Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

How can I ever put into words the depth of gratitude that I feel for Hospice by the Bay for the compassion and care the organization has given to me when the need arose in my own family many years ago now. And then when I watched my good friends walk the journey at the end of their lives and see their faces light up whenever their Hospice Helper would come to visit or attend to their needs...these were and still are treasured memories for me, The happiest moments for me are when I hear my colleagues ask for more information regarding Hospice by the Bay or when they inform me about learning more about Hospice from handouts such as JUST IN CASE. Being in touch with Hospice by the Bay, for me, is like holding hands with an old and caring friend and what is more than such a friendship that is there for life!!

September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I feel so lucky to have the guidance of the professionals at Hospice By The Bay. When I completed my training last Dec. I had several losses of my own and they were so patient with me until I was ready to begin volunteering. My first client was a wonderful tiny 98 yr old lady and I enjoyed her so much. In my notes the Hospice staff recognized a few behaviors of mine which needed to be discussed with staff. I realized I had overstepped my role and they were very gracious about steering me in the right direction without punishing me. I so appreciate that. I love my volunteer commitment because they have my back.
Kathy Bass
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I have been a Hospice By the Bay volunteer for about 6 months or so and the organization has given me the tools I need to go into the community and effectively care for others. I have support, follow-up and resources and I never feel like I am going to a home/nursing facility on my own. My training was highly thorough and enjoyable. The staff is sincere and helpful to the volunteers at Hospice, they really make you feel like you are a big part of the team. I highly recommend this non-profit organization for patients, you will never feel like you are going through this chapter in your life alone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I just returned from the funeral of my hospice patient of the last ten months, and I cannot tell you how much the patient and his family appreciated all the things Hospice By the Bay did for them. Each family member sought me out at the funeral to thank me for my contribution and by Hospice By the Bay for its many services. Even in the obituary the family recognized Hospice by the Bay for "its exceptional care" and directed any donations to Hospice even though the family was very committed to its church. When I visited the patient, I was amazed at all the services that Hospice provides from medical care to bedside care to palliative care to spiritual care, and all in a very compassionate and kind way to a needy soul. I could tell he felt valued to have Hospice take care of him at a time of life when it is easy to feel disconnected and forgotten. I consider it an honor to represent such a fine organization.
During my initial training I was impressed by how well run and organized both the classes and the organization are - they are quality, sensitive, caring and thoughtful people who serve a great mission. It is by far the best run non-profit I have ever been involved with and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been a Hospice by the Bay volunteer for over a year and find this organization to be highly professional with a focus on continuing education and ethical best practices.There is rigorous adherence to Federal medical guidelines and thorough training in all aspects of this work. The volunteer coordinator in my area is a well informed, very compassionate person, who is an inspiration. She is remarkably upbeat, highly accessible, and simply a wonderful person to interact with.Therefore, 5 thumbs up for Hospice by the Bay.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

i have been a hospice by the bay volunteer for 14 months. in that time i have had the privilege of sitting with people and sometimes their families during this important part of their life journey. we review and honor their lives, we laugh and i get to hear lots of wisdom from these special individuals who are far wiser than i am. i hope. that i provide a service that is helpful but the gifts that i get are beyond anything i've ever experienced. i am grateful for this opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hard to say, it is a growing organization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Four years after the death of my husband, supported in his last weeks of life by Hospice by the Bay nurses, doctors and staff, I was ready to "pay back", so to speak. I had worked for 20 years as an RN, so hoped it would be a good fit.
I have now volunteered for the past two years in their
office with the Patient Care Support team. Doctors, nurses, social workers, office staff - what an amazing group of people they are! They never fail to say thank you. I am honored and privileged to volunteer here. I receive far more than I give!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been a volunteer at Hospice by the Bay for less than a year but in that short amount of time I have fallen in love with the place. The staff and the volunteers are some of the nicest and most genuine people I have ever met. And the work they do is nothing short of sacred. I don't know of any other organization that does its job so well, and with such heart and integrity. Thank goodness for Hospice by the Bay and all the wonderful and soulful work that they do.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

My first association with Hospice By The Bay was 16 years ago when my husband was dying. As a family, we experienced a myriad of feelings, from fear to helplessness, and even anger. The Hospice Social Worker assigned to us was like a miracle stepping in; she was able to gently guide us through the steps, normalize our emotions and reassure us that everything was being managed (and it was!) .

From that time on, I have wanted to be a part of such a remarkable team, so I took the (excellent!) training class and have been volunteering for the past 3 years. The work is very rewarding, each assignment touching my heart. No matter how challenging the case may be, there is reassurance in knowing that the most amazing team of professionals is always supporting us. It is truly a privilege to be volunteering with HBTB.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I had worked as a nurse for 20 years before deciding to look into working with Hospice. I chose to do Complimentary Care as a volunteer in 2009. I was amazed at the extremely thorough volunteer training and how dedicated the staff and volunteers at Hospice By the Bay were! I have had nothing but positive feedback from anyone who has been involved with our Hospice. I feel fortunate to work with such a fine organization.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Staff our Marin thrift stores or used book room; help in our offices; work at a fundraising event; sew comfort bears for grieving children; and other special projects. We also have trained patient care volunteers who help out at the residence. Those certified in body work, music therapy or animal social visits can also voluntter their expertise to our patients. Volunteer