Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
187 Reviews
1234.978615
| 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2012

The best thing that can happen to a troop is to receive love and support from the American public. The Hugs Project goes above and beyond to send us that kind of love. They let us know they care abo... more

April 9, 2013

Good afternoon!

Hello!

I received your care package this afternoon and wanted to make sure you received my "Thank you!" It was a very welcomed surprise. We don't get very much mail where we are and this made my day. I especially love the 550 paracord bracelet. We hope to get
more of these for the members of my command so don't worry, they definitely let us wear them.

I am currently stationed in Afghanistan. We play board games or read, when we are not on missions. Missions take up most of my time.

Keeping you guys safe at home isn't easy, but I am proud to do it for you. Packages like this from home make me know that you appreciate what we do out here.

Coming from a small town in Maine I really appreciate the support from all of you.

Thank you......everyone.......who helped put this together.

v/r,

Donnie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The best thing that can happen to a troop is to receive love and support from the American public. The Hugs Project goes above and beyond to send us that kind of love. They let us know they care about us and that they realize where their freedoms come from. We receive a lot of letters and they were passed around so that they brought a lot of smiles to many, many faces. Thanks, Hugs Project.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We got boxes while we were overseas. The care packages and letters of support make a big difference in our morale. It's good to know someone cares.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 8, 2011

The Hugs Project in Oklahoma City has made a difference in so many lives. After 23 years of duty in the Air Force, my husband and I settled down in OKC to raise our children. Our son is now an active ... more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

If you have read any of the posted reviews, you already know what the HUGs Project is and what they do for the US Military. I have been a "Career Volunteer" my whole life, and this is the one organization that has done/will continue to do, the most good for the most people that I have ever worked with. Non-military sometimes have a hard time understanding the career choice of men and women who have taken on the job of protecting their country. The HUGs Project champions these military members with unquestioning support year round...not just during the holidays (which is when they send out 5,000 packages!) but every day. Each week, 50-75 CARE packages are mailed to troops in all services who are serving in harm's way. This non-profit group is run by an amazing couple that are tireless in their dedication to the cause, with the promise, "As long as they are fighting for our freedom, we'll work to support them." This is a remarkable group that I am proud to be a part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Hugs Project in Oklahoma City has made a difference in so many lives. After 23 years of duty in the Air Force, my husband and I settled down in OKC to raise our children. Our son is now an active duty Air Force helicopter pilot. During his year in Afghanistan, I became acquainted with Karen and Ray Stark and started volunteering with THP . They started and have kept the HUGS program running from their Edmond home and the Crossroads Mall storefront location. Volunteers from all around the area meet Wednesday, Thursday, or Saturday's to make hand sewn items (the HUGS that go around the neck to be wet and help cool the body), take large quantities of goods and make smaller baggies of the items (beef jerky, candy, gum, hygiene items, etc.), write encouraging notes to the Troops, and fill CARE boxes. Usually about 30-50 boxes go out every week to Troops in Afghanistan and Iraq. Over 4,000 boxes were sent overseas in December, full of Christmas candy, mugs of hot chocolate mix, knitted hats, socks, homemade goodies, granola bars, Twinkies, wrapped presents, books, toys for local children, ornaments, and as much love as could be packed into them. The letters expressing thanks from the Troops who received these boxes can break your heart. Being supported by total strangers gives them a lift in spirit, hope that they are appreciated, and a touch of home in a very scary place. This volunteer organization touches the lives of the Troops, the lives of children and locals they come in contact with, and it touches the hearts of all the volunteers from various walks of life who come to work here throughout the week. The Hugs Project is an amazing, totally non-profit organization, that does a huge amount of good for all who work there and for all who receive the boxes that are sent. Every box that goes out from THP, goes with the love of those supporting our Troops in harm's way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The results of this organization can be felt by the volunteers working to send hope and support to our Troops in harm's way. My son was in Afghanistan for a year and received several CARE packages from THP. The letters of response from military members who received these packages are heat-rending. They are so greatful for the unsolicited love and support of their mission, both physically and mentally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could change anything in this organization, it would be to provide a public relations person to help with fund raising. Karen and Ray Stark, the organizers, are run ragged looking for support. Non-profits are all trying for the same funds, a limited amount, and many hands out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing...Karen and Ray work as hard, or harder, than any of the volunteers, setting an example that is hard to beat. Our location is central and acceptable, the other volunteers are remarkable people, and the work we do is beyond helpful, it is life-changing...for the supporters and the Troops that receive the CARE packages.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The folks that volunteer at THP are all of the same heart. Supporting the Troops in harm's way is our privilege, a duty to our country and the men and women who serve in the military.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Absolutely wonderful! It is great fun to work at THP and the response letters from the Troops who receive the CARE packages is uplifting and heart-breaking at the same time. They are so far from home and loved ones, these packages are just a touch of home and love from stranagers who support them. It makes me proud to be one of those strangers!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 9, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2011

Although I am not physically able to volunteer at The Hugs Project, my Mother and I donate fabric to this organization. I have also gotten donations of tooth brushes, tooth paste and dental floss fro... more

November 9, 2012

I have been a member of The Hugs Project Oklahoma City for the past few years. Due to health problems, I have not been able to participate except through donations of fabric to make Cool Ties (Hugs) and other items to put in the Care Packages to send to our Military men and women. When I had family members serving overseas, The Hugs Project made sure they received a Care Package. They work very hard and are very dedicated to our Military men and women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am not physically able to volunteer at The Hugs Project, my Mother and I donate fabric to this organization. I have also gotten donations of tooth brushes, tooth paste and dental floss from my dentist. I have family members who have donated their time. My daughter is an Extreme Couponer and has donated hygiene items, non-perishable food items. Our family LOVES our military men and women and The Hugs Project is a remarkable organization. God Bless America and this organization for their hard work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I had a military person serving overseas and The Hugs Project sent them items they requested and needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I could think of is that we have more funding to help supply the items this organization needs to send to our military men and women.

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about The Hugs Project years ago online. I've done what I can to support through fabric donations and money when I can. This year I had a high school classmate deployed overseas. I sent this group of people the name and address for my friend. Before I could blink they sent him a care package. My friend was touched by the kindness of strangers. I can't speak highly enough of The Hugs Project!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

This group of patriotic folks work without pay to make sure our military's needs are met. They improve morale regardless of what state or branch the young man or woman is from or with. Kudos to The Hugs Project,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2006, when my son joined the Army National Guard, I started looking for an organization for which I could actually do something based around my work schedule. I came across The Hugs Project and the pattern for the "hugs" (cool ties). Since I can sew, I knew this was the organization for me! I could make these on my own time and then simply ship the "hug" to them.That was 6 years ago and I am still doing it, despite being remarried (to a former Navy member) and moving out of state! I love this organization!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering since 2004. HUGS has sent packages to my family & friends serving overseas. They are efficient and so thoughtful about how they spend. Every penny goes to the troops!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is such a wonderful charity. All one needs to do is ask and they will send a care package. In addition they look for service personnel to send packagers to. When both my daughter and son in law where deployed to Iraq they sent them care packages that were very useful . As my son in law said they really knew what they were doing and what was needed. They make helmet warmers for our service members to put under their helmet that keeps their heads warm. For places that are very hot they send an item- its like a scarf, very lightweight - that gives you a hug that when activated with water cools you down. This is life saving . They have never turned down a requests and wok tirelessly to help out our deployed military women and men. I can not say enough wonderful things about this charity. They deserve to be considered one the top great charities. Even though both my marines Were deployed in 2008, I have sent them request for other military members who are active duty. They always respond.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 18, 2010

I have been with The Hugs Project since last year and have packed boxes for the troops during Christmas. My brother recently returned home from Iraq and received packages from The Hugs Project. This i... more

October 28, 2012

I went to pack a box for my brother 4 years ago and never left. Everyone is a volunteer and we support all branches of the military. We support our troops year round averaging 50 a week and 5000 at Christmas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2010

I have been with The Hugs Project since last year and have packed boxes for the troops during Christmas. My brother recently returned home from Iraq and received packages from The Hugs Project. This is a great organization supporting our troops overseas, I plan to continue to help in any way I can by volunteering each week.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My brother has received packages while overseas serving in the military.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

meeting the people who dedicate their time to helping the troops overseas, knowing we are making a difference in the lives of the soldiers overseas.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

fantastic and helpful, they take you right in and make you feel like family.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make sure all soldiers had support from home and we would have the means to pay postage and get merchandise that they need.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 19, 2010

I found this group when I was looking for an Eagle Scout project. I was so impressed that I continued to volunteer with them. more

October 28, 2012

The Hugs Project mails between 50-100 boxes each week full of lifesaving cooling ties (called Hugs) which can reduce body core temps by 7+ degrees, hygiene supplies, canned food and beef jerky. We've sent out 1.4 million hugs, 200,000 "kisses” (cooling helmet liners) and more than 462 TONS of care package items in the 8 years since The Hugs Project began. At Christmas we send out 5,000 Christmas boxes. In addition to the usual items, each box will contain some homemade goodies. We believe that every American serving in harm's way deserves the thanks of a grateful nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2010

I found this group when I was looking for an Eagle Scout project. I was so impressed that I continued to volunteer with them.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Fantastic!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Send care packages to all needy troops.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers