Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.75
Write A Review
September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I love the Blues... always have and always will. I'm so glad there is a great group of people working together to create a space to document and honor our local heritage of this rich genre of music.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012

more

August 29, 2012

The Houston Blues museum is Vital part of our community-Not only for Houston but the entire gulf south region.Its a living, breathing entity which chronicles the Rich history of the music that defines and enriches and shapes our lives.I have been fortunate to be a part of this endeavor.My life has changed being a part of this wonderful organization.I have met the Great Blues artists,and also wonderful people associated in Every aspect of the Blues music we dearly love.The Blues music is like a rich mosiac where every person contributes and grows in the process of evolving as we learn about the history of the Blues music that we hold dear to us.We are changed because of this and we are grateful.:O)We have to know where we came from to understand where we are going.:O)steve hawes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

i have been a huge blues fan since childhood, having been born in the mississippi delta and growing up listening to the legendary musicians from that area.imagine how elated i was upon moving to houston to discover a vibrant blues community here with stellar musicians and devoted fans and supporters. when casting about for a charity this year to involve myself and my business in i discovered the houston blues museum and the Legends concert that was in its early planning stages in february. i immediately offered my services and came to know the board members, the planning commitee and the musicians that went on to make this one of the most rewarding experiences ever. i continue to be involved in charitable work mainly music related and blues themed in nature but hold the Legends concert and the blues museim up as the gold standard of all such endevors. i cannot wait to see the museim become a reality and put houston on the map in its rightful place as a standardbearer carrying the blues story to the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

The blues runs deep and wide in the Bayou City and through the tireless efforts of volunteers, this rich history is now shared with the world. Though long overdue, the fruition of the Houston Blues Museum at this time has allowed the curators to chronicle the living history of many blues greats before their stories are lost. The Houston Blues Museum is a great thing now and will only get better, showcasing the essential qualities that Houston music has to share.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Houston has a rich history of blues music, and it is important that we preserve this history with a Blues Museum. Houston Blues Museum board members have worked tirelessly to achieve this goal. The Houston Blues Museum events we have attended were interesting, educational and enlightening. OutboundMusic is proud to support the Houston Blues Museum. --Courtney Delaney, president OutboundMusic

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

It's about time Houston had a Blues Museum to call its own! Being a working blues musician as well as a librarian, it is extremely satisfying for me to watch the efforts and the passion of the Houston Blues Museum board as they tirelessly promote this concept to the city at large. I'm excited to be a supporter and look forward to the imminent day that we break ground on this worthwhile and much-needed institution.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am very impressed with the way the Houston Blues Museum has handled the purchase, curating and exhibit of my artwork. The "Blues In All Its Colors" show at Houston Heritage Society, June-August 2012 was very well handled. The partnering of the two organizations produced an outstanding exhibit worthy of a museum in a major city anywhere. I look forward to next steps in the evolution of the HBM.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

When I heard that a group opened a Blues Museum in Houston I was elated! After I met some of the "worker bees" behind it - even more elated because they are so passionate and dedicated to preserving Houston Blues History. Our community NEEDS this and has needed it for quite some time. We have some fabulous Blues artists in our community that deserve to be recognized and "preserved" for future generations to learn about; and certainly the artists who have already crossed over deserve this recognition and preservation. Thank you to all the passionate folks who made this dream come true! Marilyn Dunn/Houston Blues Society Member

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through the Houston Blues Society

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The Houston Blues Museum is in the unique position to accommodate the needs of the Houston Blues community for a permanent display and home for artifacts from our numerous musicians, many of whom have gone before us, many who are aging and many more who are up and coming. Houston has a history rich with Blues musicians, nightclubs, recording studios, authors, photographers and industry insiders, who deserve recognition and a permanent home for their memorabilia where it can be preserved. As past president of the Houston Blues Society, I'm very aware of the interest in and need for this museum. People enjoy looking at old concert posters, stage costumes, lyric notebooks, photographs, instruments, etc., and the museum will ensure that these items are preserved and not lost to the landfill.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Music makes people feel good. And, museums archive and preserve the past so we remember those who went before us and their achievements and history. The Houston Blues Museum is on its way to achieving a proper home to honor he music and blues artists of Houston, TX and the Gulf Coast Region. A short list of artists that are from or lived in Houston/The Gulf Coast include: Johnny Guitar Watson, Joe Guitar Hughes, Lightnin' Hopkins, Johnny Clyde Copeland, Pete Mayes, Sipppie Wallace, Victoria Spivey, Jimmy T-99 Nelson and Johnny Winter. The HBM Board is filled with leaders who are passionate about their goal, yet mindful of their responsibilities. With sound management and the help of experts in preserving thier collection, HBM is a solid bet to fulfill their mission with the thanks and blessings of the music community at large. Funds received by HBM are used with great care for reaching their goal while providing programs to involve the community in the creation of THEIR BLUES MUSEUM.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer to assist the museum with website issues. Volunteer