Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Houston Boychoir has been a wonderful learning experience for all of the boys that audition from my school. The students that are members of the choir learn so much about themselves and how to interact with others. It is always a pleasure to attend their concerts and contribute to their campaigns. As members of the Boychoir, the young men represent well the youth of Houston with their positive, professional work ethic in practice and performance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Houston BoyChoir is an amazing organization. They manage to take rambuctious young boys and turn them into fine young gentlemen. More importantly, week after week, they train the boys on classical music as well as global and modern tunes. While doing this, they train their voices to sing in harmony and the result is a choir of angels when they perform. And when they perform, all those busy, fidgeting young boys become perfectly still, poised and professional as they bring tears to the eyes of any audience. The organization is outstanding for building self-confidence in their members, providing beautiful music to the community, and enhancing the lives of all they touch - boys, parents, supporters and strangers who hear them sing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is love. Giving the young ones not only something to occupy thier time but skills to carry on and even produce confident and strong minded individuals for future endeavors. Thanks for building up our children and showing them "how". Your organization is appreciated!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son sang in both the Preparatory Choir and the Chamber Choir of Houston Boychoir, and he still participates at the Winter and Spring Concerts as a member of the "Men" of the Houston Boychoir. This organization was invaluable to him; he wasn't interested in sports or in other "group activities" such as Boy Scouts, but by being a member of HBC he had the opportunity to learn about interacting with other young men, meeting his responsibilities, and working toward shared goals. In addition, he received excellent musical training which increased his passion for music and encouraged him to continue to study music even though he has now graduated from high school. Our family is convinced that he would not have been as successful as he has been in music and in life if he not been given the opportunities afforded him by HBC. It's a fabulous organization run by amazing people!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching my son grow as a person and as a musician. We consider HBC to be one of the main reasons for his success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing, except to be sure that the people running the organization received recognition and support, especially from the parents whose sons participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

HBC was recommended to us by my son's elementary school choir teacher, and by one of my co-workers whose son was a member. I later found out that my cousin participated in the early years of the organization.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

HBC has encouraged my husband and me to allow our son to pursue his passion for music, and has offered a number of ways to make this possible. We made friends with other parents in the group, and these relationships have continued.

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our two sons were in Houston Boy Choir 2011-2012. We were utterly delighted with HBC and wished we had found it sooner. The professionalism and dedication of the staff really impressed us. The boys had fun learning, performing, and making new friends. They had tremendous respect for their teachers. HBC not only helps boys develop musically, but also to mature into gentlemen. We were also encouraged by the commitment of the other parents to their sons and to the HBC. Unfortunately, we moved from Houston in summer 2012; hopefully we can find an organization of similar caliber near our new home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Houston Boychoir sang during a Sunday morning worship service at my church where I am the Worship Minister. They are a wonderfully delightful group of young men. They sing with passion, enthusiasm and authenticity. They are also very well behaved and professional in their appearance. I know all of the host families they stayed with were very impressed and really enjoyed having them in their homes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Our eldest son has been a member of the Houston Boychoir for three years and every year, he is challenged to grow both as a person and musically. The choir directors and staff really understand boys and meet them where they are and motivate them forward.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It has been an honor to work within the schools of Houston enabling students to participate in auditions and the selection process of the Houston Boychoir Inc. The leadership of the group, the challenges posed to the children, and the rewarding results within each concert, not only enhances music building but character development of participants. Thank you Houston Boychoir!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My just recently completed his 1st year in the prep choir and he had the time of his life. Not only did he get the opportunity to learn to sing beautiful songs, he learned to read music, and gained a since of independence while participating in their tours. This experience has been a wonderful one for not only him, but our entire family. We are looking forward to next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My son has been a member of The Houston Boychoir for the past 7 years. I cannot praise enough the organization on how many different ways they work so hard to enrich a young boys life. Yes there is music, singing as a team, harmony, sight-reading, musical experience, but to me, more importantly the opportunities that are given to sharpen their lifeskills at a very early age are priceless! They sing in a number of weddings, opening ceremonies, civil events throughout the year and learn discipline, professionalism, and providing meaningful community service. Every boy in Houston should go through this program. They will be 10 steps ahead of their peers at every stage of teir life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers