Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 9, 2012

I have been privileged to be a volunteer/counselor(MFT intern) at House of Hope for the past couple of years. I have observed that the House of Hope is not only a place of recovery but also a place of rebirth. I often describe the process seen in this non profit treatment center similar to the metamorphoses of a butterfly. The women come in broken but as they progress through the program there is a beautiful transformation that occurs within them. They not only work very hard to gain their sobriety but they also have the opportunity to address other suppressed issues that have been left untreated during their addiction. There are several classes that educate and provide the women with opportunity to process subjects that are critical to their walk in recovery. The staff at House of Hope is one that is very team oriented and connected. I have had the unfortunate experience at other non profit organizations where there is much disconnect within the staff and the clients often do not get their needs met. This is not true for the House of Hope. The staff "wants" to be there and it shows. The team members may have their own titles with their specific responsibilities but that does not stop them from helping each other in all areas to adhere to the mission of the House of hope to help the women become...women of sober dignity. I am constantly amazed at the progress made at the House of Hope. There are many days out of the week that we will see a former client come in to the office to stay connected and to reveal a milestone reached in their new life of sobriety. House of Hope is definitely a place that lives up to its name..a place of hope and change. I am very thankful for my experience at HOH and have and will continue to recommend it to others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 7, 2012

In the addiction treatment community there are, (in my opinion), those in the "recovery business" and those in the "business of recovery." As both the executive director of a residential program for women and also a longstanding personal membership in recovery, I consider myself to be the the "business of recovery." I enjoy the excellent and humbling privilege on a literal daily basis, of assisting those who still struggle, to discover the same freedom that was given me long ago. Part of this service is facilitated by offering treatment solutions to those courageous enough to seek it. I take this responsibility very seriously and only refer to treatment facilities that I personally vet and quite frankly those to which I would feel comfortable sending one of my own loved ones. Of all the literally thousands of treatment programs available nationwide, House of Hope is on my very short list of these. As the Executive Director of a women's only residential program, I am even more particular about referring to gender specific programs. On that list, House of Hope is on the very top of my referral choices. One only needs to have a short conversation with any of the individuals on their staff roster to quickly realize that not only is this program a unique and rare testament to what treatment in the best sense should aspire to be, but that the clients fortunate enough to join the House of Hope program will be treated as individuals, not merely another bed filled. I recently referred a close friend who was (like many) not altogether certain that she was ready to embrace sobriety. Her life was in shambles, interpersonal relationships were strained at best and she was profoundly biologically, psychologically and sociologically compromised. Heather Edney, a House of Hope staff member, not only helped this woman feel safe and comfortable about entering treatment, she actually offered to help the emotionally paralyzed and frightened client pack for her stay. This type of personalized response is the talisman of the House of Hope philosophy. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this program - and believe me, I have NO problem honestly evaluating programs. We are not selling sweaters here; these are people's lives. Ms. Edney's commitment and care is the perfect representation of all of her House of Hope colleagues. In addition to their quality of client care, House of Hope also tries to help ANY woman in need. House of Hope staff volunteer endless hours of their personal time toward fundraising support for their scholarship program. The commitment of all involved can easily be recognized in each and every employee - from support staff to board of directors. If you are still reading this affirmation, I think you understand that I am a tremendous fan of House of Hope. I cannot recommend them highly enough - but I do indeed do just that as much as possible. Sincerely yours, Don Grant, Executive Director, Harmony Place Exclusively For Women

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been a member of the House of Hope Board of Directors for 7 years. I am very Honored to be involved with an organization that was built from Blood, Sweat and Tears 57 years ago. The Mission of the House of Hope has always been one of service to the woman alcoholic bringing dignity and love within a structure of safety. There is a healthy and spiritual energy at the House of Hope.Women leave with respect, confidence and have purpose in life. One can choose from many various treatment center programs. The House of Hope has been tested and retested and continues to be a winner in all aspects of achieving successful treatment for women. Ed Storti, CADC ii, BRI, II

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I truly learned the definition of charity upon being accepted into the House of Hope. For years I not only knocked on the gates of hell, I was screaming to get in. Instead the white gates of the House of Hope swung open; as well as the hearts of the staff. In the 4 months I lived in residential treatment I was taught how to live life as it shows up. My education there gave me blessings & insights to reflect on daily. I was invited to sober living in August and find myself in safe environment, with many opportunities to give back what I was so freely given. If you have any questions, please email me @ su2577aol.com.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 7, 2012

It has been extremely inspiring to witness how many of the women who come to the House from all walks of life, some from the street, some from jail, or elsewhere, and have given up all hope, join the program and regain their self respect and get on a path of clean and sober and turn their lives around. And for most of them, at no cost to them. That personifies the mission of the House of Hope.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been volunteering at House of Hope in one way or another for over 20 years now. Why? Because it is such a remarkable place! Women come here to get clean and sober, but they are given so much more than that. They are given back their dignity and learn basic life skills: how to have a healthy relationship, how to get back into the workforce, how to get back to school, how to be reunited with their children...and much, much more. They become healthy physically, emtionally, and spiritually. As a volunteer I get to see women come in broken and beat down, and then I get to see their transformation into wonderful women of sober dignity. I cannot imagine my life without having some connection with this magical place, and I plan to volunteer here as long as I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Four and half years ago I was homeless, helpless,hopeless and had no where or no one to turn to. The House of Hope took me in when no one else would and for good reason. HOH allowed me to see me, taught me to love myself and allowed me to realize that I am a life worth saving. I have so much to be grateful for today and I wouldn't have any of it if I didn't get the strong foundation that the House of Hope allowed me to lay. I am eternally grateful, Melissa M.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

When I came to House of Hope, almost three years ago, I was directionless and felt hopeless. I was incapable of doing what was necessary to change my circumstances. The lifestyle of addiction led me into a darkness I thought I would never return from. I found security and guidance as well as support at House of Hope. I have begun to build a foundation of recovery and rebuild my life since completing 4 months of treatment. I have had the privilege of continued support in sober living, I am working, supporting myself and paying my bills and living a more fulfilled life than I imagined.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am grateful to the House of Hope for showing me a new way of life. When I entered the House of Hope in 2006 I had hit bottom, I had been drinking and using for over 25 years of my life. I never thought that change was possible. House of Hope taught me how to live life on life's terms and loved me until I was able to love myself!!! While at the House of Hope I learned coping skills, social skills and responsibility. I also learned the computer skills that helped lead to the job that I have today. But most importantly I gained self-confidence and self-respect. Now 6 years 5 months later I have a life beyond my wildest dreams, I am not just surviving; I am actually living!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I love the House of Hope in San Pedro! I've seen so many women get clean and sober, grow, complete the program, and move on to happy and productive lives. This place is a real life saver. I've been a volunteer and supporter for the past couple of years, and it has been a most rewarding experience. I recently had the privilege of being the Director and Producer for the First Annual House of Hope Talent Show. We raised well over $30,000.00 for the scholarship fund supporting women needing financial assistance. I'm looking forward to the Second Annual Show in October, 2013 already! Johnny B.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers