Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
197 Reviews
1234.97975
Write A Review
August 14, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
June 5, 2013

We love our troops and strive to let them know they are loved and respected. If you have a loved one or friend who is currently deployed "in harm's way", please send their mailing address to: TheHu... more

August 14, 2014

I loved volunteering today! Everyone was so Nice and Caring! Definitely coming back to volunteer more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2013

We love our troops and strive to let them know they are loved and respected. If you have a loved one or friend who is currently deployed "in harm's way", please send their mailing address to: TheHugsProject(at)cox.net

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give each volunteer a great big {{{HUG}}}.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

The Hugs Project is dedicated to making sure each and every member of our military feels the love and support from back home. If anyone has a loved one serving far from home during the holidays, you can send the address to: TheHugsProject(at)cox.net and they will receive a special care package as a thank you for their service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I've worked with The Hugs Project for 7 1/2 years as a volunteer. We have no paid staff and our work space is donated. All donated funds go to help our troops.

We send care packages and cooling ties to troops. We love and appreciate all our troops and want them to know America has not
forgotten them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visits from troops when they come to OKC. They make sure they come by to say "thanks". Sometimes they even work with us to make sure the support continues for those still in harm's way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure everyone knows how important support is to our troops.

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work every Thursday and enjoy working with this dedicated group of people. We hope the unique and thoughtful items we include show our appreciation to our Service Men and Women how much we appreciate what they do for us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no suggestions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

One of my customers told me about The Hugs Project just before Christmas, so I took my teenage son to check it out. We found a wonderful group of volunteers, tirelessly organizing and packing and making hand made gifts for our troops. We asked what we could do and next thing we knew the boxes were stacking up. So 3 weeks later when shipping day came we stacked care packages on pallets 6 feet high, thats a little more than 100 per pallet. There were close to 100 pallets that day being sent all over the world., and that was just the 1st shipment. All done with love from Karen and her organization. I've seen Pics of our troops opening them, and the happiness it brings to them while they are so far from home. The best charity I have volunteered at in a long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
June 6, 2013

Loving, generous group. They sent boxes to my son and his men when he was deployed.. The boxes were carefully planned and thought out. All the members are wonderful people. more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely awesome group. All volunteers, so all money donated goes directly to supporting the troops. When my son was deployed to Iraq, they shared packages of love with him and all his buddies. They were a blessing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Never change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Loving, generous group. They sent boxes to my son and his men when he was deployed.. The boxes were carefully planned and thought out. All the members are wonderful people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them unlimited funding!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

The Hugs Project is a group of caring, hard working volunteers. They sent packages to my USMC son when he was in the sand box and just made his day. They truly "put their money, where their mouth is' when it comes to supporting our young men and women in harm's way. Working with them defines troop support to a whole new level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

this organization absolutely rocks! They work very hard to support our troops and always insure that the very best they can do, they deliver to the troops. I have known and worked with them since 2005 and never have I been as impressed with the leadership and dedication of a totally volunteer organization such as this one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 10, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The Hugs Project is an incredible group of volunteers that serve our military men and women. they go beyond the call of duty to see to it that everyone they can reach knows they are appreciated. I am one of those volunteers and also the parent of a Marine. You can't imagine how wonderful it makes your deployed loved one feel when he or she receives a token of appreciation from strangers. The "fall out" from that is that everyone involved - from parents to other volunteers - gets a lift too. So much is negative in our world and this group makes a heroic effort to let our loved ones deployed in often hostile and abrasive situations, know that there are many out there supporting them and appreciating them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my son receiving care packages and enabling his buddies to receive care packages while deployed to the Middle East.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be sure that everyone in the whole country knew about this organization and had the chance to participate in their activities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

This group of patriotic folks work without pay to make sure our military's needs are met. They improve morale regardless of what state or branch the young man or woman is from or with. Kudos to The ... more

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What THP does to help and support our military members and there families is amazing to say the least. They certainly get my vote for a top notch nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they all get the recognition they deserve. They are very humble.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 4, 2012

This group of patriotic folks work without pay to make sure our military's needs are met. They improve morale regardless of what state or branch the young man or woman is from or with. Kudos to The Hugs Project,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2013

Been a member for about 4 years, even though it is a sweet long distance relationship. At 2:00 AM on Friday Dec. 8th 2012 I was instant messaging with Karen at HUGS in OKC, me in Houston, TX. She sa... more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the wonderful opportunity of working with this group for a few days the first week of December. I drove from Houston to Oklahoma City just to do what I could do to help. I met some of the most wonderful people and I cannot tell you what a great group this is, young and old.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i can't think of anything that is being over looked.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Been a member for about 4 years, even though it is a sweet long distance relationship. At 2:00 AM on Friday Dec. 8th 2012 I was instant messaging with Karen at HUGS in OKC, me in Houston, TX. She said they were sweating bullets packing the planned 5000 care packages out by Dec. 12th. Went to check the mileage, about 400plus. By noon Friday the 9th a friend and I were on our way up there in my RV I had just gotten. I didn't even know how to turn the furnace on in it and that was the 19 degree nights. We got in late Sat and met the bunch on Sunday and volunteered almost everyday until we had to drive back to Houston on Dec. 12th so we missed postal pickup. Most rewarding experience I have ever been a part of. Amazing young and old packing those packages. They wore me out, best tired I have ever had.

Dorinda McKenzie, Houston Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I have been associated with the Hugs Project early on, since I don't know when exactly. I can't even remember where we met, it wasn't at the current Crossroads Mall though. I've volunteered time, money and talent since I first answered a newspaper article at its early beginnings. You see I did not know anyone in the military, but after reading the article I was so moved to do something for the troops, might have been Desert Storm. I haven't been as active as in the beginning because of raising my granddaughter, but have become more so because my granddaughter, age 7, can help as well. The 2012 Christmas campaign was memorable for her because she colored and wrote messages on the care packages. She even got a glimpse of her artwork when the local television station aired the event. She is always asking to go to the Hugs Project so she can help. Karen and Ray work Hugs Project 24 hours a day with only admiration, respect and love from the troops and members as payment for service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 8, 2011

The Hugs Project in Oklahoma City has made a difference in so many lives. After 23 years of duty in the Air Force, my husband and I settled down in OKC to raise our children. Our son is now an active ... more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

If you have read any of the posted reviews, you already know what the HUGs Project is and what they do for the US Military. I have been a "Career Volunteer" my whole life, and this is the one organization that has done/will continue to do, the most good for the most people that I have ever worked with. Non-military sometimes have a hard time understanding the career choice of men and women who have taken on the job of protecting their country. The HUGs Project champions these military members with unquestioning support year round...not just during the holidays (which is when they send out 5,000 packages!) but every day. Each week, 50-75 CARE packages are mailed to troops in all services who are serving in harm's way. This non-profit group is run by an amazing couple that are tireless in their dedication to the cause, with the promise, "As long as they are fighting for our freedom, we'll work to support them." This is a remarkable group that I am proud to be a part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Hugs Project in Oklahoma City has made a difference in so many lives. After 23 years of duty in the Air Force, my husband and I settled down in OKC to raise our children. Our son is now an active duty Air Force helicopter pilot. During his year in Afghanistan, I became acquainted with Karen and Ray Stark and started volunteering with THP . They started and have kept the HUGS program running from their Edmond home and the Crossroads Mall storefront location. Volunteers from all around the area meet Wednesday, Thursday, or Saturday's to make hand sewn items (the HUGS that go around the neck to be wet and help cool the body), take large quantities of goods and make smaller baggies of the items (beef jerky, candy, gum, hygiene items, etc.), write encouraging notes to the Troops, and fill CARE boxes. Usually about 30-50 boxes go out every week to Troops in Afghanistan and Iraq. Over 4,000 boxes were sent overseas in December, full of Christmas candy, mugs of hot chocolate mix, knitted hats, socks, homemade goodies, granola bars, Twinkies, wrapped presents, books, toys for local children, ornaments, and as much love as could be packed into them. The letters expressing thanks from the Troops who received these boxes can break your heart. Being supported by total strangers gives them a lift in spirit, hope that they are appreciated, and a touch of home in a very scary place. This volunteer organization touches the lives of the Troops, the lives of children and locals they come in contact with, and it touches the hearts of all the volunteers from various walks of life who come to work here throughout the week. The Hugs Project is an amazing, totally non-profit organization, that does a huge amount of good for all who work there and for all who receive the boxes that are sent. Every box that goes out from THP, goes with the love of those supporting our Troops in harm's way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The results of this organization can be felt by the volunteers working to send hope and support to our Troops in harm's way. My son was in Afghanistan for a year and received several CARE packages from THP. The letters of response from military members who received these packages are heat-rending. They are so greatful for the unsolicited love and support of their mission, both physically and mentally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could change anything in this organization, it would be to provide a public relations person to help with fund raising. Karen and Ray Stark, the organizers, are run ragged looking for support. Non-profits are all trying for the same funds, a limited amount, and many hands out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing...Karen and Ray work as hard, or harder, than any of the volunteers, setting an example that is hard to beat. Our location is central and acceptable, the other volunteers are remarkable people, and the work we do is beyond helpful, it is life-changing...for the supporters and the Troops that receive the CARE packages.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The folks that volunteer at THP are all of the same heart. Supporting the Troops in harm's way is our privilege, a duty to our country and the men and women who serve in the military.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Absolutely wonderful! It is great fun to work at THP and the response letters from the Troops who receive the CARE packages is uplifting and heart-breaking at the same time. They are so far from home and loved ones, these packages are just a touch of home and love from stranagers who support them. It makes me proud to be one of those strangers!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 9, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2011

Although I am not physically able to volunteer at The Hugs Project, my Mother and I donate fabric to this organization. I have also gotten donations of tooth brushes, tooth paste and dental floss fro... more

November 9, 2012

I have been a member of The Hugs Project Oklahoma City for the past few years. Due to health problems, I have not been able to participate except through donations of fabric to make Cool Ties (Hugs) and other items to put in the Care Packages to send to our Military men and women. When I had family members serving overseas, The Hugs Project made sure they received a Care Package. They work very hard and are very dedicated to our Military men and women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am not physically able to volunteer at The Hugs Project, my Mother and I donate fabric to this organization. I have also gotten donations of tooth brushes, tooth paste and dental floss from my dentist. I have family members who have donated their time. My daughter is an Extreme Couponer and has donated hygiene items, non-perishable food items. Our family LOVES our military men and women and The Hugs Project is a remarkable organization. God Bless America and this organization for their hard work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I had a military person serving overseas and The Hugs Project sent them items they requested and needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I could think of is that we have more funding to help supply the items this organization needs to send to our military men and women.

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

I was so impressed with this organization that I started a chapter here in western Kentucky. The work that is done by the home group is amazing. A LOT of work and dedication is needed to run a group l... more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group of people are amazing in how much they serve our men/women in harm's way. So many men/women have smiled simply because of the love and support they have shared.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was so impressed with this organization that I started a chapter here in western Kentucky. The work that is done by the home group is amazing. A LOT of work and dedication is needed to run a group like this when EVERYONE is a volunteer. Not too hard when someone is getting paid to do the work but much different when it's done 100% with love. There have been MANY of our heroes who have told us the stories of how much it meant to them to get the love and support that goes into every box sent. Even after they come home it sometimes makes a difference. Just knowing someone cares is enough to get you thru a bad day over there. I love our heroes and I love The Hugs Project for doing what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers