Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 31, 2014

more

January 31, 2014

When my Father was dying, a Hospice nurse came to the door. From the minute she arrived, there was a tremendous feeling of relief for me. She was taking charge of every detail, ordering things such as medicine to keep Dad comfortable, a hospital bed, and so many details I could never have attended to. She worked with us to make the last day a calm, and supportive day. She coached us of what to watch for, and what to do during the last night. My family knew when to make the last-minute telephone call. As a result, I was able to spend Dad's last fifteen minutes with him and his passing was not a frantic event.
The peace and confidence which arrived with the Hospice nurse is beyond price. I can't begin to thank the organization enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps make more people aware of the tremondous support it offers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

As a volunteer, I have found Hospice by the Bay to be an excellent, very dependable, and caring organization; this applies throughout the organization. From their superior staff to their outreach activities, continuing professional education and client follow-up, their expert handling of any aspect of palliative and hospice care is a trustworthy source of help and comfort in all aspects of palliative and hospice care. Based on my own interactions with their clients, I feel that my confidence in Hospice by the Bay is shared by many.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none at this time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

I completed my volunteer training in March of 2009 and on the last day of April, 2009, I was laid off from my long time position with a large cardiology practice. Having my hospice work helped keep me grounded and giving while I worked through the shock, disbelief and anger of the grieving process. It really helped fight the depression to be able to help others and focus my attention outside myself and give that attention to others who are fighting their own battles with much higher stakes than mine.
Volunteers are consistently shown respect and appreciation by the staff at HBTB. Our time and our efforts are valued, and the training is effective and enables volunteers to improve our skills. After almost four years of affiliation, I have never regretted my decision to volunteer for this outstanding organization of caring individuals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

As a volunteer for HBTB, the training was excellent. Thorough to every detail from the patient to the volunteer. Assignments are offered at your choice. The requirements to become and also maintain your position is structured well. It is an outstanding organization to volunteer with. The Coordinator I work with is wonderful. It is with great pleasure to have his support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not for me to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Volunteering at SFHBTB has been a very gratifying experience for me. I have worked with their highly professional staff and completed a training with a group of highly commited volunteers. The most gratifying experiences have been with patients and their families for whom this time with their loved one is so valued and life changing for all. i feel priveleged to share these times with patients and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Before moving to San Francisco in 2005, I had been employed as a full time nurse at Connecticut Hospice in Branford, CT. for 7 years as well as a volunteer for 2 years.
I was accustomed to the high standards of excellence and care at the CT Hospice.
So when I moved to SF, I contacted
Hospice by the Bay about the possibility of volunteering once again.
I was pleasantly surprised to find the same excellence of care and concern that I was accustomed to and trained as a volunteer right away.

I have had numerous wonderful experiences at Hospice by the Bay and highly recommend this agency to all the people I know who might one day need the services.

I can't say enough about this agency! But now I can say that I've worked at 2 of the best Hospices in this country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

I volunteer in the SF office and I visit one patient. It has been very personally rewarding and I have learned more than I expected. HBTB is a great organization. HBTB also has many wonderful and dedicated employees who constantly are working to best serve and care for their clients and their clients families. I would highly recommend HBTB to anyone looking for the right hospice for their family or whether it be for a job or volunteer position.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

I knew I wanted to volunteer in the Hospice field, but I could have never imagined how informative the training , how supportive the staff & how powerfully moving & fulfilling the work they organize would be... I'm truly grateful for the company & for its people who ensure a positive impact/experience on those lives they touch...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

After retiring following 34 years as a teacher and school principal, I chose to become a Hospice volunteer. I was so impressed with Hospice when my parents were each patients that I wanted to give back to others in the same way. My experiences has far exceeded my expectations.

Hospice
By the Bay is a very ethical, professional organization. The week-long training at the start of my tenure was well organized, pertinent, and personal. While I am a volunteer, I know that my work is valued and a necessary part of the program. The manner in which volunteers are treated mirrors that level of importance. My volunteer time is valued, flexible and varied. Our contribution is recognized in many ways including events honoring volunteers.

But, most importantly, the personal satisfaction and sense of value I experience from visiting and helping Hospice patients is life-changing. I feel fortunate that there is an organization such as Hospice By the Bay that provides such an invaluable service to individuals and families facing end-of-life events in such a well-organized and supportive atmosphere that my experience can be nothing but positive. That same positive experience is echoed by fellow Hospice volunteers, patents, and their families. Hospice By the Bay is truly a gift to our community in providing the means for individuals and families to experience the end of life in a calm, comfortable, and supportive environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I don't think I know anyone who has not been touched by Hopice whether it be with service to a family member, friend, business associate, or friend of a friend. They provide such a valuable service to the community. To pay them back, I volunteer for their annual events which takes only a few days of my year. By volunteering, I have met the most amazing people as staff of Hospice and other volunteers. It is truly a win, win to spend time with these special people!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Staff our Marin thrift stores or used book room; help in our offices; work at a fundraising event; sew comfort bears for grieving children; and other special projects. We also have trained patient care volunteers who help out at the residence. Those certified in body work, music therapy or animal social visits can also voluntter their expertise to our patients. Volunteer