Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I was engaged by House of Hope almost 4 years ago as a finance/ accounting/ grant consultant. At the time, House of Hope was experiencing the same economic challenges of the recession that virtually ... more

October 24, 2013

House of Hope continues its goal of Stakeholder satisfaction. The House achieves this goal through continuous Process Improvement and a commitment to transparency. As the roll out of the Affordable Care Act of 2010 (Covered CA in California) continues to full implementation in 2014, the House is taking the affirmative steps necessary to be compliant while assuring no interruptions of its 58 years of excellent service to addicted women.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was engaged by House of Hope almost 4 years ago as a finance/ accounting/ grant consultant. At the time, House of Hope was experiencing the same economic challenges of the recession that virtually all non-profits were. Even with the difficult times, House of Hope maintained its commitment to provide the highest quality recovery care for women regardless of their economic resources.

Throughout this period House of Hope’ management maintained a policy of openness and transparency into its operations and decisions to its stakeholders, the Board, Regents and Grantors.

Using Process Improvement as a tool, House of Hope adopted changes to its systems resulting in greater efficiencies and improved tracking making sure every dollar got precisely to where it was intended.

This commitment to excellence by management is probably the main reason why the House of Hope has maintained continuous quality operations and service to women since 1955.

Glenn Major, CPA/CCM

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have worked as a therapist in private practice and in the treatment industry for past six years. I am honored to write a review for this gender specific program for woman. House of Hope exudes the feeling that I hoped to feel from every treatment/rehab. House of Hope truly possesses the genuine desire to provide treatment for women in need unlike the industry of filling beds and making a profit. This isn't about filling beds, ego, or business this is about providing care for women in need. This provides treatment to women that don't have the resources to go to other treatment centers and yet this place fills a need that is so desperately needed. This warms my heart and gives me faith in the industry. I had the honor of performing in the House of Hope fundraiser as a performer. I was thoroughly impressed with the alumni, board members, staff, and volunteers. The alumni of House of Hope touched my heart with the power, transformation, and genuine gratitude fro House of Hope. They volunteered for the evening and it was one of the most impressive events I've attended and participated in years. It was above and beyond what I expected. Heather Edney gives her heart and soul to this program. I have been sober 9 years in January and House of Hope renews my faith in the the treatment industry. Tonya Meeks, MFTI Addiction and Dual Diagnosis

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 11, 2012

I've been associated with HOH since 1990 when I was brought onto Board. After serving several years, including Board President, I'm now a Regent - the group of ex-Board members that monitors Board activities for adherence to their Charter. They have an outstanding Board composed of a diversity of professional expertise as well as long term membership in one of the 12 Step Fellowships.The current staff leadership is outstanding creating a superb program of recovery for personal emotional and spiritual development of the clients. Both the periodic standing-room-only graduations ( almost monthly) and the strength, energy and growth of the Alumni group, witness to the effectiveness of this recovery culture. The House of Hope is admired as a beacon of rehabilitation for women, not only in San Pedro but the entire group of South Bay Communities. I ENCOURAGE YOU TO CALL THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND ARRANGE A PERSONAL VISIT!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 7, 2012

In the addiction treatment community there are, (in my opinion), those in the "recovery business" and those in the "business of recovery." As both the executive director of a residential program for women and also a longstanding personal membership in recovery, I consider myself to be the the "business of recovery." I enjoy the excellent and humbling privilege on a literal daily basis, of assisting those who still struggle, to discover the same freedom that was given me long ago. Part of this service is facilitated by offering treatment solutions to those courageous enough to seek it. I take this responsibility very seriously and only refer to treatment facilities that I personally vet and quite frankly those to which I would feel comfortable sending one of my own loved ones. Of all the literally thousands of treatment programs available nationwide, House of Hope is on my very short list of these. As the Executive Director of a women's only residential program, I am even more particular about referring to gender specific programs. On that list, House of Hope is on the very top of my referral choices. One only needs to have a short conversation with any of the individuals on their staff roster to quickly realize that not only is this program a unique and rare testament to what treatment in the best sense should aspire to be, but that the clients fortunate enough to join the House of Hope program will be treated as individuals, not merely another bed filled. I recently referred a close friend who was (like many) not altogether certain that she was ready to embrace sobriety. Her life was in shambles, interpersonal relationships were strained at best and she was profoundly biologically, psychologically and sociologically compromised. Heather Edney, a House of Hope staff member, not only helped this woman feel safe and comfortable about entering treatment, she actually offered to help the emotionally paralyzed and frightened client pack for her stay. This type of personalized response is the talisman of the House of Hope philosophy. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this program - and believe me, I have NO problem honestly evaluating programs. We are not selling sweaters here; these are people's lives. Ms. Edney's commitment and care is the perfect representation of all of her House of Hope colleagues. In addition to their quality of client care, House of Hope also tries to help ANY woman in need. House of Hope staff volunteer endless hours of their personal time toward fundraising support for their scholarship program. The commitment of all involved can easily be recognized in each and every employee - from support staff to board of directors. If you are still reading this affirmation, I think you understand that I am a tremendous fan of House of Hope. I cannot recommend them highly enough - but I do indeed do just that as much as possible. Sincerely yours, Don Grant, Executive Director, Harmony Place Exclusively For Women

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2012

There are good reasons that House of Hope is called a Foundation. By combining residential, counseling and sober living opportunities, HoH becomes a virtual "launchpad" for a lasting recovery with a strong foundation. The House of Hope Foundation delivers high quality, affordable treatment to women at every stage of addiction recovery. Its Executive and Board leadership adeptly blend revenue from private pay and government-funded treatment, however care for each woman responds to her individual need, not to the funding source supporting it. In my professional experience as a program development specialist and grant proposal writer, I know the research-validated critical value of gender-specific treatment. Women, especially those coping with past trauma and domestic violence, which comprise a large proportion with addiction problems, need a nurturing environment with others who understand her specific needs and who support and understand her. I highly recommend The House of Hope Foundation for its integrity, sound leadership, mission-driven accomplishments, flexibility to learn and grow, and ultimately, for its success in delivering the highest quality of care for women coping with substance use and mental disorders.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked in the field of addiction for over 20 years in both the non-profit and for-profit sector, I can honestly say that House of Hope is one of the most remarkable programs I have ever had the honor of working with. Because there is not an equivalent of "consumer reports" when it comes to treatment programs, families have to rely on websites and skilled intake operators, many of whom work on commission. Because House of Hope is a non-profit, mission driven organization, the team is in a constant state of process improvement to ensure the program is as effective as possible. At the same time, the program involved in a diverse range of fundraising activities in order to provide treatment beds to women who cannot afford to pay. This combination creates an environment where high quality treatment is provided for women who have no where else to turn.

Also, I feel it's important to mention the importance of gender specific treatment. Based on my experience both personally and professionally, I have always felt the most effective treatment centers are those that are gender specific. Because so many women (and men) enter treatment with extensive, complicated trauma histories, co-ed facilities are unable to provide a safe space for women to get the most out of the treatment experience, thereby reducing the it efficacy.

Under the leadership of Bobbi Tschirgi, Executive Director, the team at House of Hope is one of the most dedicated I have ever worked with. Not all of our clients make it due to the nature of this disease. But so many of our clients do, going on to live rich, fulfilling lives in recovery. Heather Edney

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers