Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2012

My experience with this organization began six years ago. At his music teacher's invitation and unbeknownst to me, my son had auditioned for the Houston Boychoir at school one afternoon. He was so ver... more

April 6, 2013

Houston Boychoir has had a profound impact on my son's life. He is more confident, self-assured and happier for his 7 years of association with the choir. Houston Boychoir brings discipline, music education, teamwork and a sense of belonging to the boy. This nonprofit is a vehicle for self-expression and creatively contributes to local, intrastate, national, and international individuals and communites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with this organization began six years ago. At his music teacher's invitation and unbeknownst to me, my son had auditioned for the Houston Boychoir at school one afternoon. He was so very excited and looked forward to receiving the letter with the audition results. Tears came to my eyes as I reviewed the Boychoir's website, listening to the beauty of the boys' voices. It felt like a gift from heaven. Six years later I remain ever so grateful for the experiences given to my son. The choir brings so much beautiful music- and so much joy- into our household. He loves to sing! We reap many benefits of being part of a professional boys' choir- comraderie, vocal training, musical education, social manners, professional opportunities with other arts' organizations, television performance, touring and singing at professional meetings, civic ceremonies, galas, schools, churches, concerts, retirement communities, sports' games, weddings and funerals. It is a worthy endeavor. I do everything that I can do to help promote the Houston Boychoir. I whole-heartedly endorse this organization for any young boy who loves music!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son has been with houston boychoir for two years and it has been a great experience my son has gained social and leaderships skills and we are looking forward to another great year

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Besides the gift of music , our son gained social and leaderships skills that his mother and I felt were/are very important. I highly recommend the HBC as a parent, volunteer and fan !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son sang with the Houston Boychoir for four years and had an incredible experience. The director, Carole Nelson, is an outstanding teacher and sets the bar high for the boys. The boys learn to sing in various languages, they are taught how to project a confident and professional image when they perform, and they are always expected to exhibit their best behavior and manners. They sing at weddings, they travel, and sing at multiple venues. Their reputation precedes them and they have been invited to sing at many events both locally and out of town. I cannot adequately described all my son learned with being a part of this organization. We are thankful for all the organization did to mold him at this young age. The choir is also composed for a diverse group of boys from different backgrounds and schools and they all learn so much from each other as well. All the boys who are involved have "experiences of a lifetime" that will have a lasting impact in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Both of my boys sing in HBC, where the music learning is combined with building good characters and life-long friendship development. The uniqueness about HBC is the group learning synergy with a clear common interest of singing. Thanks to the wonderful and dedicated teachers and staff, HBC creates a fun learning environment that brings out the desire of “working harder for better” in these otherwise naughty boys. I think HBC provides an opportunity for the boys to feel their accomplishment after practice and practice, and I believe this process will drive future achievement in their life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Houston BoyChoir is an amazing organization. They manage to take rambuctious young boys and turn them into fine young gentlemen. More importantly, week after week, they train the boys on classical music as well as global and modern tunes. While doing this, they train their voices to sing in harmony and the result is a choir of angels when they perform. And when they perform, all those busy, fidgeting young boys become perfectly still, poised and professional as they bring tears to the eyes of any audience. The organization is outstanding for building self-confidence in their members, providing beautiful music to the community, and enhancing the lives of all they touch - boys, parents, supporters and strangers who hear them sing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My just recently completed his 1st year in the prep choir and he had the time of his life. Not only did he get the opportunity to learn to sing beautiful songs, he learned to read music, and gained a since of independence while participating in their tours. This experience has been a wonderful one for not only him, but our entire family. We are looking forward to next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with the Houston Boychoir staff for the past three years as a volunteer graphic artist. They are always a pleasure to work with, open to new ideas, and very attentiv... more

April 6, 2013

My son joined the prep choir when he was in 4th grade. He is now getting ready to enter high school next year. Of all the creative groups we have been a part of since we relocated to Texas from New York, Houston Boychoir has been the most impactful on my son. It has taught him to be part of a group without diminishing his individuality. It has not only provided him with a music education but has given him a sense of purpose and a sense of belonging. Through his association with Houston Boychoir he has become more worldly. The older boys act as models for the younger ones. My son has been mentored and is at the same time a mentor. When their voices change and they must move on, they leave with a sense of accomplishment and a strength as a leader and an individual which I don't see nurtured in any other organization that he is so involved with.

The music is beautiful and the camaraderie is uncomparable. They may move on when their voices change but the hearts remain. Those that stay on through adulthood as Men of the Houston Boychoir prove that it makes a long lasting impression on those that commit to the group. I am so greatful that my son has been a part of the choir and will remain part of the choir for years to come.

I would recommend this group to anyone with a son who wants to sing and wants to be part of something really special.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working with the Houston Boychoir staff for the past three years as a volunteer graphic artist. They are always a pleasure to work with, open to new ideas, and very attentive. In addition to being a volunteer I am also a parent of a boy who has benefitted from being part of such a special organization. He has grown as an individual and learned to be part of an amazing group. He has had opportunities to try his hand a something he had an interest in and now has become a part of his life. Thank you for providing my son and me with an opportunitiy to partake in supporting the such a fine arts program in Houston.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a parent volunteer, I know that Houston Boychoir puts boys first. The choir accepts boys from the greater Houston area and gives them a fine musical education along with performance and travel opportunities. The choir has been a second family for my son since he joined at age nine. As a teenager, he sings in the Boychoir's high school group. He has made great friends along the way, and has learned that working hard at something you love brings great personal reward. The rehearsal and performance schedules are demanding, but the results show at every concert. The boys tour every summer and attend a choir camp to learn new music, and fun is interwoven with the learning. The experience has certainly deepened my son's love of music.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers