Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.255
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I think Natzira has a horrible perception of reality. I've been a client at HAWC twice now, and no fault of their own for me returning. My life situation collapsed and put me right in my abuser's path some half a year after I left (one job went bankrupt and another employer broke their probation agreements and... yeah...) Any way about it, this is an amazing facility. When things collapsed I ended up at another shelter at the SonRise Community Church--now THAT is everything Nat described HAWC as. Unkempt, unsanitary, prison (no windows, cement walls, no air conditioning, take 60% of ANY income you have, take away your food stamp card). HAWC is the exact opposite. They are empowering, provide food, clean shelter, care, counseling, a career development center, daycare, playgrounds, in-site school, events to maintain a positive atmosphere, and even housing. If someone didn't get housing it's generally their own fault. Your only requirement is to have or get a job. That's it. If you are disabled they send you to other people who can get you Section-8 with disability instead. Don't let that review fool you. Someone just didn't get a job. It's amazing and when I knew I was in trouble again I knew exactly where to go, and desperately called OUT of the other place I got stuck in. HAWC is the place to go.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more rooms so even more women can experience it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

The staff is very kind and helpful. I remember walking in and everyone greets me with a smile. It gave me the opportunity to help others which was important to me. I loved volunteering there for the short time that I was able. I hope to return one day because it was too short!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

HAWC is a wonderful organization. Making a difference in someones life is an awesome feeling. HAWC HAVE GIVEN ME THE OPPORTUNITY TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE. I enjoy seeing people make life changing decisions. HAWC equipping the volunteer to be of help is also awesome. Showing others that someone cares is priceless. Being a nonprofit organization is great. Thank you HAWC for making a difference in my life also. BARBARA SANDS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

HAWC is a great organization providing a service that can change the lives of a person and mean the difference between life and death for some of their victims. They not only provide the victims with a safe shelter, but provide love and care for them and their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

I have been on the Board of the Houston Area Women's Center for about a year and a half. I believe in the work that they do and the people that do it. Much needed help is provided to many people of all ages who suffer from the worst agony possible. I love to hear the client stories that speak of healing, restoration and a new found love for themselves. And there is no judgment. I believe that what HAWC provides to the Houston area is the difference between life and death for many.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find new and better ways to ensure funding to further their mission

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer with the Houston Area Women's Center Young Leaders for about a year and a half. I started by volunteering at the fundraisers and attending advocacy events. I later decided to attend the training to allow me to volunteer at their shelter. Since then, I've never looked back. The survivors, especially the children, HAWC serve get the best service from employees and volunteers who are passionate about empowering them for the future. The social media outreach and Young Leaders group have done great things to get the entire community involved in ending domestic violence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I believe in HAWC’s mission. They are a great organization providing a service that could mean the difference between life and death for some of their victims. They not only provide the victims with a safe haven. But they nurture them so they may become whole again. I will continue to support them in many ways - volunteering, donating, and organizing a drive to collect urgent and ongoing needs items.

Rebeca Rodriguez

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

I don't know what to think about this place. I walked in the other morning asking for help and they told me to come back at 1:00. I thought that HAWC was about helping women. What kind of organization puts a time frame on help?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2012

The Houston Area Women's Center serves a vital role in the Houston community and you'd be hard pressed to think of a more important *and* effective local charitable organization. I am honored to be a HAWC volunteer and donor. As I'm doing here, I evangelize HAWC quite frequently so that others might receive the same warm fuzzies that I do when supporting the organization. At the same time, I, like the employees there, work towards making HAWC obsolete, reducing and ultimately eliminating sexual and domestic violence. Tragically, we're nowhere close to achieving that goal.

I've been a volunteer at HAWC for more than a year. During interactions with employees from HAWC, I've been struck by the passion, the strength, the warmth, the work ethic, and the competence of everyone there. In all honesty, it's slightly irritating because watching them in action makes me feel like a slacker who hasn't been doing all he can to make the world a better place. However, these impressive individuals have sacrificed salary and time to work for a cause that they, and every right-minded person, believes in. Yes, it may be a little irritating, but it's also inspiring.

HAWC's clients appreciate this even more than I ever could. One of my fondest memories volunteering at HAWC was having a client tell me:

A) How much she appreciated all that HAWC has done for them in their time of trouble.

B) How eagerly she anticipated a time in the near future when she could volunteer at HAWC to pay forward the kindness that was shown to her.

That was amazing to hear. It was just as amazing when a different client told me the same thing a couple months later.

I assume anyone reading this would support HAWC's mission. Moreover, they should know there is much work left to be done in assisting victims sexual and domestic violence and, optimally, preventing the violence from occurring in the first place. These crimes are vastly underreported and many victims do not know where to turn and that HAWC exists to support them.

By supporting them, not only will you be supporting that mission, but you'll be doing so in the most effective way possible because of the quality of employees and quality of *people* at the Houston Area Women's Center. I strongly encourage you to research them further, for I am confident that you will confirm the high praise that I have given them is warranted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a member of the Houston Area Women's Center Young Leaders group in November of 2011. So far, I have really enjoyed the Young Leaders group because it allows me to meet other young professionals who are passionate about ending domestic and sexual violence, and because it gives me many opportunities to further the mission of the Women's Center. I have become a member of the Race Against Violence planning committee, have attended our regular monthly meetings, have helped plan our first two happy hours (at the first we collected donations for the holiday store, and at the second we will be raising money for the Women's Center), and have had the opportunity to take a shelter tour. I feel that being a part of the Young Leaders group truly makes a difference in the fight against domestic and sexual violence, and for the thousands of clients who utilize the services of the Women's Center every year. I have also learned a tremendous amount about domestic and sexual violence, and about how to make a positive impact in the community. I am excited to continue working with HAWC through the Young Leaders group and more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers