Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.03395
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am very saddened to see the negative comments, regarding this organization, they come across as hate filled and full of spite. I have been to The ranch 4 times in apprx 3 years. I have seen some financial struggles, but I have never seen neglect or abuse of the animals. a couple of the animals I spent time with, had troublesome health issues, not unlike older humans experience, especially after being in a prior environment that was not healthy or nurturing, and some bodies, no matter the medical intervention just can never seem to bounce back. We do not immediate jump to put humans out of their misery, we make them as comfortable as possible, maintaining their dignity and give them as much love as possible til time for their final journey, this is not thought of as heinous or criminal when we do it for humans why then would one feel it is wrong to allow nature to take it's course with horses? Horsesisters , IS a peaceful, gentle and loving environment for convalescence and for hospice care of these hooved creatures. My final observance is again directed to those who continue to attack and bombard multiple sites, the county and other organizations with their very UNHELPFUL, HATEFUL and HURTFUL remarks and comments. YOU ARE THE TYPE OF PEOPLE THAT WOULD PUSH to the ground, a man struggling to stand in a fierce wind, then stand on top of him to prevent him from getting up. This IS an organization that is dear to me, and I value the work they are able to do and the services they provide to both the horses, humans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and donate it to them so that they would never have financial concerns again, wave my magic wand and convince the negative "Nellies" that are intent on trying to harm the organization, to reach out a HELPING, loving and supportive hand or at least ENCOURAGE others to do so rather than constantly undermining the attempts of those that do. This IS an organization that is dear to me, and I value the work they are able to do and the services they provide to both the horses, humans

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I read, with some incredulity the review posted by An Expert. I have some questions and statements in regard to same. First let's start with the neighbor and the 2 injunctions for protection that were filed. You sort of neglect to mention both were dismissed by the judge following a hearing. Anyone can file an injunction, if you don't have facts to back your claim the judge will dismiss your filing as was done here.
If as you mention the land is free why on tax filings were $27,000 written off for land and buildings? The land is free so the landowner should get the deduction. The only permanent building is not even completed and I see no permits for this. This would make the building a legal liability.
As far as claiming that they are sabotaging the wiring, do you have any proof such as dated pictures? That is leaning very close to libel. The horses have gotten out many times as evidenced by dated photos, in fact some this morning, when they had to come back and move horses. Or do you have any proof that any of the thefts are related to this neighbor?
If they are not charging the nonprofit for fuel, tack and such why are they writing these expenditures off on their tax return (citing 2010) to the tune of $4970.54, truck lease $2,606, Saddles $4,800, riding tack $4,000, driving tack $4.000 etc?
But all this is trivial. The real concern, and the ONLY concern, is the horses. The judge in his final judgement stated this "6. Respondents/Owners shall not acquire any additional equines unless and until the
Court determines that Respondents/Owners are financially able to adequately provide for said
animals. Respondents/Owners may adopt out remaining equines, but shall not replace them
without Court approval." Unlike some of the other provisions in this final judgement, this did not have an end date attached to it. There are now 3 additional horses on this property that arrived on 6/30/2013. They are in a state of starvation, flat out painful abusive starvation. There was one other but it colicked and was put down. Not only does Horsesister's appear to be in violation of a court order by bringing in more horses but in the months since their arrival they have gone steadily downhill. On that mule you mention you can see the hipbones sticking out like wings and every other bone in that body. You see huge pits in the head where they should be fat and muscle. Yes, this mule is dying a slow and painful misery. Why, if this is the caring charity as is claimed, aren't all the horses being fed something besides beet pulp. Why do some horses have a full round bale while the horses on the other side of the fence have little to nothing. The concern is that horses do not die and to that end yes, a noise will be made. It is only right. I might ask too that why the horses that were confiscated from Horsesister's before gained weight while being held by the courts? If they were ill and unable to gain weight they would not gain weight anywhere.
I've worked at horse rescues and in none of the rescues that I've worked with even with starving horses off the feedlots was there anything like the conditions I am seeing at Horsesister's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close down and send the horses to new homes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have personally been to Horse Sisters and have seen for myself the excellent work being done there. The people that choose to hide behind false names and make hateful comments have never been to or have seen what Horse Sisters does. The director works diligently to raise necessary funds for this rescue. There are many, many rescues that are not in it for the right reasons and I can tell you, this place IS in it for the right reasons. They do not abuse or neglect any of their charges. As a matter of fact, it is the exact opposite. Excellent place to go if all you want/need to do is hug a horse and they love peppermints.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more time to spend there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization has been under court orders associated with the care of their equines, for over a year. Even though the time ran out of some of the requirements by the courts, the condition of the equines was so strongly in question that the case has been reopened. The animals are not being fed the amount needed to keep them at a health weight. Emaciated horses have been explained as "new to the ranch" when they were there a year ago, the time I started to watch this organization. An unusually large number of horses are not getting vet care when it is needed, and die or are put down. The most recent was actually a newer addition to their herd (specifically against court orders). The horse colicked and in front of a law officer, they chose not to have a vet visit, but instead shot it in the head. They were visited by BASE as recently as yesterday. The husband has full access to this organization and those that are on the grounds, even though he has been convicted of at least one crime that involved a minor.

I can not explain the other reviews that have been writtten here, regarding how wonderful this organization is. Take the time to review the court documents that are available. Take the time to go to the Brevard County records that are online.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would bring in a true equine expert to run the organization and look out for the well being of the animals, and I would make sure that the equines were receiving adequate food, vet care, and hands on attention.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

WOW, I can't believe the nonsense reviews. This "charity" has been investigated multiple times for animal neglect and abuse. Has starved multiply horses to death. Recently shot and COMPOSTED a starved horse. They are under COURT ORDER to not take in any more equines, or should I say in VIOLATION of court order. The "woman" who runs the place Clairese Austin is currently fighting felony battery on a code enforcement officer. She is also being sued civilly. Google their name, see the pictures of the horses in their care. Go to craigslist for the space coast area, see the posts by Mrs. Austin herself, begging for help to compost a horse, who does that? Go to Brevard County Court records, see the many times that they have been charged with loose horses, fines NOT paid. There are so many illegal and cruel things that happen at this "charity" it's terribly frightening. Go to Beauty's Haven rescue in Morriston, and see Gentleman, the draft horse that she adopted from them, that almost starved to death, and is still going strong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CLOSE IT DOWN, they are a blight on society and the equine world

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful


My review is directed toward the misinformation and half truths spread by one, Lynn Lambo. Ms. Lambo has provided reviews to discredit HorseSisters as this organization struggles to maintain their donor base so essential to all charities. As stated by Ms. Lambo she does indeed spend an
inordinate amount of time maintaining a Facebook group dedicated to presenting HorseSisters in a negative light. There are a handful of members of this “group” page and it seems Ms. Lambo does the lion’s share of posting, with no check and balance as she chooses who and who is not a member. Basically, no one challenges her. With that said, HorseSisters is a charity which survives on donations. Ms. Lambo attacks HorseSisters’ work to secure donors. Why? These donations provide the necessary funds to care for the horses Ms. Lambo so emphatically states she worries about. ??? Ms. Lambo, though not participating in any feeding or other care of these animals, presents the horses as “food insecure.” One has to ask, “how would she know?” What intimate knowledge could she possible have? ??? According to public records, three horses were removed from HorseSisters and a Fit to Own hearing held by Brevard County. One was returned, and even as admitted by Ms. Lambo, was “deemed healthy” by the Court. The other two horses were of advanced age and were “remanded” to the individuals who were in the process of adopting them. For those who don’t understand the legal term Remand… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Remand_(court_procedure) Based on the definition, it is obvious that by remanding the horses to the care of the adopters, the Court was taking the animals from the care of Brevard County Animal Services and placing them BACK IN THE CARE of the adopters. The Court, citing the financial difficulties facing HorseSisters, did not remove any horses from their care but in fact, found HorseSisters FIT TO OWN. To ensure the correctness of the decision, the Court allowed Brevard County Animal Services to monitor HorseSisters for a period of one year. That has been several months ago and no adverse actions have been instituted against HorseSisters to date meaning…. THE HORSES ARE BEING CARED FOR. Therefore, it is my position that Lynn Lambo is single handedly blocking donations to HorseSisters based on misinformation which, in addition to reducing funds to the charity, also has served as interference to the investigative function of Brevard Animal Services in contradiction to Order of Judge Friedland and the law. Lynn Lambo’s actions to interfere with this charity have created the false appearance of failings on the part of HorseSisters but even with the set backs, they have persevered and continue to move forward. Lynn Lambo appears to live in a world where she believes herself the moral compass by which we all must live. She appears to not be able to recognize that others have benefited from this charity and that many people would like for the charity to continue its operations absent her interference, including with the lawful processes designed to reveal the truth and justice. Where I come from, this is called DELUSION, Ms. Lambo.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Pleased to see that the community is stepping up and helping this organization. With the influx of support they have been able to provide the care the horses have required and volunteers are working hands on with them. They may be room for them to potentially expand and help additional horses with support! Please I strongly encourage you to go to an Open House event and see all the horses and then discuss how you can help them prosper. Personal visits are very inspiring and will motivate you to take personal action! The ranch is open once a week and I promise it will be worth your time!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

to put it simply any one that wants to give good hard earned money should ride out and see horsesisters horses,i did and after i saw how they are being kept for my self. and my daughter that used to live right by them used to have many problems with these same horse's breaking out and coming in her yard to eat.now anyone that knows anything about horses know they will not break out that much unless they are hungry.and when my daughter tried to call someone she knew that had a horse out there to let them know,she was cussed out by Mrs.Clairese. i was in fear that my 3 year old grand daughter or some of the other little children would get ran over by these horses.i my self along with my husband have gone by horsesisters more then a few time,and i my self see a decline in a lot of horses out there.i would say do go out and see for you self before you give anyone money.check them out for yourselves as i did.to me horsesisters is weakly ran,i feel my heart breaking for these poor animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I do not understand why something that happened in May is being brought up again if you people are all so concerned instead of trying to descredit them why dont you get off your assssss and volunteer and or donate. They are trying they may not have a perfect farm but how are they to survive and help horses if you try to get donations taken away.. If I was closer I would volounteer and I would help to the best I could. Yes maybe at times people maybe take more than they could handle that always isnt the answer but for crying out loud the spca came in and too the old guy and he died if any of you have any brains the stress on a old horse and virus that could be on the trailers the spca doesn't know crap about horses in my opinion and do they disinfect there trailer doubt it. You all need to get a life and stop stalking this rescue get of your asses and do something productive!!! like HELP!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Horses are not cared for, never brushed or hooves checked. Never loved. No grass for grazing. Receive 1 cup of beet pulp a day, and maybe a flake of hay to share one time a day. Owner is loud, rude, refuses to accept any criticism. People have inquired about adopting a horse and she refuses. Overall, just one big sad situation where the horses are suffering.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

brush and groom any of the 22 horses, 1 mule and 1 donkey - help mow and trim weeds - maintain horse drawn vehicles - maintain equipment - help with an event - Volunteer