Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This organization is wonderful and has helped me and my rabbits in many ways. Whenever I need to quickly educate someone about rabbits, I have them read the HRS website for information. I first learned of HRS in 1995/96. I met a member of the Buckeye HRS and she taught me how important it was to get your house rabbit spayed (or neutered). I had not done this with my rabbit and was afraid to do so. In December of 1999, her vets could not figure out what was wrong with her and she looked like she would die. I talked to the Buckeye HRS and found a local rabbit-savvy vet they recommended. I took my rabbit to her and she quickly diagnosed the problem. My rabbit had advanced uterine cancer. Surgery was performed and all the cancer was removed. My rabbit lived another 5-1/2 healthy years after that. The vet that did the surgery told me that if the cancer had not been diagnosed when it was, my rabbit would not have lived more than a month or two. If it were not for the HRS and their help, my rabbit would have died!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

We went into HRS looking for our third rabbit because we were having trouble bonding our two. Our thought was that if we changed the dynamic, we may have better luck. After only a few minutes, I had my eye on one rabbit in particular "Buzz". I asked to spend time with him and it was love. The next step was to make sure my female rabbits liked him. When we went back with our girls I was very worried that one of the three rabbits would get hurt. The staff reassured us that they could keep it under control and no bunny would be injured. We gave our trust and put all three together for the first time. It went bad within seconds, our two females waned to go at it. Just like they promised, the staff did not allow any fighting. We separated them and regrouped. It was suggested that we might try a fourth rabbit to change the dynamic yet again. I did have my eye on one other boy named Echo. So in went four rabbits into the X-pen. It went better this time, though not perfect. We were advised that it would take more trips and a huge commitment to bond them successfully but with their knowledge and support we were up for it. We carted our girls back for weeks until we were comfortable with the process and felt we could handle it on our own. They have been at their forever home with us for eight months now. They are so happy. Buzz had been found on the streets of SF and was very under weight. Even after being with HRS for two months, he was only four pounds. The other night I was laying on the floor with him and thinking about the journey he went on before HRS blessed us with him. I got weepy thinking about it because he now weighs 10 pounds! Echo was born into a shelter and our HRS took in three of the babies. He was almost a year when we adopted him. We changed Buzz's name to Teddy as it better suits his sweet nature. We love them dearly and would not have been brave enough to take on four rabbits without the help and support of HRS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If Money were not an issue, I would love to see them in a better location.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

HRS is the perfect place to find your bunny companion. Not only do they help you find a suitable match from their many candidates, they also teach you bunny basics, how to bond them together, and many other helpful things. They also have a great store to purchase your flake timothy hay (a must), litter, treats, and toys. All the things you could want for your bun. Their volunteers work tirelessly to care for the rescued rabbits and are always available for advice and a nail trim. Truly a wonderful place and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a boatload of money to care for the rabbits.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The House Rabbit Society is an amazing organization. We have heavily relied on HRS websites and links to other resources for the care of our 4 house rabbits. We took on house rabbits before discovering HRS, and now can't imagine life without either!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

On May 2 of this year we became the owners of a bunny that was dumped outside to fend for herself when our neighbors moved. We frantically searched for any information to help us keep a safe, happy & healthy bun. I found House Rabbit Society to be an amazing source of help and I am very pleased with the responses and information given to us to ensure our beautiful bun will have a great life!! Anyone with a house bun needs to bookmark HRS!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes that need to be made.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

As new bunny owners we were nervous and excited . These guys inform you everything and make the adoption process a breeze!!!! I can't say enough amazing things about this organization. After adopting Tootsie I find myself looking for every opportunity to help and volunteer .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

As potential adopters, we were both excited and nervous to bring a bunny into our lives. On our first visit 2 years ago we were fortunate to meet the wonderful staff and many potential new furry family members. The volunteers and staff helped to educate us on being first time house rabbit parents. They helped to match us over several visits to a wonderful rabbit. We were very pleased to see that they help match animals to adopters based on personality and lifestyle. We wanted a rabbit that would be good with children and a free range rabbit in our home - and she is just that. She literally sleeps on our bed. If we had not had the guidance of staff and volunteers - we would have selected a rabbit based on physical appearance and missed the wonderful and special relationship we have with Skeeter.

Having been involved with a variety of rescues for a variety of animals - I am impressed by the level of care provided for the rabbits and their committement to worldwide community outreach. They are committed to all of the rabbits that pass through their doors - even after they are adopted. Anytime we have had a question, need boarding, or a vet recommendation - they are there to answer. Their online newsletter and social networking presence are the strongest I have seen in a nonprofit. They do an excellent job of balancing communications with the successes that donations and adoptions can bring and expressing when they have a need for more.

We also have become involved with donations to House Rabbit Society, and we are always confident that monetary and in-kind donations are directly benefiting the rabbits still waiting for homes. Not being affluent, we are selective with where we donate - and we never hesitate to donate to House Rabbit Society when we have the opportunity to. We greatly respect and admire all that they have achieved, and we can't wait to see what else they can do in the years to come!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The House Rabbit Society is such a valuable resource for anyone interested in rabbits, animal advocacy, and rescue work. The difference they make in the lives of the individual animals who are up for adoption at the shelters is matched only by the value of being able to confidently direct people to "rabbit.org" whenever they have a question about these misunderstood creatures. I love visiting the Richmond HQ because it demonstrates a model shelter where the rabbits are cared for by the dedicated staff like the unique individuals they are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so that they can help more rabbits

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I never had a rabbit before and didn't understand how different they were form other pets. A short time on Rabbit.org (HRS website) and I began to get the message. Hours of reading later and I knew all I needed to start providing a good life for my new family member. I almost made a serious mistake in selecting a vet but was able to find a wonderful Rabbit Savvy Vet and get her spayed with no complications. Their website and the local branch people (SE Pa and Del.) are among the first places to go for help, along with my vet. Cookie is now a happy 9 year old that has been with us for 4 of those years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

HRS is THE SF Bay Area spot for rabbit rescue, advocacy, care, education, and support. I have 2 rabbits and use their boarding and grooming services regularly. They also helped manage the "speed dating" process to help find my bunny his partner. The staff/volunteers are knowledgeable, helpful, and have the rabbit's best interest in mind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could afford it I would donate more $ to help their efforts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers