Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

HUGE Improv Theater has been on my mind since it opened a year and some change ago. I was living in Korea, performing with Seoul City Improv, but I was rooting for my hometown improv theater with all I had. I watched as people donated time, effort, money, consultation, and optimism in droves to get the theater opened. After returning from Korea I immediately went to HUGE and asked to volunteer. They said yes! Hurrah! It's been a pleasure volunteering as a Technician and Box Office Attendant at HUGE. Everyone is playful, has fun and wants nothing more than for the theater to succeed and grow the improv audience in Minneapolis. We've made good progress so far with good people, but we have a lot of work to do. I'm happy I have a chance to help fantastic people doing wonderful things.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the happy faces leaving the theater after a fun evening of improv.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase communication between all volunteers. More effectively utilize the strengths of volunteers in generating and implementing ideas that can help the theater to become more well-known.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Come up with ways that make the volunteers feel like they're a part of the theater and not just helping keep certain aspects of the theater staffed.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met many new people who perform and attend improv. A lot of them are weirdos ;) but they're fun.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I always feel good after volunteering at HUGE. Getting to watch performances and meet new people who love improv is a lot of fun.

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

I love HUGE Theater. It is a wonderful improv theater and school. It's always fun to hear what's new shows are going on at HUGE. HUGE Theater is also the home-base of the Twin Cities Improv Festival, which showcases local improv groups, as well as, bringing in improv groups from all over the US. With their weekly show Improv A-Go-Go, HUGE Theater gives opportunities to established and new improv groups to perform. Since opening in 2010, it has added a new air of excitement and vibrancy to the Twin Cities improv community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Huge Theater is such an amazing place. Not one person working at Huge is working for money. The reason they are there is because they truly care about the art of improv and they care about the improv community. I see many of the same people there every week performing, teaching classes, cleaning the bathrooms, just because they love the art of improv. The Huge community is extremely kind and welcoming. I have been a patron at Huge for quite some time and just recently I started volunteering. As I worked at the box office, all of the board members stopped by to check how things were going. They made sure I felt welcome and comfortable in that environment. There are so many different people who came through Huge's doors that night and everyone of them left with a smile on their face. It is amazing to see so many people working together to entertain people and make them laugh. It has quickly become my favorite place to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

HUGE provides top-notch entertainment for a reasonable price and is successfully keeping live theater alive in Minneapolis. I started seeing shows for entertainment and it looked like so much fun, I started taking the classes they offered! I didn't know if a non-profit could offer quality education, but all three classes I've taken have blown me away. I benefited so much from the classes and really felt like I was getting plugged in to the improv community, I decided to volunteer by selling tickets and being part of street teams. I just had to do something to give back to the organization that has benefitted me so much. A lot of people have a hobby that they enjoy, but I have one that not only can I enjoy doing (improv), but others can enjoy watching me do it too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

All volunteer, not for profit theater. Rock solid improv for rock bottom prices. I honestly do not know what I would do with most of my time, were it not for HUGE theater.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

HUGE Theater is a theater space dedicated to the art of improv - - the art of creating instant theater. It's an art form that takes agreement from both the performer (improv is based on the idea of "Yes, And" - - acceptance of an idea and then the adding of information) and the audience (they have to Yes And the performer and take a step away from themselves and believe.) This agreement creates community, and a wonderful community has formed at HUGE. I volunteer as a performer at HUGE, and I've been lucky enough to experience some of my most exciting and surprising moments on stage. It's a safe space to explore, and we're lucky to have it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Huge theater's presence in Minneapolis has made a tremendous difference in diversifying and expanding the improv theater scene. I teach improv at another theater in town and I see my students directly benefit from Huge - both from watching other improvisers and from the many more opportunities to perform that exist because of Huge. It's hard to imagine the town before Huge even though it's only existed for about a year and a half. It took me a while to realize that my students' rapid improvement wasn't because of something especially clever I was doing, it was because they were working on their craft outside of class at Huge. Before Huge, there was no opportunity like that. Huge's impact ripples outward beyond the immediate audience and performers on a given night to increase the overall quality of the improv and improvisers in the Twin Cities. Thank you Huge!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Huge Theater is amazing. Every night is an amazing improv performance, but the great thing is Improv A-go-go on Sundays. Every week, they give a new and local improv groups a chance to perform on stage; the same stage that is filled later in the week with the best and brightest improv performers in the Twin Cities. The community that HUGE Theater has created in Minneapolis is great; everyone is friendly, welcoming, and a lot of fun. Not only is a great 'nonprofit,' but Huge Theater is a a great place to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

This place has excellent shows 6 nights a week. Check out SHOW X and Star Trek...SOO good! It's a cheap date night and its better than a movie!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

This theater is a great venue for promoting the theatrical arts 7 days a week. The performances are top-notch, even the student performances, letting me know that the quality of work being taught is raising the bar for this area in improvisational theater. As a professional in this field, I would highly recommend considering Huge Theater for any awards which recognize the arts or non-profits! Thank you for your time!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers