Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 8, 2012

I have donated my time and money to HUGE Theater in Uptown. They are a fantastic community of some of the most talented people you will ever meet. Never have I failed to attend and not be in tears fro... more

July 17, 2013

Huge theater is by far the best place to go any night of the week for amazing improv shows at extremely reasonable prices. Want to learn improv have some of the best improvisers in the state teach you! They not only provide great entertainment, but they teach classes, and give back to the community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2012

I have donated my time and money to HUGE Theater in Uptown. They are a fantastic community of some of the most talented people you will ever meet. Never have I failed to attend and not be in tears from laughing so hard. Not only that they have the most dedicated volunteers who work extremely hard to make HUGE a home for everyone. From the Bearded Men running the bar, to the amazingly friendly chipper people working the front desk. HUGE Theater is the best place to go to have an inexpensive night out with great laughs and a crisp cold beer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

Huge delivers the alternative to at-home commercial entertainment. The variety of style, themes and (insert a suggestion) engages me beyond the pop culture of today. It's a pleasure to meet the people of Huge and share their energy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

HUGE is my very favorite place to be in the Twin Cities. I love theater and when it comes to improv theater it just doesn't get any better than HUGE. They have some of the most talented people I have ever seen on their stage. It's different every time, but there IS one constant: It is always amazing. Also, it's super cheap - 5 or 10 bucks for a night of perfect entertainment - it doesn't get much better than that!

I've brought a variety of people with me, from friends from all over to my parents and my sister's Bachelorette Party and each and every time it was a success. I have yet to bring someone who afterwards says they did not enjoy it.

These guys are just doing such a wonderfully amazing job both on and off-stage. The atmosphere is welcoming, heartfelt and friendly. The volunteers who work there are open for conversation and make everything to make everyone feel appreciated and at home. And once you know that they are volunteers who do not get paid a cent, your amazement just grows. And on stage I have seen the widest variety of shows, from musical improv to solo to Film Noir-inspired and political shows, from the all stars at Show X to the Newbies at Space Jam. It's different every time and I never ceased to discover new nuances.

The tips ask for criticism too, but I have none. I'm just proud of the people that run HUGE and I will always keep coming back and support them because they have enriched my life with so many wonderful experiences.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the joy I get simply from walking into the building, in giddy anticipation of what might happen that night.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start paying the volunteers. But such is the plan already, once the funds are available.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Their constant need for money to pay the rent and keep shows affordable.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Reminders that the Theater was tight on cash.

What would you tell others about this organization?

To go and see for themselves to understand how wonderful their work is.

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

I love HUGE Theater. It is a wonderful improv theater and school. It's always fun to hear what's new shows are going on at HUGE. HUGE Theater is also the home-base of the Twin Cities Improv Festival, which showcases local improv groups, as well as, bringing in improv groups from all over the US. With their weekly show Improv A-Go-Go, HUGE Theater gives opportunities to established and new improv groups to perform. Since opening in 2010, it has added a new air of excitement and vibrancy to the Twin Cities improv community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

I have been a donor and a customer. Their shows are amazing and provide people with a low-cost, highly enjoyable entertainment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2011

I am so grateful to have Huge Theater, in my neighborhood especially, but in the Twin Cities in general. A welcome addition to the thriving TC performing arts scene, Huge Theater provides supplementary performance/instruction in improvisational theater to its well-established peers, the Brave New Workshop, Comedy Sportz, and Stevie Ray's. But Huge also provides a complement to these institutions as well, by giving a home to performances almost every night that we weren't seeing as frequently OR for as low a price before Huge opened.

Add to that the classes that Huge offers, ranging from the basics to advanced with improvisers that have experience from all over the nation. PLUS "play days" like Improv Fight Club or drop-in classes at $10 a pop. Huge makes improvisational theater even more accessible to everyone (even to youth!) and that is what makes it different than other institutions in town.

The performances I've seen at Huge have featured improvisers of all experience levels. This is encouraging for a beginner like myself; I get to believe that I too can soon perform at Huge (which I can - through applying for the Improv-A-Go-Go lottery!), while also witnessing the mastery of long-time improv experts. Plus, I believe ALL shows at Huge are $5! There's just no excuse to not go see great improv ALL THE TIME!

I also really love the special events held at Huge, like the Twin Cities Tiny Funny Women Fesitval. Five hours of awesome, hilarious women talking about comedy, with a couple of insightful "lectures," and workshops by aforementioned improv masters made for an extremely enjoyable day. And it was FREE (well, we all brought something to the potluck).

I adore Huge. I have donated a few times and plan on donating again, as well as volunteering, performing, and hopefully soon becoming a student!

Huge

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the performances I've seen and the events I've attended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None yet!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers