Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My son has been a member of The Houston Boychoir for the past 2 years, and has had a truly wonderful experience. The HBC is an organization that cares deeply about developing young boys to be well-rounded individuals and leaders of tomorrow. Through teaching them how to sing exquisitely and as a group, they cultivate in them not only a great love for music, but also a sense of discipline, strong character, professionalism, teamwork and perseverance. Such attributes are greatly needed in today’s world, and are best taught when children are young. That the boys enjoy their participation in the HBC as well as develop into men of character is best exemplified by the numbers of boys that continue on for many years, as well as some who, as adults, return to sing with the younger boys for their special public performances. If you have not heard the HBC sing, it should be on your ‘must-see’ list. The HBC and their staff are to be commended for the fine job they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with the Houston Boychoir staff for the past three years as a volunteer graphic artist. They are always a pleasure to work with, open to new ideas, and very attentiv... more

April 6, 2013

My son joined the prep choir when he was in 4th grade. He is now getting ready to enter high school next year. Of all the creative groups we have been a part of since we relocated to Texas from New York, Houston Boychoir has been the most impactful on my son. It has taught him to be part of a group without diminishing his individuality. It has not only provided him with a music education but has given him a sense of purpose and a sense of belonging. Through his association with Houston Boychoir he has become more worldly. The older boys act as models for the younger ones. My son has been mentored and is at the same time a mentor. When their voices change and they must move on, they leave with a sense of accomplishment and a strength as a leader and an individual which I don't see nurtured in any other organization that he is so involved with.

The music is beautiful and the camaraderie is uncomparable. They may move on when their voices change but the hearts remain. Those that stay on through adulthood as Men of the Houston Boychoir prove that it makes a long lasting impression on those that commit to the group. I am so greatful that my son has been a part of the choir and will remain part of the choir for years to come.

I would recommend this group to anyone with a son who wants to sing and wants to be part of something really special.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working with the Houston Boychoir staff for the past three years as a volunteer graphic artist. They are always a pleasure to work with, open to new ideas, and very attentive. In addition to being a volunteer I am also a parent of a boy who has benefitted from being part of such a special organization. He has grown as an individual and learned to be part of an amazing group. He has had opportunities to try his hand a something he had an interest in and now has become a part of his life. Thank you for providing my son and me with an opportunitiy to partake in supporting the such a fine arts program in Houston.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My oldest son has been a member of the HBC for 2 years and my younger son has been a member for 1 year. I am very impressed by the professionalism of the choir overall. Both of my sons have matured and grown so much since they have been in the HBC. The teachers and staff are fine musicians that expect the best from the boys. They are firm, courteous, respectful and very punctual. My boys always return home very happy and excited after each rehearsals. They have made close friendships with their classmates. I believe the HBC complements beautifully their piano studies. The HBC is a first class organization that fosters a positive and professional environment for boys. I would strongly recommend it, not only for the musical growth of your son, but also for their personal growth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son was a member of the choir for five years. The Houston Boy Choir expanded his passion for singing and music. The organization helped him become more independent, organized, and goal oriented. The Houston Boy Choir also inspired tolerance and a true sense of community. The experience for my son was invaluable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

We are so fortunate to have been turned on to this organization by our son’s elementary school music teacher. It is everything she said it was and more! I had not heard of it at that time, but I could tell she was very passionate in her recommendation of the organization. I decided to check into it. Everyone I spoke with had nothing but good things to say about the group, its staff and what it would do for the development of our child. It has done all that and more. He loves going to practice, he loves performing and he loves the summer camp and tour. The directors have turned him into a very confident performer and this transcends into other areas of his life such as public speaking. He doesn’t think twice or fear speaking in front of his whole school or even singing the National Anthem (solo) in front of them.
Several months ago, during my son’s saxophone lesson, he kept asking his saxophone teacher to explain to him how he could identify what key a song was in by simply looking at the music. I was curious where the desire to know this came from….he said he wanted to understand this concept better because his choir director was always talking about it and he wanted to know where she was coming from during rehearsals. While she really had a lot of saxophone to cover because he had a performance coming up, she relented and so ensued a 20 minute discussion of which I could not follow. He is 11. I am 45.
I believe they must also receive tips on how to become fine young men in addition to tips on how to sing and become fine young performers. When my son has less than admirable table manners, I have asked him on many occasions “would you do that if (insert important dignitary here) were with you right now?” It hasn’t worked…as is evident by how many dignitaries I have gone through….until…..I mentioned his choir director’s name. He stopped dead in his tracks, froze, and said “ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh….now I get it!” I haven’t had to use another name since.
But the most powerful endorsement of this organization probably comes from said choir member’s younger brother, who is waiting patiently to be old enough to join the group. He has sat through many practices and performances, patiently…., watching…., waiting…. and passing the time until he too, can one day join the ranks. In the meantime, he satisfies himself with listening to his older brother and trying to memorize what he hears and then runs along and sings what he can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son sang in both the Preparatory Choir and the Chamber Choir of Houston Boychoir, and he still participates at the Winter and Spring Concerts as a member of the "Men" of the Houston Boychoir. This organization was invaluable to him; he wasn't interested in sports or in other "group activities" such as Boy Scouts, but by being a member of HBC he had the opportunity to learn about interacting with other young men, meeting his responsibilities, and working toward shared goals. In addition, he received excellent musical training which increased his passion for music and encouraged him to continue to study music even though he has now graduated from high school. Our family is convinced that he would not have been as successful as he has been in music and in life if he not been given the opportunities afforded him by HBC. It's a fabulous organization run by amazing people!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching my son grow as a person and as a musician. We consider HBC to be one of the main reasons for his success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing, except to be sure that the people running the organization received recognition and support, especially from the parents whose sons participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

HBC was recommended to us by my son's elementary school choir teacher, and by one of my co-workers whose son was a member. I later found out that my cousin participated in the early years of the organization.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

HBC has encouraged my husband and me to allow our son to pursue his passion for music, and has offered a number of ways to make this possible. We made friends with other parents in the group, and these relationships have continued.

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our two sons were in Houston Boy Choir 2011-2012. We were utterly delighted with HBC and wished we had found it sooner. The professionalism and dedication of the staff really impressed us. The boys had fun learning, performing, and making new friends. They had tremendous respect for their teachers. HBC not only helps boys develop musically, but also to mature into gentlemen. We were also encouraged by the commitment of the other parents to their sons and to the HBC. Unfortunately, we moved from Houston in summer 2012; hopefully we can find an organization of similar caliber near our new home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Our eldest son has been a member of the Houston Boychoir for three years and every year, he is challenged to grow both as a person and musically. The choir directors and staff really understand boys and meet them where they are and motivate them forward.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization has been the most Amazing & Wonderful experience for my son! He started in third grade and is now moving on to his Junior yr. In High School. He continues to learn and grow in his Vocal ability. He even volunteers with the Prep Choir. It has been a life-changing experience for our family. My son has even participated with the Choir singing at Carnegie Hall! He has grown from a Boy into a Wonderful Young Man with the influence of this organization. The staff are professionals and are dedicated to these young men. The Houston Boychoir is not just another non-profit, they become family to the boys and their families! Thank you to the staff of this great organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Houston Boychoir sings at Gloria Dei Lutheran Church in Nassau Bay, TX each year where they hold their annual retreat. They are a remarkable group of young men whose singing lifts us to the heavens with their pure tones and outstanding pitch. It is a huge blessing to our congregation and we are very thankful that they come to sing for us and lead us in worship.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have blessed us with faithful and inspiriational singing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...Donate lots of money to their cause if I were a rich man.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

They have ties to our congregation.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

They have inspired heavenly worship in spirit and truth.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers