of the Human Services Center in March of 2003. The Collaborative provides coordinated services for women and their children at-risk of substance abuse. Intensive case management services, housing, supportive services, and programs for youth are cornerstones of service.

Direct beneficiaries per year: 10,000

Geographic areas served: 37 Communities in the Mon Valley Region of Allegheny County (near Pittsburgh, PA)

Programs: The Youth Learning In a Fun EnvironmentAfter-School Program (Youth LIFE) provides 300 youth ages five to 13 daily with a comprehensive after-school program. Youth LIFE focuses on five key areas: academic, social, and cultural enrichment, community service, and recreation.

The Kids Outgoing, Outdoing, and Learning Summer Program (KOOL) currently serves 195 youth ages five to 13 in the summer for eight hours each day, including breakfast and lunch with a cultural field trip weekly. KOOL focuses on five key areas: academic, social, and cultural enrichment, community service, and recreation.

The Emerging Leaders Program (ELP) is a workforce development initiative which currently serves 40-45 in-school youth ages 14 to 18. Ultimately post-graduation, youth will: 1) enter post-secondary training; 2) enter the military, or; 3) gain meaningful employment.

All HSCC Youth Programs are FREE.

Community Stories

15 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I met Dave Coplan through a networking recommendation from Jennifer Ross at PANO and eventually wound-up doing contract work for HSCC. Dave understands that for a nonprofit to achieve excellence, you need to strategically and relentlessly advocate for the people you serve. I am impressed by HSCC's ability to diversify and expand their fundraising, develop a dedicated staff and harness the power of an engaged Board. But most of all, I'm impressed by the work that HSCC is doing with Mon Valley's youth. As someone with an extensive background in youth programming, the Emerging Leaders Program is simply among the best that I've seen, HSCC recognizes that their work isn't just about addressing the needs of the people they serve, but also about enabling them to envision and achieve a better life.

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I was an employee of the Human Service Center and can't say enough about the opportunities given employees to excel and to expand their expertise in the social services field. Not to mention the "family feel" of being part of the HSCC family.

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 4

I have had the opportunity to work with the staff of HSCC on a variety of different occasions. One of my favorite examples is when they readily agreed to connect with a local company to provide their employees with a way to give back and help others. The HSCC staff was ready to accept their help, bring resources to youth and families that truly needed it, and to make the holiday brighter for both groups!

3 Tony L

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I met Dave Coplan when I talked with him about increasing the effectiveness of his GNP profile. He was an intelligent, engaging, highly capable, dedicated individual that deeply cares for HSCC and the well being of the people of Turtle Creek and the Mon Valley. Congratulations on making 40 under 40 Dave!

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

An outstanding organization, dedicated to meeting the multifaced needs of the community it serves. Innovative programming, dedicated staff, contagious enthusiasm for their mission.

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

While attending my first Mon-Valley Providers Council Quarterly Meeting, I realized several things immediately: 1. what a wealth of information was available to me and my students 2. how bright their Director was 3. how utterly clueless I was 4. how great the needs were in the Mon Valley 5. how collaborative the MVPC organization was 6. why being involved was a win-win for me, my students and the local communities that I serve I have not regretted one minute of the time that I have committed to the activities and services provided by my CCAC, South Campus/MVPC collaboration. (well there was that one time at the Century III Mall during the Super Expo when I was hit on by several VERY senior citizens!!! BUT it provided me with a great story!! And NOW I am a one of those senior citizens)

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The HSCC has afforded me invaluable experiences to grow professionally. I first began working with the HSCC as an intern during my senior year at the University of Pittsburgh. I gained amazing first-hand experience writing grants, coordinating events, conducting planning studies and developing needs-driven, quality programming, such as the Youth LIFE after school program. During graduate school, I interned for several other organizations, but would always make time to do additional work for the HSCC, including facilitating studies about fundraising events, contributing to legislative agendas, and assisting in raising money for its endowment campaign. After I graduated with my Masters Degrees (MSW, MPA) from the University of Pittsburgh, I served a one-year term for HSCC's Board of Directors through Leadership Pittsburgh's Leadership OnBoard program. Each program and project of the HSCC is guaranteed to be high-quality, which is why I continue to donate money to and volunteer for the HSCC. You may have seen me helping to build a playground in the HSCC's courtyard, serving meals at its 25th Anniversary, or walking for the HSCC team at the annual HIV/AIDS Awareness Walk. I am proud to be associated with this organization and look forward to continuing to give back for years to come!

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Human Services Center Corporation in Turtle Creek is a tremendous asset to the entire region. They are constantly on the cutting edge when it comes to innovative ways of helping people. I started as a volunteer with them way back in the mid 90's. I worked in their toys for tots program and food pantry. Now as a professional in Workforce Development I interact with them on several levels and I'm constantly amazed. I have to tell a funny story about Dave that illustrates a point. One summer many many years ago we were all at a picnic together. There must have been a total of 6 of us playing a wiffle ball game. It was the start of an inning and Dave was on my team. While we were in the feild Dave whispered to me that he felt a triple play coming on. I'm like sure ok, I didn’t believe him. Well the next batter hit the ball and I can't remember how it all happened but next thing you know we had made a triple play and we were up again. How many times have you ever seen a triple play in a wiffle ball game? But Dave knew, he believed he could do it. This example has always stood as a testimony to the power of Dave. He and his team perform triple plays everyday with the ease and self assuredness of that summer day many years ago. Keep up the good work and it’s always been an honor to be on your team.

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I started as an intern at the Center while I was working on my undergraduate degree at Pitt. I became a full time employee in May of 2002 and served as the first Youth Programs Director and worked to support the Youth LIFE Program and the KOOL Summer Program. It was an incredible experience! After receiving my Masters Degree from the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs at Pitt, I moved on from my position at the Center to serve as the Senior Vice President of Development and Marketing at Goodwill Industries. Recently, I have transitioned into a position with The Foundation for Enhancing Communities. I learned so much as an intern at the Center about community organizing, grant writing and budgeting. It is an excellent resource for the community and for the students who have the opportunity to grow and learn.

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I have worked with and for other non-profits and have been impressed with HSCC because they seem to focus on the quality of their programs, they are very knowledgeable about the communities they serve, and they stay focused on their mission.