Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.071435
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I am a former volunteer, and I have so tried to ignore this woman, but it was just brought to my attention that in the last year this ranch has FOUR violations for loose livestock(I've been in horses for over 30 years and never had a single one) Total fines equaling $8715. This is just the last YEAR. She has also had charges for battery on a code enforcement officer, she has a long standing court order to not acquire any more equines. No organization can be considered great when they are in court several times a year for criminal infractions

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization needs to be completely disbanded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

My kids and grand kids love visiting and feeding the horses carrots and apples, there are NO horses with their ribs showing... It is a shame that the haters are causing so many problems, the Horses are the one suffering, the writer of that review Needs to get help! We love the farm and the horses are beautiful !, and the donkey!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would find a way to educate the public of how precious this facility is and how much the volunteers help, there is always something that can be done to help the horses!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

My family and I have been Horsesisters on several occasions to volunteer and I also stay informed through their social media sites. Clairese, her husband Ron and everyone who volunteers have the biggest hearts and their lives revolve around the horses and other animals that they rescue. My life has been enriched by getting to know them and by learning what they do. They make me ask myself often what I am doing in my own life to help animals and other humans that need the help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We came to Horsesisters for my son. We have always been horse lovers and horse people in general. When we moved to Florida we had to leave or beloved horses behind. About a year ago my 12 yr old son started becoming a victim of bullying. The physical violence inflicted on him was affecting the whole family and him greatly. As parents we were very frustrated, stressed and worried and our child was very angry and scared. He needed an outlet to channel that anger. Back in Nc with our horse we always had peace around our horses so we thought maybe we could find a place that we could get our child back around the animals he loved so dear. So we began our search. We had heard about Horsesisters so we went out and talked to the people . Everyone is great out there. My don meet a beautiful paint out there and just fell in love with her. All of the volunteers are welcoming and there are tons of sweet friendly animals as well. We found the peace and happiness we were do looking for by just watching the smile on our child's face at Horsesisters .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

My experience with HorseSisters has been absolutely amazing. I started riding here when I was really young and have learned so much through my 6-7 years. The horses have changed my life greatly and he... more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with this organization since 2007 and it has been an amazing life changer for me. I can not see my life anywhere else if it wasn't for HorseSisters. I enjoy my time out there, I always have something to do. Whether it be with my horse, helping out with physical work, or teaching other about the horses and what we do. And it all makes me very happy. I've learned so much, not just with the horses, but with life skills as well. I've learned to become a leader, have self confidence, patience, and independence. These people are my family and always will be. This is my honest truth about this place. It is my home away from home. I feel comfortable here and I look forward to a great future with the horses and everyone who volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes. But if anything were to ever pop up, I would do my best to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My experience with HorseSisters has been absolutely amazing. I started riding here when I was really young and have learned so much through my 6-7 years. The horses have changed my life greatly and helped me through the loss of my father. The therapeutic work from these magnificent animals is just heart warming. I am glad to say that I have been a volunteer for so long and have one of my own horses that I have adopted. He is so well trained especially at his age. I'm glad that I have adopted him from HorseSisters, he means the world to me. I look forward to so many more years to come with this great organization and hope to see new bright faces along the way, including my friends who are about to start their own journey here! I recommend that anyone who wishes to ride or volunteer and wants to have horses in their lives come check out HorseSisters. You will be amazed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome group of people and cause. Anything negative is unbiased, they have obviously never been out there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Volunteer time and donate money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I used to be a volunteer for Horse Sisters for over 4 years and let me tell u they did a lot to help me. I had a very bad case of depression and every time i went to the ranch to help out it was gone. The events that they do are great and are always willing to do what they can for both kids with special needs and adults that are just looking for something to do. Not only did they help me with my depression problem, they also helped me break out of my shell and get back into a social life again. The things that they do there are just amazing. I even got to the point that i began to train some of the horses and that helped even more. They take great care of there animals and always make sure that they are healthy. Even tho some of you may think otherwise because of the thing you may have read or seen on the news but there is WAY more to the story that of course no one wants u to see. THEY HAVE NEVER mistreated any of there horses in any way. I do not volunteer there any more due to my work schedule but i do try to make it out the the ranch at least 2 a month to see the horses. If you are looking for something for your kids to do over summer vacation, I highly recommend Horse Sisters.
September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just recently started volunteering at Horsesisters and the first thing that I noticed was the love that the owners have for their animals. They are kind, warm people who obviously care deeply in helping the horses, mule, and donkey feel loved, safe and well fed. It is an honor to have met them and to be a volunteer at Horsesisters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers and doners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I personally think HorseSisters is awesome despite the crap they have been through and all the rude things said. They have come far in leaps and bounds and continue to be a great rescue!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it so they get more donations

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We started volunteering for HorseSisters 3years ago and enjoy it very much. My wife and I love animals and I especialy horses,and HorseSisters gave us the opportunity to help the horses as much as we are able to.The directors at HorseSisters aare very pationate about their good cause organization and do all they can do to help these animals.We are glad we are part of this organization and recomend HorseSisters to everyone who likes to help animals. Thank you HorseSisters for what you are doing for these beutifull cretures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

brush and groom any of the 22 horses, 1 mule and 1 donkey - help mow and trim weeds - maintain horse drawn vehicles - maintain equipment - help with an event - Volunteer