Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.55
Write A Review
August 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 20, 2014

I'm a member of the Houston Area Women's Center Young Leaders group. We are dedicated to raising awareness about HAWC, fundraising, and volunteering for causes that align with the goals of the shelter.
I volunteer with kids at the shelter on a regular basis; the shelter serves women who are
survivors of domestic abuse, giving them and their children a place to stay while they get their feet under them. They also teach new life skills by offering emotional and vocational counseling. The other main focus of HAWC is their Center on Waugh. The center offers couples counseling, hotline/crisis intervention, educational classes, and numerous other resources to the Houston community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them open a second, smaller shelter for male clients or allow pets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 19, 2014

The Houston Area Women's Center is an agency that provides counseling, shelter, and other services for survivors of domestic violence. The staff and volunteers are amazing and have a passion for giving back to their communities. I would definitely recommend this agency to those seeking services and for those wanting to volunteer and give back. The Race Against Violence is a great place to start!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 13, 2014

Having had personal experience with domestic and sexual violence, learning about the Houston Area Women's Center was very encouraging and empowering for me. The work they do with community outreach and local organizations brought them to my attention and I am very grateful for their expertise and kindness. I was able to learn more about the kind of person I want to be. I brought a friend who needed guidance to the center where we both were offered resources and information to help us on our way. I am now looking to do volunteer work with HAWC and I am nothing but joyful to help this organization continue to do good work for our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for them to have more resources and staff available to become more efficient, but I honestly believe they do an outstanding and admirable job already.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 13, 2014

I have been volunteering with HAWC for almost 2 years now and the organization continues to amaze me as I become more involved. They truly care about our community and the women, men, and children they serve. I feel very lucky to be a part of their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 13, 2014

I've only recently begun to volunteer with the Houston Area Women's Center but I am consistently impressed by the work they do to serve clients and promote awareness within the Houston community. They provide many different ways to get involved and provide life saving services. It's truly an organization worth your time and/or money, whatever little you can provide they will happily work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Houston Area Women's Center is a wonderful non-profit organization serving all Houstonians, men, women, and children, who have experienced domestic and/or sexual violence. I am so proud to be a volunteer and donor of such a wonderful organization. The ultimate goal of HAWC is to put itself "out of business" and I really appreciate that each employee strives to achieve this goal, especially as a survivor of sexual assault.

There are three things I would like to mention in my review that may not be mentioned by other volunteers on this site:

1) The training and education department is fantastic. The trainings aren't just classes where you sit and take notes -- they are interactive. If you have a question, Renee and her wonderful team make sure that you feel comfortable enough to ask that question and to provide you with excellent information. I have enjoyed the trainings and I have learned so much. Because of those trainings, I was able to help a friend in crisis. She told me that I was the very first person who told her that what happened to her wasn't her fault. Can you believe it? In 2014, people are still victim-blaming their own friends! Ugh. Anyway, I can't say enough good things about the training department!

2) The employees at HAWC are some of the nicest and best people I have ever met. I am honored to have worked with these wonderful folks. Much like Ken said, they are passionate, warm, caring, and great at their jobs.

3) Even though I received help at my school after my sexual assault and I know the assault was not my fault, it means so, so much to go to a place like HAWC and just feel safe/normal/comforted. Everyone there is on your side, everyone there wants you to move forward with your life -- to live, not just survive. It's amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I think Natzira has a horrible perception of reality. I've been a client at HAWC twice now, and no fault of their own for me returning. My life situation collapsed and put me right in my abuser's path some half a year after I left (one job went bankrupt and another employer broke their probation agreements and... yeah...) Any way about it, this is an amazing facility. When things collapsed I ended up at another shelter at the SonRise Community Church--now THAT is everything Nat described HAWC as. Unkempt, unsanitary, prison (no windows, cement walls, no air conditioning, take 60% of ANY income you have, take away your food stamp card). HAWC is the exact opposite. They are empowering, provide food, clean shelter, care, counseling, a career development center, daycare, playgrounds, in-site school, events to maintain a positive atmosphere, and even housing. If someone didn't get housing it's generally their own fault. Your only requirement is to have or get a job. That's it. If you are disabled they send you to other people who can get you Section-8 with disability instead. Don't let that review fool you. Someone just didn't get a job. It's amazing and when I knew I was in trouble again I knew exactly where to go, and desperately called OUT of the other place I got stuck in. HAWC is the place to go.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more rooms so even more women can experience it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The staff is very kind and helpful. I remember walking in and everyone greets me with a smile. It gave me the opportunity to help others which was important to me. I loved volunteering there for the short time that I was able. I hope to return one day because it was too short!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

HAWC is a wonderful organization. Making a difference in someones life is an awesome feeling. HAWC HAVE GIVEN ME THE OPPORTUNITY TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE. I enjoy seeing people make life changing decisions. HAWC equipping the volunteer to be of help is also awesome. Showing others that someone cares is priceless. Being a nonprofit organization is great. Thank you HAWC for making a difference in my life also. BARBARA SANDS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

HAWC is a great organization providing a service that can change the lives of a person and mean the difference between life and death for some of their victims. They not only provide the victims with a safe shelter, but provide love and care for them and their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers