Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I have had the precious priveledge of volunteering at the House of Hope for the past 10 years bringing in an AA Panel through the Hospitals and Institutions arm of Alcoholics Anonymous. Over my 29 years clean and sober, I've been to numerous programs, sober living situations, and institutions. I have never come across one that is as structured nor has such an incredible level of community involvement. Both of these factors play a key role in what the women who come through these doors take away. They are provided guidance, support, example, and many hours of time from individuals who truly want to see these women become a part of society in a positive and successful way. The testimony is the incredible number of women whom I have watched grow, prosper, and give back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Gosh, I cannot think of a thing at this very moment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 11, 2012

Helen Gilbert, Regent and volunteer I have been with the HOUSE OF HOPE since the early '60's, On the board volunteering, etc. My heart is with them, they saved me and many others and I continue to be active, have aged into being their "Grandma" and I love it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I have been volunteering for the House of Hope for almost 20 years. I have been on fund-raising committees, worked with the women in a group setting, served on the Board of Directors and am presently a Regent. Why do I do this? So I can observe the women becoming who they were meant to be. They blossom into dignified, beautiful women who are now useful members of society. Carole Mason

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 9, 2012

I have been privileged to be a volunteer/counselor(MFT intern) at House of Hope for the past couple of years. I have observed that the House of Hope is not only a place of recovery but also a place of rebirth. I often describe the process seen in this non profit treatment center similar to the metamorphoses of a butterfly. The women come in broken but as they progress through the program there is a beautiful transformation that occurs within them. They not only work very hard to gain their sobriety but they also have the opportunity to address other suppressed issues that have been left untreated during their addiction. There are several classes that educate and provide the women with opportunity to process subjects that are critical to their walk in recovery. The staff at House of Hope is one that is very team oriented and connected. I have had the unfortunate experience at other non profit organizations where there is much disconnect within the staff and the clients often do not get their needs met. This is not true for the House of Hope. The staff "wants" to be there and it shows. The team members may have their own titles with their specific responsibilities but that does not stop them from helping each other in all areas to adhere to the mission of the House of hope to help the women become...women of sober dignity. I am constantly amazed at the progress made at the House of Hope. There are many days out of the week that we will see a former client come in to the office to stay connected and to reveal a milestone reached in their new life of sobriety. House of Hope is definitely a place that lives up to its name..a place of hope and change. I am very thankful for my experience at HOH and have and will continue to recommend it to others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been volunteering at House of Hope in one way or another for over 20 years now. Why? Because it is such a remarkable place! Women come here to get clean and sober, but they are given so much more than that. They are given back their dignity and learn basic life skills: how to have a healthy relationship, how to get back into the workforce, how to get back to school, how to be reunited with their children...and much, much more. They become healthy physically, emtionally, and spiritually. As a volunteer I get to see women come in broken and beat down, and then I get to see their transformation into wonderful women of sober dignity. I cannot imagine my life without having some connection with this magical place, and I plan to volunteer here as long as I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I love the House of Hope in San Pedro! I've seen so many women get clean and sober, grow, complete the program, and move on to happy and productive lives. This place is a real life saver. I've been a volunteer and supporter for the past couple of years, and it has been a most rewarding experience. I recently had the privilege of being the Director and Producer for the First Annual House of Hope Talent Show. We raised well over $30,000.00 for the scholarship fund supporting women needing financial assistance. I'm looking forward to the Second Annual Show in October, 2013 already! Johnny B.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers