Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
197 Reviews
1234.97975
Write A Review
October 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I started helping The Hugs project a few years ago. I joined after our grandson left for Iraq. There were many other groups that I am involved in but The Hugs Project is one that I enjoyed the best. I don't do as much now, too old lol but they are still the best.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My grandson did in Iraq.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's perfect the way it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt like I was doing something to help our military. That is so important to me.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2011

Worked with these folks at Christmas 2010 when they did 4,000 care packages. Will work with them again this year and the goal is 4,500 or more. Good Stuff!! more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Groups like The Hugs Project really make a difference. When I was deployed, we lived for mail call. To get a package from family was great but when you get something from total strangers, it would blow your socks off!!!

Thank you all for caring about a bunch of grunts you will never
even meet. We love the great way you make us feel.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing except try to find them more donors. They spend every dime in a way that does the most good.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Worked with these folks at Christmas 2010 when they did 4,000 care packages. Will work with them again this year and the goal is 4,500 or more. Good Stuff!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Being down range you don't get the luxuries that we take for granted here in America every day.
You don't have 24 hour access to stores or even showers for that matter, so something like a box of some baby wipes goes a long way to someone who is sleeping in a hole in the ground...literally!

We have guys that risk their lives doing convoys just to get care packages to others who are in harsher terrain! Those who receive these packages are always in great spirits!! When you're talking about being in a war zone and having all of the same problems you still have on the home front like bills, deaths in the family, divorce, stress in general that makes you just want to quit...that little piece of Heaven that's a HUGS Care Package is all someone needs to keep going! Keep it up HUGS! You're loved by more than you know!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

HUGS is and always will be close to my heart! I received a care package down range a couple of times from HUGS. The feeling is one that is hard to describe. Knowing someone you have never met has spent so much time on something for you and given so many details to their work is priceless!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is no other Project that I would recommend getting involved in more! HUGS has my full support and the volunteers are amazing people who work just as hard and at times even harder than we do down range! God bless you Karen and Ray! If it weren't for you, the moral would certainly lower down range than it is now! I wouldn't change a thing! In fact, everyone should visit the store at Crossroads mall and look what these amazing people have done!

October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with the Hugs project for about 7an half years I have done sewing and helped where ever needed All people who work there donate their time and materials. I enjoydonating my time to this worth while project giving care packages to our soldiers in harms way sending a little home to them. It makes me proud when we get a letter from a soldiers thanking us for the item we send .
Huggs, sox , drink mixes. home made cookies
When my nephew was over seas he told me when receiving the huggs box was a bright momentof that day and he had lots of help to open his box

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When my nehpew received his box he was so excided the items sent were needed

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing it is ran great good orgnization and lots of volunteers Always room for 1 more

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

nothing

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

yes it made me realize just doing something for the soldiers makes their day a little easier

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

made me feel good about my self and my time is well spent

October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Some bands that I play in had the chance to perform at a HUGS. We practiced several weeks getting ready and had a really good time working with the volunteers and learning more about HUGS. The letters from the troops were very moving and rewarding.
As a civilian, I'm really glad to know there
are organizations like HUGS that give comfort to our troops who are fighting for our country while we go about life as normal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Good. Glad that troops that may not have any family my at least find someone though HUGS to be a friend to them.

February 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Karen Stark and everyone at the Hugs Project is selflessly committed to the mission of extending a heartfelt thank you to every soldier serving in today's military, especially those in harm's way. I have spent enough time volunteering and helping pack boxes, write letters, make cool ties, and am constantly amazed at this organization's tireless effort. I have never been so personally motivated and inspired as I have by the Hugs Project and the hearts behind it. I have seen the good it does first hand and have had the joy and honor of realizing the huge emotional impact that one care package and one note means to each and every troop that recieves them. I have come to value more deeply the importance of the human spirit and how it can be changed through The Hugs Project.
I attended a small carnival outside OKC with the Hugs Project where we set up a small booth trying to gain funds to help our soldiers, and to reach out and inspire others to be greatful for their sacrifices. It poured rain and was cold, but we did not pack up, instead Karen and I huddled in the back of her van, continuing to make things we could send to the troops. When the rain cleared a man stopped by and gave us all a heartfelt thank you and told us of how he was deeply discouraged after returning to the states from his time of service and to see minimal gratitude from other citizens and it motivated him to see what we were doing and he had actually recieved our packages overseas and said that they had boosted the morale of his fellow men in arms. I broke down and cried, and hugged this perfect stranger. There is no deeper connection to humanity than that which I have experienced with the Hugs Project. This organization and It's mission deserve all the recognition they can be given. Thank you Hugs!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

in My heart and soul. I have seen results in the thank you letters, pictures, and emails we recieved from troops. In the grateful families that came in to visit, and from the soldier's who returned home and sought us out in crossroads mall to say than you. Genuine, selfless, and real, I have witnessed the good in the results of this organization, and am proud to campaign for them and their cause

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more hours in the day, more volunteers to help, bigger space to pack boxes. They would never run out of necessities that soldiers need and request. I would give them more time in the public eye because America deserves to see what they do! This all takes money. I would only change this organization by making it easier for them to provide for the troops. I would win the lotto and give it to them

February 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Some of our scout troop helped HUGS in OKC a couple of years ago for service time. I have 3 sons who are scouts and they enjoyed working to help our troops try to enjoy a few of the comforts of home. From what I have read in email attachments to HUGS, our efforts were much appreciated. I hope that our troop will volunteer again for this much worthy cause.

M Welch

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading emails from our US Soldiers thanking HUGS for their sincere work in making their lives easier.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

February 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

II am a retired Vietnam Veteran. When I was serving in Southeast Asia there was not any origination doing what the Hugs Project is doing. It would have been great to receive packages from people that you did not know and know that they really did care about what we were doing and how we were.
When we retuned from Southeast Asia we were spit on, called names and look at as the sum of the earth.
The Men and Women that serve this country today deserve better and this a group of great people that are showing them that there is people who do care about what they are doing and how they are living. They do a great job of getting needed supplies to the Men and Women of our arm forces.
Karen and all of her volunteers are to be commended for all the hard work and long hours that they put in.
I would have loved to have received a package and support that they give everyone.
I have been a volunteer for a short time but due to work requirements I can not spend as much time helping all that I want.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In the short time that I have helped I have received a lot of satisfaction in knowing that I have helped some of out troops.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing. Karen has things going good and knows how to get things done and to get the help that she needs. We just need more Money to get the packages to the troops.

February 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I love The Hugs Project because the packages sent to our troops touch them on a personal level. Every care package is packed with – well, much care. We often think about the troops and wish we could let them know how much we appreciate their sacrifice. The Hugs Projects sends encouragement from “home” to our troops and, of course, the true vision of the “hug” is brilliant – a cooling tie that will help lower the body’s temperature when in the heat. A real source of comfort physically as well as emotionally. We receive an e-mail each week with “thank you’s” from the troops and it’s heartwarming to read how they felt when the received their package, often sharing it with everyone they can. I wish we could send every service man and woman a package from The Hugs Project…they deserve it! They deserve our best for defending our country and our home.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering at The Hugs Project to make cooling ties for the troops and knitted caps that they can give to the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them organize a sustainable fundraiser.

February 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Not only does this organization help and support troops in need of simple yet scarce supplies, but they also provide a fun and social environment for those with little to do or those who just need a reason to get out of the house. These people are literally some of the nicest people anyone could ever meet. If you need some community service hours, they're there to help. If you wanna get out of the Lazy-Boy and do somethin productive, they're there to provide. If you want to help out the troops over seas fighting for our freedom, whether they are a relative, a loved one, or just a friend, the Hugs project is the place to be. I personally love every moment I'm there, packing care packages, ironing hugs, or even bagging up chocolate. There's many jobs available, creative jobs for the kids and even simple jobs like sowing and ironing for those who need to sit and still be productive.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've witnessed the impact the original founders, Karen and Ray Stark, have made on those with loved ones over seas and even veterans that stop by. The stories held within Karen Stark are strong enough to pull a tear from even the manliest soldier.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Invite more and more people because we can never have too much help.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers