Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Christmas performances of the Houston Boy Choir are one of the most delightful experiences of the season. The choir is an essential part of the Houston cultural landscape.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Had an amazing time working with the Houston Boychoir. This group exemplifies good character, charm, professionalism, and overall musical exellence. I would absolutely recommend them for professional engagements, and if you haven't heard them, take a look at the concert calendar and go have a listen!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The HBC continues a 5,000 year old tradition of training boys voices while building character and values in young men. Singing and performing at the highest level is the catalyst for this metamorphosis. It is during this fleeting moment in time, prior to the boy's voice change, that he can perform as a professional with other musicians who far exceed him in age and experience. The HBC accomplishes this training at the highest level. Kudos to the artistic staff and volunteers for providing this life-changing experience!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My son has just completed his fourth year with the Houston Boychoir and, as a parent, I have been amazed and thrilled by his tremendous progress, not only in musicality and stage presence, but also in his confidence, maturity and gentlemanliness. Furthermore, as a music teacher, I have enjoyed seeing the remarkable growth of those of my students who have joined the choir. It is wonderful to hear them sharing with the other children how much fun the rehearsals are, to hear their stories about the many "cool places" in which they perform, and to see how good they feel about themselves. Our association with the HBC has been thoroughly inspiring and rewarding and I would recommend that any parent consider the opportunity of providing their son with this unique experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

With over a decade of interface with the Houston Boychoir (HBC) as a parent and as a volunteer, I now am serving as a HBC board member with the joy of giving back to one of the finest non-profit, independent arts organizations. HBC reflects and serves Greater Houston by providing boys exemplary vocal training, music education, and professional performance opportunities regionally and beyond. Being a mother of two HBC Alumni is most rewarding. The HBC provided unique, positive, inspirational and lasting experiences that contributed to each of my sons potential as a whole - choristers are taught to exhibit very high standards of discipline, behaviour and thoughtfulness towards others at all times. The 2009 service project “Ode to My Nurses” was incredible. This project was a collaborative one between Texas Children’s Hospital and the Houston Boychoir – the boys performed special music from patients’ poetry that was set to music. Their performance was powerful for contributors, participants and audience!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son sang with the Houston Boychoir for four years and had an incredible experience. The director, Carole Nelson, is an outstanding teacher and sets the bar high for the boys. The boys learn to sing in various languages, they are taught how to project a confident and professional image when they perform, and they are always expected to exhibit their best behavior and manners. They sing at weddings, they travel, and sing at multiple venues. Their reputation precedes them and they have been invited to sing at many events both locally and out of town. I cannot adequately described all my son learned with being a part of this organization. We are thankful for all the organization did to mold him at this young age. The choir is also composed for a diverse group of boys from different backgrounds and schools and they all learn so much from each other as well. All the boys who are involved have "experiences of a lifetime" that will have a lasting impact in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Both of my boys sing in HBC, where the music learning is combined with building good characters and life-long friendship development. The uniqueness about HBC is the group learning synergy with a clear common interest of singing. Thanks to the wonderful and dedicated teachers and staff, HBC creates a fun learning environment that brings out the desire of “working harder for better” in these otherwise naughty boys. I think HBC provides an opportunity for the boys to feel their accomplishment after practice and practice, and I believe this process will drive future achievement in their life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

HBC is not only one of the finest boy choirs performing today, but the example of what discipline, integrity, focused effort, and teamwork can accomplish. These boys will be our leaders tomorrow.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

A half-century of magnificent work in providing young men with the empowering and life-changing experience of making music marks Houston Boychoir as one of the great achievements in Houston's rich landscape of Art and Culture. Houston Boychoir stands as an institution of hope for a better future. I congratulate its excellent leadership.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the pleasure of hearing their wonderful concerts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage greater community financial support; create and enlarge scholarship programs and performing outreach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

through my work at Classical 91.7 FM.

June 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

We are so fortunate to have been turned on to this organization by our son’s elementary school music teacher. It is everything she said it was and more! I had not heard of it at that time, but I could tell she was very passionate in her recommendation of the organization. I decided to check into it. Everyone I spoke with had nothing but good things to say about the group, its staff and what it would do for the development of our child. It has done all that and more. He loves going to practice, he loves performing and he loves the summer camp and tour. The directors have turned him into a very confident performer and this transcends into other areas of his life such as public speaking. He doesn’t think twice or fear speaking in front of his whole school or even singing the National Anthem (solo) in front of them.
Several months ago, during my son’s saxophone lesson, he kept asking his saxophone teacher to explain to him how he could identify what key a song was in by simply looking at the music. I was curious where the desire to know this came from….he said he wanted to understand this concept better because his choir director was always talking about it and he wanted to know where she was coming from during rehearsals. While she really had a lot of saxophone to cover because he had a performance coming up, she relented and so ensued a 20 minute discussion of which I could not follow. He is 11. I am 45.
I believe they must also receive tips on how to become fine young men in addition to tips on how to sing and become fine young performers. When my son has less than admirable table manners, I have asked him on many occasions “would you do that if (insert important dignitary here) were with you right now?” It hasn’t worked…as is evident by how many dignitaries I have gone through….until…..I mentioned his choir director’s name. He stopped dead in his tracks, froze, and said “ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh….now I get it!” I haven’t had to use another name since.
But the most powerful endorsement of this organization probably comes from said choir member’s younger brother, who is waiting patiently to be old enough to join the group. He has sat through many practices and performances, patiently…., watching…., waiting…. and passing the time until he too, can one day join the ranks. In the meantime, he satisfies himself with listening to his older brother and trying to memorize what he hears and then runs along and sings what he can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers