Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
197 Reviews
1234.97975
Previous | 1 2 3...18 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2011

Worked with these folks at Christmas 2010 when they did 4,000 care packages. Will work with them again this year and the goal is 4,500 or more. Good Stuff!! more

August 21, 2014

Groups like The Hugs Project really make a difference. When I was deployed, we lived for mail call. To get a package from family was great but when you get something from total strangers, it would blow your socks off!!!

Thank you all for caring about a bunch of grunts you will never
even meet. We love the great way you make us feel.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing except try to find them more donors. They spend every dime in a way that does the most good.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Worked with these folks at Christmas 2010 when they did 4,000 care packages. Will work with them again this year and the goal is 4,500 or more. Good Stuff!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 14, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
June 5, 2013

We love our troops and strive to let them know they are loved and respected. If you have a loved one or friend who is currently deployed "in harm's way", please send their mailing address to: TheHu... more

August 14, 2014

I loved volunteering today! Everyone was so Nice and Caring! Definitely coming back to volunteer more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2013

We love our troops and strive to let them know they are loved and respected. If you have a loved one or friend who is currently deployed "in harm's way", please send their mailing address to: TheHugsProject(at)cox.net

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give each volunteer a great big {{{HUG}}}.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

The Hugs Project is dedicated to making sure each and every member of our military feels the love and support from back home. If anyone has a loved one serving far from home during the holidays, you can send the address to: TheHugsProject(at)cox.net and they will receive a special care package as a thank you for their service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I've worked with The Hugs Project for 7 1/2 years as a volunteer. We have no paid staff and our work space is donated. All donated funds go to help our troops.

We send care packages and cooling ties to troops. We love and appreciate all our troops and want them to know America has not
forgotten them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visits from troops when they come to OKC. They make sure they come by to say "thanks". Sometimes they even work with us to make sure the support continues for those still in harm's way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure everyone knows how important support is to our troops.

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored to work with such wonderful people who work extremely hard getting things done for our soldiers in harm way. With the letters and pictures that we get makes us know that what we do give them a little bit of home. Being a Navy wife and a Marine mom (daughter) it make me feel good to be able to do this work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2012

I went to pack a box for my brother 4 years ago and never left. Everyone is a volunteer and we support all branches of the military. We support our troops year round averaging 50 a week and 5000 at Ch... more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have helped The Hugs Project for 6 years, it is a great organization that helps our troops overseas. I started when my brother was deployed and never left, that one box turned into hundreds of boxes for our troops. I love to read the Thank You notes we get back and how much they appreciate the little things we send. Most of the little things we send, we at home take for granted and don't think about being in the middle of nowhere and not having toothpaste or toothbrush. I love working with the other volunteers! We have a great time and able to support our troops!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to get more people involved with volunteering.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2012

I went to pack a box for my brother 4 years ago and never left. Everyone is a volunteer and we support all branches of the military. We support our troops year round averaging 50 a week and 5000 at Christmas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2010

I have been with The Hugs Project since last year and have packed boxes for the troops during Christmas. My brother recently returned home from Iraq and received packages from The Hugs Project. This is a great organization supporting our troops overseas, I plan to continue to help in any way I can by volunteering each week.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My brother has received packages while overseas serving in the military.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

meeting the people who dedicate their time to helping the troops overseas, knowing we are making a difference in the lives of the soldiers overseas.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

fantastic and helpful, they take you right in and make you feel like family.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make sure all soldiers had support from home and we would have the means to pay postage and get merchandise that they need.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work every Thursday and enjoy working with this dedicated group of people. We hope the unique and thoughtful items we include show our appreciation to our Service Men and Women how much we appreciate what they do for us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no suggestions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

One of my customers told me about The Hugs Project just before Christmas, so I took my teenage son to check it out. We found a wonderful group of volunteers, tirelessly organizing and packing and making hand made gifts for our troops. We asked what we could do and next thing we knew the boxes were stacking up. So 3 weeks later when shipping day came we stacked care packages on pallets 6 feet high, thats a little more than 100 per pallet. There were close to 100 pallets that day being sent all over the world., and that was just the 1st shipment. All done with love from Karen and her organization. I've seen Pics of our troops opening them, and the happiness it brings to them while they are so far from home. The best charity I have volunteered at in a long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
June 6, 2013

Loving, generous group. They sent boxes to my son and his men when he was deployed.. The boxes were carefully planned and thought out. All the members are wonderful people. more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely awesome group. All volunteers, so all money donated goes directly to supporting the troops. When my son was deployed to Iraq, they shared packages of love with him and all his buddies. They were a blessing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Never change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Loving, generous group. They sent boxes to my son and his men when he was deployed.. The boxes were carefully planned and thought out. All the members are wonderful people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them unlimited funding!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

The Hugs Project is a group of caring, hard working volunteers. They sent packages to my USMC son when he was in the sand box and just made his day. They truly "put their money, where their mouth is' when it comes to supporting our young men and women in harm's way. Working with them defines troop support to a whole new level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

this organization absolutely rocks! They work very hard to support our troops and always insure that the very best they can do, they deliver to the troops. I have known and worked with them since 2005 and never have I been as impressed with the leadership and dedication of a totally volunteer organization such as this one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 10, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The Hugs Project is an incredible group of volunteers that serve our military men and women. they go beyond the call of duty to see to it that everyone they can reach knows they are appreciated. I am one of those volunteers and also the parent of a Marine. You can't imagine how wonderful it makes your deployed loved one feel when he or she receives a token of appreciation from strangers. The "fall out" from that is that everyone involved - from parents to other volunteers - gets a lift too. So much is negative in our world and this group makes a heroic effort to let our loved ones deployed in often hostile and abrasive situations, know that there are many out there supporting them and appreciating them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my son receiving care packages and enabling his buddies to receive care packages while deployed to the Middle East.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be sure that everyone in the whole country knew about this organization and had the chance to participate in their activities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 3, 2009

I just want to say THANK YOU to The Hugs Project for making meknow that someone back home loves me and respects the job I've been called upon to do for my county. They couldn't have a higher rating... more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Gals in my unit were thrilled anytime we got a box from TheHugsProject. We never knew what to expect inside. They sent lots of great food, letters, fun stuff, toe nail polish ( yes, we had some ladies in our group and it's fun to please the girls), games, DVD's, socks, hair gel, etc.

We were never more excited than when we got a HUGS box. keep up the good work. We're not all home yet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2009

I just want to say THANK YOU to The Hugs Project for making meknow that someone back home loves me and respects the job I've been called upon to do for my county. They couldn't have a higher rating in my book. Is 5 as high as I can go? I want rate them even higher than that. How about a 100 plus? Can I do that? LCpl Justin Manford USMC currently deployed

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

lifting the spirits of THOUSAND of American troops who serve in the Middle East. When we say thank you, they reply, "No need, it's just our thanks to you". They call us heroes but THEY are the heroes. We couldn't do the job 'over there' without them.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

being able to share all my boxes with my buddies. When I tell them someone isn't getting any support from his own family, they adopt him out and he doesn't feel alone after that.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

well, I've never met any of them - we're total strangers and isn't that an amazing thing? I am blown away that they want to help people they will never meet.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

continue save the lives of America's military force by continuing to provide thousands of cooling ties (they call them 'hugs') that reduce body core temps by 5+ degrees. No one need die of heat stroke.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 9, 2013

Good afternoon! Hello! I received your care package this afternoon and wanted to make sure you received my "Thank you!" It was a very welcomed surprise. We don't get very much mail where we are ... more

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was deployed to both Iraq and Afghanistan and the Hugs Project took care of me and my unit both tours. You couldn't ask for a better agency. They really care about all military personnel. Their boxes are filled to overflowing with all kinds of supplies that are hard to get on the other side of the world. It's great to have them on our side.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

couldn't be better!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

Good afternoon!

Hello!

I received your care package this afternoon and wanted to make sure you received my "Thank you!" It was a very welcomed surprise. We don't get very much mail where we are and this made my day. I especially love the 550 paracord bracelet. We hope to get
more of these for the members of my command so don't worry, they definitely let us wear them.

I am currently stationed in Afghanistan. We play board games or read, when we are not on missions. Missions take up most of my time.

Keeping you guys safe at home isn't easy, but I am proud to do it for you. Packages like this from home make me know that you appreciate what we do out here.

Coming from a small town in Maine I really appreciate the support from all of you.

Thank you......everyone.......who helped put this together.

v/r,

Donnie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The best thing that can happen to a troop is to receive love and support from the American public. The Hugs Project goes above and beyond to send us that kind of love. They let us know they care about us and that they realize where their freedoms come from. We receive a lot of letters and they were passed around so that they brought a lot of smiles to many, many faces. Thanks, Hugs Project.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We got boxes while we were overseas. The care packages and letters of support make a big difference in our morale. It's good to know someone cares.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

This group of patriotic folks work without pay to make sure our military's needs are met. They improve morale regardless of what state or branch the young man or woman is from or with. Kudos to The ... more

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What THP does to help and support our military members and there families is amazing to say the least. They certainly get my vote for a top notch nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they all get the recognition they deserve. They are very humble.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 4, 2012

This group of patriotic folks work without pay to make sure our military's needs are met. They improve morale regardless of what state or branch the young man or woman is from or with. Kudos to The Hugs Project,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...18 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers