Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Write A Review
July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

To me, Huge Theater is the most approachable, accessible and entertaining venue in all of the Twin Cities. From the management to the performers to the volunteers, everyone is doing it because they love improv and want to share it with the world. It really is a great group of genuine people coming together for a common cause, and that's to make you laugh.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

HUGE Theater is an awesome place that provides an opportunity for improvisational actors to get up on stage and give improv a whirl. It also does incredible work in furthering the Twin Cities' exposure to great improv, thereby furthering our claim to fame as the "mini-Apple" in terms of theater and arts. Well done HUGE!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

HUGE Improv theater is an artist led non profit company, dedicated to being awesome. Long Form Improv finally has a home in Minneapolis and it couldn't be happier. You can tell by the awesome way it lives, breathes, and cultivates creativity each and every day inside HUGE. Whether you are a first time improver, a seasoned vet or somehere in between, HUGE is the place to be. The first thing you will notice when you enter HUGE, is that someone will be nice to you. Truly! Not "Minnesota" nice just plain nice. Smiles, welcomes and thank you's are all given out fast and freely at HUGE. This niceness encourages a sense of community a place where you can feel free to be yourself and to believe that that is good enough. This is escpecially helpful when you are a nervous new student, not knowing what to expect, questioning if you are good enough, quick enough, smart enough. One smile from Jill, Butch or Nels let's you know that it will be okay, all they ask is that you bring a willingness to play and to accept the possibilities. HUGE also brings in visiting artists, to hold workshops which is invaluable to Minnesota improvers, who may not be able to travel to train. HUGE also gives back to the community by holding improv sessions all over the metro, to those that need some good cheer. So, next time you want to laugh, learn and feel a part of an awesome human experience, check out HUGE Improv Theater and get ready to smile.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

HUGE Improv Theater has been on my mind since it opened a year and some change ago. I was living in Korea, performing with Seoul City Improv, but I was rooting for my hometown improv theater with all I had. I watched as people donated time, effort, money, consultation, and optimism in droves to get the theater opened. After returning from Korea I immediately went to HUGE and asked to volunteer. They said yes! Hurrah! It's been a pleasure volunteering as a Technician and Box Office Attendant at HUGE. Everyone is playful, has fun and wants nothing more than for the theater to succeed and grow the improv audience in Minneapolis. We've made good progress so far with good people, but we have a lot of work to do. I'm happy I have a chance to help fantastic people doing wonderful things.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the happy faces leaving the theater after a fun evening of improv.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase communication between all volunteers. More effectively utilize the strengths of volunteers in generating and implementing ideas that can help the theater to become more well-known.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Come up with ways that make the volunteers feel like they're a part of the theater and not just helping keep certain aspects of the theater staffed.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met many new people who perform and attend improv. A lot of them are weirdos ;) but they're fun.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I always feel good after volunteering at HUGE. Getting to watch performances and meet new people who love improv is a lot of fun.

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Huge Theater is such an amazing place. Not one person working at Huge is working for money. The reason they are there is because they truly care about the art of improv and they care about the improv community. I see many of the same people there every week performing, teaching classes, cleaning the bathrooms, just because they love the art of improv. The Huge community is extremely kind and welcoming. I have been a patron at Huge for quite some time and just recently I started volunteering. As I worked at the box office, all of the board members stopped by to check how things were going. They made sure I felt welcome and comfortable in that environment. There are so many different people who came through Huge's doors that night and everyone of them left with a smile on their face. It is amazing to see so many people working together to entertain people and make them laugh. It has quickly become my favorite place to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

HUGE Theater is a theater space dedicated to the art of improv - - the art of creating instant theater. It's an art form that takes agreement from both the performer (improv is based on the idea of "Yes, And" - - acceptance of an idea and then the adding of information) and the audience (they have to Yes And the performer and take a step away from themselves and believe.) This agreement creates community, and a wonderful community has formed at HUGE. I volunteer as a performer at HUGE, and I've been lucky enough to experience some of my most exciting and surprising moments on stage. It's a safe space to explore, and we're lucky to have it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Huge theater's presence in Minneapolis has made a tremendous difference in diversifying and expanding the improv theater scene. I teach improv at another theater in town and I see my students directly benefit from Huge - both from watching other improvisers and from the many more opportunities to perform that exist because of Huge. It's hard to imagine the town before Huge even though it's only existed for about a year and a half. It took me a while to realize that my students' rapid improvement wasn't because of something especially clever I was doing, it was because they were working on their craft outside of class at Huge. Before Huge, there was no opportunity like that. Huge's impact ripples outward beyond the immediate audience and performers on a given night to increase the overall quality of the improv and improvisers in the Twin Cities. Thank you Huge!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Huge Theater is amazing. Every night is an amazing improv performance, but the great thing is Improv A-go-go on Sundays. Every week, they give a new and local improv groups a chance to perform on stage; the same stage that is filled later in the week with the best and brightest improv performers in the Twin Cities. The community that HUGE Theater has created in Minneapolis is great; everyone is friendly, welcoming, and a lot of fun. Not only is a great 'nonprofit,' but Huge Theater is a a great place to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

When HUGE Improv Theater first opened, I was beyond ecstatic to have a place to perform. But, beyond that, I was overjoyed to have a place for the improv community to gather. As a performer and donor, I appreciate what HUGE offers, both to the audiences that visit six nights a week and to the artistic community they inspire and invite to play on their stage.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Huge Improv is a great non profit Theater in Minneapolis, MN. They have opened the door for so many improv performers. Personally for me, they have allowed me to have a space to explore, practice and perform. I have taken classes from them, that have really helped me grow as a performer. There was a woman in one of my classes who was taking the class so she could be a better manager at her store. That is why I love improv so much, because you can use the skills you learn as a performer to better your life off the stage.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers