Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
123.8181845
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

My wife and I recently adopted our new friend, Sadie, from the Houston SPCA. She is a 6 yr old chocolate lab, who has brought us nothing but joy. We made several trips to the shelter and visited with numerous dogs. Each time the facility was exceptionally clean and the staff and volunteers were courteous and helpful. On one visit, we got to watch a dog we were interested in, participate in a supervised play group. It was obvious to us that the animals are well cared for. I would highly recommend the Houston SPCA to anyone looking to open their home to an animal in need.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

The Houston SPCA is committed to giving all animals a second chance at life! They are the only agency providing a 24-hour animal rescue ambulance. They investigated over 7,000 cases of abuse and neglect last year. They save every adoptable animal. I support their fantastic work!!!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I really love small mammals and was able to adopt "Fluffy" from the Houston SPCA last July. She has been a wonderful addition to our family and the adoption process was really easy to go through. All you do is find the animal you like, interact with them with the help of volunteers or staff, and then if you want to add them to your family you take their information to the front desk. The front desk staff are really nice and help you with the adoption paperwork. Then you can take your new pet home! No waiting!

I have also seen their updates on animals who have been abused and can say that they really do a great job of rehabilitating animals who have been in really tough situations. They always find a really good home for the animals that need it most.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I have volunteered as a foster parent, I've adopted and I'm a donor - all because I'm committed to the mission of this organization and the good people who work there to achieve it. The staff are committed to excellent client service, the kennels are clean, the volunteers are happy and the organization is fiscally responsible with my donations. Their ambulance team has responded so many times when I've called - no matter what time of day or night and their cruelty investigators are always helping people and pets. I highly recommend!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I have occasionally found newborn possum and squirrels that were seemingly abandoned by their mothers. The Houston SPCA wildlife center always takes them in and nurtures them. Houston is fortunate to have such a facility.
July 31, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 31, 2014

I have donated to the Houston SPCA a number of times because I know of the remarkable work they do in helping animals in need of loving homes. And, not just cats and dogs, which many smaller groups work to save, but also large animals and wildlife of all types.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2014

The Houston SPCA provides the most comprehensive array of animal adoption, shelter, rescue, rehabilitation and other programs and services in the Gulf Coast area. Their programs and services include sheltering, adoptions, foster care, spay/neuter of all adopted animals, cruelty investigations, disaster relief, rescue, and recovery efforts (resulting from hurricanes, floods and wildfires and oil spill response through their subsidiary The Wildlife Center of Texas), a 24-hour injured animal rescue ambulance, lost and found pet e-bulletin board, humane education including summer camps for kids, PetSafe (providing free boarding for the pets of family violence victims while the individuals are seeking shelter), pet training classes, and more. They are committed to all animals and place over 11,000 animals into loving homes each year. I am a donor and adopted my wonderful dog, Sandy, and my cat Sugar Cookie from the Houston SPCA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery so I could donate more!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They are in it for the money, period. They take in animals that will give them a big news story and then get some big donor money. They hang on to these animals despite other facilities better equipped to handle them offering to help. I am talking about Bears. The director called me to ask what to feed them!!! Why take an animal if you don't have a clue what to do?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

May 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Guidestar website says that the Houston SPCA was given the "GuideStar Seal" because they are "committed to transparency". This is not true. I have personally asked the Houston SPCA to provide their intake and outcome records. I have asked them twice yet they refuse to even respond. Even their own employees are not allowed to see the records so they have no idea how many animals are being saved or killed. I am sure that the HSPCA does not want to be transparent with people because their kill rate is as high as it was during the 2005 Mayor's Task Force report. However, this organization takes in many millions of dollars in donations each year. They should be required by law to tell the community exactly what they are doing with all of that money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the director and replace her with someone who is dedicated to saving lives, instead of dedicated to increasing their bank accounts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They have a high kill rate, especially considering that they could say no to intakes and stop killing for space.

November 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Houston SPCA routinely kills all pit bull and pit bull mixes, yet says on their website they are 100% no kill of adoptable animals. There is no good reason to still be saying that an entire breed of dog is not adoptable. They also have a higher than average kill rate for pets in their care. I would just like to see honesty on their website, as I know they have a difficult job.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Trying to find a lost dog, they euthanzed it because it was a pit bull and I found it 1 day too late.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change leadership and develop better policies to save more animals than the organization euthanzed.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers