Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The House Rabbit Society is an amazing organization. We have heavily relied on HRS websites and links to other resources for the care of our 4 house rabbits. We took on house rabbits before discovering HRS, and now can't imagine life without either!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I've been a rabbit caretaker for almost six years and in that time I've leaned on the House Rabbit Society's website for most of my rabbit care questions. I've done a lot of research and have found the HRS site to be the most comprehensive, up to date, and user friendly sites on the internet. I found the site great as a beginner rabbit owner 6 years ago and I find it to be a great refresher and fantastic source of new research as an experienced rabbit owner.

I've also emailed HRS volunteers for questions on a variety of topics from how to make moving halfway across Canada in a car easier on BunnyFace, to questions on rabbit rescues in Eastern Canada and,once I had adopted, how to do at home physiotherapy with my new bun. Each time that I have emailed HRS I've received top-notch advice quickly and their experts take the time to understand your situation.

The organization's commitment to rabbit welfare and public education is outstanding; I am particularly fond of the HRS' campaign to prevent parents from buying Easter rabbits for their children. I also find that the commitment they have to informing the public about what type of pets rabbits can and should be is life changing -- both for the humans that they reach and the rabbits who live with them. Holly Golightly went from her pen at a rescue (she had previously been smushed into a tiny cage with six other rabbits and injured, leaving her with a permanent disability) to a cageless life -- and her freedom comes, in large part, from what I read on the HRS site.

Because of HRS Holly is my friend and partner, not merely a caged pet. Thanks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Possibly hire someone to rewrite some of the content.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I have always been interested in owning a rabbit, now more than ever, and I had absolutely no information about what to do, where or how to get one, or really, nothing at all. I came across this wonderful organization, the House Rabbit Society, and, lo and behold, there was WAY more information than I ever thought possible. Best of all, it allowed me to see that rabbits are also up for adoption, which was a complete surprise. I'm still doing research on how to have the perfect home for a new bunny-friend, but I'm definitely going to adopt one from this organization as soon as everything is perfect.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I Have owned two rabbits for 8 years.. Ewey, a Dutch, and Al, a Lop..Both Rescued! They can be tricky.. But to this day,they are very happy and healthy!! Their age's are approx 8-9 years old.
I have relayed on HRS to inform me on a number of issues: health, fun toys for rabbits, housing,
litter, food, general Care, bonding rabbits, emergency situations.. all that, and more, and not necessarily in that order!
I visit the web site frequently, and share this site and info, with new rabbit owners or people who have not a clue what to do for their rabbits welfare.

They are my go to pro's on Rabbit health and care!!! A++++++
Thank you for being there!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I donate and foster bunnies short term for this wonderful organization. Anne is friendly and has a special calm demeanor about her. Some wonderful volunteers work together in this amazing organization. Highly recommended.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

On May 2 of this year we became the owners of a bunny that was dumped outside to fend for herself when our neighbors moved. We frantically searched for any information to help us keep a safe, happy & healthy bun. I found House Rabbit Society to be an amazing source of help and I am very pleased with the responses and information given to us to ensure our beautiful bun will have a great life!! Anyone with a house bun needs to bookmark HRS!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes that need to be made.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

As new bunny owners we were nervous and excited . These guys inform you everything and make the adoption process a breeze!!!! I can't say enough amazing things about this organization. After adopting Tootsie I find myself looking for every opportunity to help and volunteer .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I look at their website all the time for information about rabbits, what a wonderful resource of information they provide in addition to the amazing work they do to find homes for rabbits. Their compassion toward these often misunderstood animals is greatly appreciated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

As potential adopters, we were both excited and nervous to bring a bunny into our lives. On our first visit 2 years ago we were fortunate to meet the wonderful staff and many potential new furry family members. The volunteers and staff helped to educate us on being first time house rabbit parents. They helped to match us over several visits to a wonderful rabbit. We were very pleased to see that they help match animals to adopters based on personality and lifestyle. We wanted a rabbit that would be good with children and a free range rabbit in our home - and she is just that. She literally sleeps on our bed. If we had not had the guidance of staff and volunteers - we would have selected a rabbit based on physical appearance and missed the wonderful and special relationship we have with Skeeter.

Having been involved with a variety of rescues for a variety of animals - I am impressed by the level of care provided for the rabbits and their committement to worldwide community outreach. They are committed to all of the rabbits that pass through their doors - even after they are adopted. Anytime we have had a question, need boarding, or a vet recommendation - they are there to answer. Their online newsletter and social networking presence are the strongest I have seen in a nonprofit. They do an excellent job of balancing communications with the successes that donations and adoptions can bring and expressing when they have a need for more.

We also have become involved with donations to House Rabbit Society, and we are always confident that monetary and in-kind donations are directly benefiting the rabbits still waiting for homes. Not being affluent, we are selective with where we donate - and we never hesitate to donate to House Rabbit Society when we have the opportunity to. We greatly respect and admire all that they have achieved, and we can't wait to see what else they can do in the years to come!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

When my fiancee found that someone in her graduate program needed to give her rabbit a new home I had never owned a rabbit before and decided to do some reasearch. I found the HRS website and they had completely invaluable information there including a great reference directory for veterinarians and many articles and resources to ensure that our rabbits have a good home and life. After that I became "the rabbit guy" who knew everything there was to know about rabbits. I have also visited and taken a rabbit health basics class at the center in richmond which was very useful. The resources available also helped me tremendously in bonding my now 3 rabbits together. I would say their greatest strength is education of people about house rabbits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers