Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My son has been a member of The Houston Boychoir for the past 2 years, and has had a truly wonderful experience. The HBC is an organization that cares deeply about developing young boys to be well-rounded individuals and leaders of tomorrow. Through teaching them how to sing exquisitely and as a group, they cultivate in them not only a great love for music, but also a sense of discipline, strong character, professionalism, teamwork and perseverance. Such attributes are greatly needed in today’s world, and are best taught when children are young. That the boys enjoy their participation in the HBC as well as develop into men of character is best exemplified by the numbers of boys that continue on for many years, as well as some who, as adults, return to sing with the younger boys for their special public performances. If you have not heard the HBC sing, it should be on your ‘must-see’ list. The HBC and their staff are to be commended for the fine job they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with the Houston Boychoir staff for the past three years as a volunteer graphic artist. They are always a pleasure to work with, open to new ideas, and very attentiv... more

April 6, 2013

My son joined the prep choir when he was in 4th grade. He is now getting ready to enter high school next year. Of all the creative groups we have been a part of since we relocated to Texas from New York, Houston Boychoir has been the most impactful on my son. It has taught him to be part of a group without diminishing his individuality. It has not only provided him with a music education but has given him a sense of purpose and a sense of belonging. Through his association with Houston Boychoir he has become more worldly. The older boys act as models for the younger ones. My son has been mentored and is at the same time a mentor. When their voices change and they must move on, they leave with a sense of accomplishment and a strength as a leader and an individual which I don't see nurtured in any other organization that he is so involved with.

The music is beautiful and the camaraderie is uncomparable. They may move on when their voices change but the hearts remain. Those that stay on through adulthood as Men of the Houston Boychoir prove that it makes a long lasting impression on those that commit to the group. I am so greatful that my son has been a part of the choir and will remain part of the choir for years to come.

I would recommend this group to anyone with a son who wants to sing and wants to be part of something really special.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working with the Houston Boychoir staff for the past three years as a volunteer graphic artist. They are always a pleasure to work with, open to new ideas, and very attentive. In addition to being a volunteer I am also a parent of a boy who has benefitted from being part of such a special organization. He has grown as an individual and learned to be part of an amazing group. He has had opportunities to try his hand a something he had an interest in and now has become a part of his life. Thank you for providing my son and me with an opportunitiy to partake in supporting the such a fine arts program in Houston.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2012

My experience with this organization began six years ago. At his music teacher's invitation and unbeknownst to me, my son had auditioned for the Houston Boychoir at school one afternoon. He was so ver... more

April 6, 2013

Houston Boychoir has had a profound impact on my son's life. He is more confident, self-assured and happier for his 7 years of association with the choir. Houston Boychoir brings discipline, music education, teamwork and a sense of belonging to the boy. This nonprofit is a vehicle for self-expression and creatively contributes to local, intrastate, national, and international individuals and communites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with this organization began six years ago. At his music teacher's invitation and unbeknownst to me, my son had auditioned for the Houston Boychoir at school one afternoon. He was so very excited and looked forward to receiving the letter with the audition results. Tears came to my eyes as I reviewed the Boychoir's website, listening to the beauty of the boys' voices. It felt like a gift from heaven. Six years later I remain ever so grateful for the experiences given to my son. The choir brings so much beautiful music- and so much joy- into our household. He loves to sing! We reap many benefits of being part of a professional boys' choir- comraderie, vocal training, musical education, social manners, professional opportunities with other arts' organizations, television performance, touring and singing at professional meetings, civic ceremonies, galas, schools, churches, concerts, retirement communities, sports' games, weddings and funerals. It is a worthy endeavor. I do everything that I can do to help promote the Houston Boychoir. I whole-heartedly endorse this organization for any young boy who loves music!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This group of young men is outstanding, and the alumni that sings at their Winter/Spring concerts always are fantastic and add a great touch. I highly recommend seeing them in concert; you won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son has been with houston boychoir for two years and it has been a great experience my son has gained social and leaderships skills and we are looking forward to another great year

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My oldest son has been a member of the HBC for 2 years and my younger son has been a member for 1 year. I am very impressed by the professionalism of the choir overall. Both of my sons have matured and grown so much since they have been in the HBC. The teachers and staff are fine musicians that expect the best from the boys. They are firm, courteous, respectful and very punctual. My boys always return home very happy and excited after each rehearsals. They have made close friendships with their classmates. I believe the HBC complements beautifully their piano studies. The HBC is a first class organization that fosters a positive and professional environment for boys. I would strongly recommend it, not only for the musical growth of your son, but also for their personal growth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My brother love Houston Boys Choir. He sing and practice everyday for the song. Their songs are so beautiful and graceful. It made everyone feel very peaceful inside. The boys grew up together as a team and support each other no matter what. The practice that happen once a week is something that my brother look up to the most. Absolutely LOVE Houston Boys Choir!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son was a member of the choir for five years. The Houston Boy Choir expanded his passion for singing and music. The organization helped him become more independent, organized, and goal oriented. The Houston Boy Choir also inspired tolerance and a true sense of community. The experience for my son was invaluable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son was in the Boys Choir last year. It was a wonderful experience. He learned about music. He also learned about teamwork, discipline, and the beauty of working together for a common goal to produce something greater than can be done on your own. They do truly help boys grow to men.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Besides the gift of music , our son gained social and leaderships skills that his mother and I felt were/are very important. I highly recommend the HBC as a parent, volunteer and fan !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers