Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12.6345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2014

The Houston SPCA provides the most comprehensive array of animal adoption, shelter, rescue, rehabilitation and other programs and services in the Gulf Coast area. Their programs and services include sheltering, adoptions, foster care, spay/neuter of all adopted animals, cruelty investigations, disaster relief, rescue, and recovery efforts (resulting from hurricanes, floods and wildfires and oil spill response through their subsidiary The Wildlife Center of Texas), a 24-hour injured animal rescue ambulance, lost and found pet e-bulletin board, humane education including summer camps for kids, PetSafe (providing free boarding for the pets of family violence victims while the individuals are seeking shelter), pet training classes, and more. They are committed to all animals and place over 11,000 animals into loving homes each year. I am a donor and adopted my wonderful dog, Sandy, and my cat Sugar Cookie from the Houston SPCA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery so I could donate more!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They are in it for the money, period. They take in animals that will give them a big news story and then get some big donor money. They hang on to these animals despite other facilities better equipped to handle them offering to help. I am talking about Bears. The director called me to ask what to feed them!!! Why take an animal if you don't have a clue what to do?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

May 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Guidestar website says that the Houston SPCA was given the "GuideStar Seal" because they are "committed to transparency". This is not true. I have personally asked the Houston SPCA to provide their intake and outcome records. I have asked them twice yet they refuse to even respond. Even their own employees are not allowed to see the records so they have no idea how many animals are being saved or killed. I am sure that the HSPCA does not want to be transparent with people because their kill rate is as high as it was during the 2005 Mayor's Task Force report. However, this organization takes in many millions of dollars in donations each year. They should be required by law to tell the community exactly what they are doing with all of that money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the director and replace her with someone who is dedicated to saving lives, instead of dedicated to increasing their bank accounts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They have a high kill rate, especially considering that they could say no to intakes and stop killing for space.

November 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Houston SPCA routinely kills all pit bull and pit bull mixes, yet says on their website they are 100% no kill of adoptable animals. There is no good reason to still be saying that an entire breed of dog is not adoptable. They also have a higher than average kill rate for pets in their care. I would just like to see honesty on their website, as I know they have a difficult job.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Trying to find a lost dog, they euthanzed it because it was a pit bull and I found it 1 day too late.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change leadership and develop better policies to save more animals than the organization euthanzed.

February 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The Houston SPCA is a wonderful organization that has helped so many animals. They have gone above and beyond the call of duty! Thanks to the amazing work that they do, my family was able to adopt a dog and give it a lovely home and second chance at a happy life. The Houston SPCA offers a lot more than other shelters when you adopt an animal. Our dog was spayed, tested for heart worms, updated on shots, micro chipped, give a free vet follow up visit, a free information class on behaviors and training, a bag of dog food and a pet kit with important information. The Houston SPCA offers affordable obedience classes for all pet owners, regardless of where you got your pet from. They really reach out to the community to help not just animals, but their owners as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting a dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out more of the services provided.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers