Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over 25 years and it has been the most rewarding experience. The people at HAI are so wonderful and totally focussed on helping the disadvantaged.Even though they started out helping hospitalized children their mission over the years has expanded to include so much more.Recently they used ther buses to take volunteers to Rockways to help Sandy victims.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I am a new volunteer at the HAI Saturday Art Studio and I relish my time working with this group of dedicated artists who come here each week to connect through art making. I am continually blown away by the art that comes out of this nurturing and supportive environment and am so grateful to be part of this program. As a working artist I find this experience has enriched my own practice by experiencing so many new ways of thinking about art.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

HAI is an excellent service organization filling the needs of so many NYC residents. I've personally had the opportunity to volunteer for a large number of their programs across all of their departments and have seen the significant impact that their services have on individual lives. Their after-school programs provide a much needed outlet for hundreds of students at schools throughout the five boroughs, giving them the opportunity not only to express themselves but to learn about new forms of expression by attending plays and performances in this culturally diverse city. Their arts workshops are probably my favorite program. They provide a Saturday Workshop with free materials to individuals with little to no training and who have often been marginalized because of mental illness. I value the time that I've spent serving with HAI, and the positive impact on communities throughout NY that I've personally witnessed as a volunteer with their services. I will undoubtedly continue to serve with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer art instructor at the HAI Saturday Art Studio for almost 3 years, and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I often feel that the workshop participants have taught me far more than I have taught them. As an art director, graphic designer, illustrator, and teacher at Parsons the New School for Design, I have found my practice immeasurably expanded through volunteering at HAI. The enthusiasm and creativity of the participants has opened up my thinking about visual art more than I would ever have imagined. Most importantly, I feel like part of an extended family. It is an honor to be part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Five years ago a friend recommended HAI (Hospital Audiences) as a great venue for volunteering. Since I finally had some time to donate and to “give back”, I started volunteering at HAI. My goal was to provide my services to others by facilitating their attendance at cultural events and thus enhancing their lives.
Little did I know that, thru my years of volunteering at HAI, my life would also be enhanced and enriched!
There are no words to describe my joy at watching someone in wonderment as they experience, sometimes for the first time, a cultural experience which they never would have gotten to see if not for HAI.
I hope to continue to see first- hand the benefits experienced by the community which HAI serves for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

HAI has a program for blind and visually impaired people. They describe live theater and when I volunteer for example at the Radio City Christmas show and the kids go up to the describer afterwards and hug them and tell them how much the enjoyed the show, I know I am doing a great thing. Way to go HAI

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2011

more

April 17, 2011

HAI provides a invaluable source of entertainment and cultural education for our city's under-served and handicapped communities. A diverse array of events are offered to the members of HAI and as volunteers, we have the pleasure of providing admission to these activities, while being able to engage in a very personal and intimate setting. I have had the pleasure of enjoying dance recitals, baseball games, and community dances with our community and have shared their moments of joy and excitement. The HAI program truly makes everyone's lives a little better.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own personal life. As I mentioned earlier, I share the same joy that our members do when seeing a beautiful performance or a great game. More importantly, I enjoy my time with our members, and the opportunity to share with THEIR experiences.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Possibly create more chances to speak one on one with the members and their liaisons after events to gain their overall feedback.

April 15, 2011

more

April 15, 2011

I retired in 1997 and for 3 years I was trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my spare time. The first year of my retirement my husband took ill and passed away. Therefore I had even more time on my hands.

I met up with my cousin's coworker at a family function, and knowing that I
used to arrange theater groups, he told me that he volunteered for an organization called Hospital Audiences (HAI). He told me the functions of a volunteer and how they help distribute tickets for events to groups that come from hospital facilities for the physical and mentally disabled, and it was like I had an ephiphany. I suddenly knew what I wanted to do with my spare time.

I went for the interview and got the job as a volunteer. I have been volunteering with HAI for over a year and it has been a wonderful experience. I couldn't have worked for a nicer group of people.

The joy on the faces of the people we serve is a reward in itself as they enjoy the different events that are scheduled.

I try to volunteer on a average of 4 times a month because I know that many of these residents look forward to these outings.

I am also pleased that I also enriched my own cultural experience as a volunteer and I get to take my granddaughter with me as my guest to share in the cultural experiences.

I love volunteering for this agency. After 40 years of working at a job because I had to, I am finally doing something that I love to do and helping others enjoy this experience as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way the residents of the different facilities are eager to attend the events that tickets are provided for (sporting events, theater, etc,) and the pleasure they derive from it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to obtain tickets to even more events around the city. Even though they are doing are great job, I really have no complaints.

December 13, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 13, 2010

I have been a volunteer for over 20 years now and the reason I keep volunteering is that everytime I help Hai I get immediate gratification from seeing the joy on the faces of the charity participants.
Unfortunately although New York has so many wonderful live events the cost of attending is
way beyond the means of the people being serviced by HAI. It is wonderful to see cheildren experience a live event for the first time and just as wonderful when a senior that thought it wouldn't happen again experience it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my 20 years of service, they consistently bring joy to underprivelged New Yorkers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more buses so they can bring more groups that can't take public transportation.

December 12, 2010

more

December 12, 2010

I love what we do at HAI.
It's well run and our participants are happy with what we give them access to.
I'm looking forward to seeing HAI become a public service.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my interactions with our participants, and their feedback. Many of them said they were looking forward to every opportunities to come w/ us and that it was their breath of fresh air with "normal" life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it into a government public service.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers