Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
187 Reviews
1234.978615
Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have personally worked on projects with Karen and am constantly amazed at what she is abled to do for our service men and women. The Hugs Project is a beacon of light among nonprofit agencies and a testament to what a simple idea can blossom into.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
November 5, 2012

The Hugs Project is a group of caring, hard working volunteers. They sent packages to my USMC son when he was in the sand box and just made his day. They truly "put their money, where their mouth is'... more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Loving, generous group. They sent boxes to my son and his men when he was deployed.. The boxes were carefully planned and thought out. All the members are wonderful people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them unlimited funding!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

The Hugs Project is a group of caring, hard working volunteers. They sent packages to my USMC son when he was in the sand box and just made his day. They truly "put their money, where their mouth is' when it comes to supporting our young men and women in harm's way. Working with them defines troop support to a whole new level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

this organization absolutely rocks! They work very hard to support our troops and always insure that the very best they can do, they deliver to the troops. I have known and worked with them since 2005 and never have I been as impressed with the leadership and dedication of a totally volunteer organization such as this one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 10, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The Hugs Project is an incredible group of volunteers that serve our military men and women. they go beyond the call of duty to see to it that everyone they can reach knows they are appreciated. I am one of those volunteers and also the parent of a Marine. You can't imagine how wonderful it makes your deployed loved one feel when he or she receives a token of appreciation from strangers. The "fall out" from that is that everyone involved - from parents to other volunteers - gets a lift too. So much is negative in our world and this group makes a heroic effort to let our loved ones deployed in often hostile and abrasive situations, know that there are many out there supporting them and appreciating them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my son receiving care packages and enabling his buddies to receive care packages while deployed to the Middle East.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be sure that everyone in the whole country knew about this organization and had the chance to participate in their activities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2013

Been a member for about 4 years, even though it is a sweet long distance relationship. At 2:00 AM on Friday Dec. 8th 2012 I was instant messaging with Karen at HUGS in OKC, me in Houston, TX. She sa... more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the wonderful opportunity of working with this group for a few days the first week of December. I drove from Houston to Oklahoma City just to do what I could do to help. I met some of the most wonderful people and I cannot tell you what a great group this is, young and old.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i can't think of anything that is being over looked.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Been a member for about 4 years, even though it is a sweet long distance relationship. At 2:00 AM on Friday Dec. 8th 2012 I was instant messaging with Karen at HUGS in OKC, me in Houston, TX. She said they were sweating bullets packing the planned 5000 care packages out by Dec. 12th. Went to check the mileage, about 400plus. By noon Friday the 9th a friend and I were on our way up there in my RV I had just gotten. I didn't even know how to turn the furnace on in it and that was the 19 degree nights. We got in late Sat and met the bunch on Sunday and volunteered almost everyday until we had to drive back to Houston on Dec. 12th so we missed postal pickup. Most rewarding experience I have ever been a part of. Amazing young and old packing those packages. They wore me out, best tired I have ever had.

Dorinda McKenzie, Houston Texas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

HUGS is AWESOME!!!! My youngest son was deployed and I signed him and a few of his buddies up to receive Care Packages. When the packages arrived my son says that everyone gathered around their beds to see what they'd received. They'd grab something out of it and place the rest in the common areas to be shared.
One young man had no family to support him and my son said he actually had tears in his eyes as he opened his first package. The young man said that receiving that package let him know that there were people who cared if he were lonely, lost, and scared. He says that his box contained a letter thanking him for his service, praising him for being man enough to make the sacrifices he was making, and sending him prayers. He allowed everyone to read it then, he folded it up and put it in a safe place. To this day, he carried it around in his wallet. It's faded and warn from him rereading it so often but his hands still shake when he shows it to people.
But, HUGS didn't stop there. They didn't just "adopt" my son and his buddies, they adopted me as well. Without their love and support I would never have made it through my sons deployment. Mary and Karen checked up on me all the time, asked about my son and his buddies, and they listened to a mother's fears for her child. Without them, I would have never made it through the longest 12 months of my life with my sanity intact.
I can't thank HUGS enough for supporting my son, his buddies, and myself during that deployment. Your support made the sacrifices those young men and women made easier and less lonely, and helped ease my fears. Please keep up the good work!!! What you do touches the lives and hearts of many. THANK YOU!!!! And God Bless you all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

I was so impressed with this organization that I started a chapter here in western Kentucky. The work that is done by the home group is amazing. A LOT of work and dedication is needed to run a group l... more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group of people are amazing in how much they serve our men/women in harm's way. So many men/women have smiled simply because of the love and support they have shared.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was so impressed with this organization that I started a chapter here in western Kentucky. The work that is done by the home group is amazing. A LOT of work and dedication is needed to run a group like this when EVERYONE is a volunteer. Not too hard when someone is getting paid to do the work but much different when it's done 100% with love. There have been MANY of our heroes who have told us the stories of how much it meant to them to get the love and support that goes into every box sent. Even after they come home it sometimes makes a difference. Just knowing someone cares is enough to get you thru a bad day over there. I love our heroes and I love The Hugs Project for doing what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2011

I've worked with this group for almost 7 years. We're all volunteers. No one takes a salary. I was a lonely sailor onboard the USS Independence in 1990. I picked an "Any Servicemember" letter ou... more

June 5, 2013

When I served in the Navy during Desert Shield and Storm, care packages were the best part of ANY day. That hasn't changed.

We are making a difference in the quality of American lives and it feels good. Come join us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2011

I've worked with this group for almost 7 years. We're all volunteers. No one takes a salary.

I was a lonely sailor onboard the USS Independence in 1990. I picked an "Any Servicemember" letter out of a stack in the morale office so I know the great feeling support from strangers
brings. I want to pass that on.

Our troops let us know that this project affects the way they look at things. One young Marine wrote, "You are rocking our world". Does it get any better?

Well, for me it did...the great feeling I got from my Desert Shield pen pal is one reason I asked her to marry me over 18 years ago. My wife, Karen is the driving force behind The Hugs Project and she's still the love of my life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It's great to read the thank you notes our troops send back. Even better when they look us up when they come home to OKC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure Karen gets more rest. She never sleeps!

June 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2012

The Hugs Project is dedicated to making sure each and every member of our military feels the love and support from back home. If anyone has a loved one serving far from home during the holidays, you... more

June 5, 2013

We love our troops and strive to let them know they are loved and respected. If you have a loved one or friend who is currently deployed "in harm's way", please send their mailing address to: TheHugsProject(at)cox.net

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give each volunteer a great big {{{HUG}}}.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

The Hugs Project is dedicated to making sure each and every member of our military feels the love and support from back home. If anyone has a loved one serving far from home during the holidays, you can send the address to: TheHugsProject(at)cox.net and they will receive a special care package as a thank you for their service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I've worked with The Hugs Project for 7 1/2 years as a volunteer. We have no paid staff and our work space is donated. All donated funds go to help our troops.

We send care packages and cooling ties to troops. We love and appreciate all our troops and want them to know America has not
forgotten them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visits from troops when they come to OKC. They make sure they come by to say "thanks". Sometimes they even work with us to make sure the support continues for those still in harm's way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure everyone knows how important support is to our troops.

May 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is the best organization that I have worked with because the volunteers are so dedicated towards their cause. I don't think any money goes to "administrative costs" because all the volunteers reach deep into their pockets to pay for their high costs. The military are experiencing reduced supplies and they really deserve so very much. I pray for the service members who are so appreciative of their Hugs boxes and I hope they return safe. I am very grateful to the Hugs group for what they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I have been associated with the Hugs Project early on, since I don't know when exactly. I can't even remember where we met, it wasn't at the current Crossroads Mall though. I've volunteered time, money and talent since I first answered a newspaper article at its early beginnings. You see I did not know anyone in the military, but after reading the article I was so moved to do something for the troops, might have been Desert Storm. I haven't been as active as in the beginning because of raising my granddaughter, but have become more so because my granddaughter, age 7, can help as well. The 2012 Christmas campaign was memorable for her because she colored and wrote messages on the care packages. She even got a glimpse of her artwork when the local television station aired the event. She is always asking to go to the Hugs Project so she can help. Karen and Ray work Hugs Project 24 hours a day with only admiration, respect and love from the troops and members as payment for service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

AFTER A HARD DAY OF WORK I GET A UNKNOW CARE PACKAGE FROM THIS LOVING GROUP OF AMERICAN HEROS, THE HUGS PROJECT. I DID NOT ASK FOR ANYTHING OR KNOW THEM BUT THEY SENT ME GOOD STUFF I DID NEED AND SOME OF MY FELLOW DEVIL DOGS. THIS LOVING GROUP OF OKIES REALLY KNOWS HOW TO MAKE A GREATFUL NATION PROUD TO SERVE A GIVING GOD TO SOME MANY WITH NOTHING AND HERE I STAND GIVING IT BACK WITH MY FELLOW AMERICANS AND YES THE BAD GUYS. AND THE LOOK ON THEIR FACE, AS IF THEY THINK WE WERE GOING TO DO BAD THINGS TO THEM AFTER WE CATCH THEM. LORD CONTINUE TO BEST OUR COUNTRY AND THIS LOVING GROUP OF AMERICANS THE HUGS PROJECT. AMERICA BLESS GOD! SSGT TED KREY SEMPERFI

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers