Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
123.445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

I don't know what to think about this place. I walked in the other morning asking for help and they told me to come back at 1:00. I thought that HAWC was about helping women. What kind of organization puts a time frame on help?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2012

The Houston Area Women's Center serves a vital role in the Houston community and you'd be hard pressed to think of a more important *and* effective local charitable organization. I am honored to be a HAWC volunteer and donor. As I'm doing here, I evangelize HAWC quite frequently so that others might receive the same warm fuzzies that I do when supporting the organization. At the same time, I, like the employees there, work towards making HAWC obsolete, reducing and ultimately eliminating sexual and domestic violence. Tragically, we're nowhere close to achieving that goal.

I've been a volunteer at HAWC for more than a year. During interactions with employees from HAWC, I've been struck by the passion, the strength, the warmth, the work ethic, and the competence of everyone there. In all honesty, it's slightly irritating because watching them in action makes me feel like a slacker who hasn't been doing all he can to make the world a better place. However, these impressive individuals have sacrificed salary and time to work for a cause that they, and every right-minded person, believes in. Yes, it may be a little irritating, but it's also inspiring.

HAWC's clients appreciate this even more than I ever could. One of my fondest memories volunteering at HAWC was having a client tell me:

A) How much she appreciated all that HAWC has done for them in their time of trouble.

B) How eagerly she anticipated a time in the near future when she could volunteer at HAWC to pay forward the kindness that was shown to her.

That was amazing to hear. It was just as amazing when a different client told me the same thing a couple months later.

I assume anyone reading this would support HAWC's mission. Moreover, they should know there is much work left to be done in assisting victims sexual and domestic violence and, optimally, preventing the violence from occurring in the first place. These crimes are vastly underreported and many victims do not know where to turn and that HAWC exists to support them.

By supporting them, not only will you be supporting that mission, but you'll be doing so in the most effective way possible because of the quality of employees and quality of *people* at the Houston Area Women's Center. I strongly encourage you to research them further, for I am confident that you will confirm the high praise that I have given them is warranted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012

I became a member of the Houston Area Women's Center Young Leaders group in November of 2011. So far, I have really enjoyed the Young Leaders group because it allows me to meet other young professionals who are passionate about ending domestic and sexual violence, and because it gives me many opportunities to further the mission of the Women's Center. I have become a member of the Race Against Violence planning committee, have attended our regular monthly meetings, have helped plan our first two happy hours (at the first we collected donations for the holiday store, and at the second we will be raising money for the Women's Center), and have had the opportunity to take a shelter tour. I feel that being a part of the Young Leaders group truly makes a difference in the fight against domestic and sexual violence, and for the thousands of clients who utilize the services of the Women's Center every year. I have also learned a tremendous amount about domestic and sexual violence, and about how to make a positive impact in the community. I am excited to continue working with HAWC through the Young Leaders group and more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I have been a volunteer at HAWC since 2004. Most of my volunteer work has been with the child clients. One of my favorite activities is the annual back-to-school drive which we begin planning for in February and complete in August. The volunteer committee and I have been fortunate enough to collect new school supplies and backpacks for over 1,200 children each year. All of the items given to the children are donated by many generous individuals, companies and groups in Houston. Continuing education is very important to me for I believe that through education we can overcome ignorance and hopefully help kids obtain the tools they need to break the cycle of domestic abuse when it exists in their families. By providing these supplies and backpacks we are able to give a little “normal” back to these kids and also take away a potential cause for them not to return to school. It is always so wonderful for me to see how happy and excited these kids are when they are able to select their own backpack and other goodies we have collected for them. And I know how appreciative their mothers and fathers are from the feedback we receive. In the end, I always wonder who really gets the most out of this event – the the kids and their families - or the staff and volunteers who help them.

It has been my honor and privilege to work with and get to know several truly exceptional people over the past several years. Of course I am talking about my fellow volunteers who believe in the mission of HAWC as much as I do. Their compassion, dedication, vision and fortitude constantly amazes me and I know I am a better person for having worked beside them in helping as many children as we have. I am confident that the future of our world has been brightened by their acts of hard work, generosity and kindness!

But for me, the real heroes are the members of the staff I get to work with. They never cease to amaze me – how they get up every day and fight to end domestic and sexual violence. These women are in the trenches everyday – standing up for what is right, effecting social change and making an impact on the lives of these children and families. It is apparent these individuals were called to their profession by their words and actions. I truly believe they are making a positive change in our world - one child at a time! HAWC has been a great place for me to volunteer and I have recruited family and friends to help me. I look forward to the opportuntities that await us in 2012.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 7, 2011

more

June 7, 2011

II left my abusar. .I Was there for more than three months...its a horrible place..i felt like i Was in jail. .They discriminanted me. .They treted me like a criminal. .The school is dirty. .Te daycare is nasty and full of viruses. .They admit drugs and pretend dont see. ..They know than we dont have choice because we are homeless. .They sent me torio the streets without no shelter..no money. .No help at allí..i have four kids living in my care...pleace i want to raice my voice forma those womens who suffer like me...than you.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A nightmare

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somebody have to Make sure than They are really helping anda not just act.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers