Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.071435
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
December 5, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

to put it simply any one that wants to give good hard earned money should ride out and see horsesisters horses,i did and after i saw how they are being kept for my self. and my daughter that used to live right by them used to have many problems with these same horse's breaking out and coming in her yard to eat.now anyone that knows anything about horses know they will not break out that much unless they are hungry.and when my daughter tried to call someone she knew that had a horse out there to let them know,she was cussed out by Mrs.Clairese. i was in fear that my 3 year old grand daughter or some of the other little children would get ran over by these horses.i my self along with my husband have gone by horsesisters more then a few time,and i my self see a decline in a lot of horses out there.i would say do go out and see for you self before you give anyone money.check them out for yourselves as i did.to me horsesisters is weakly ran,i feel my heart breaking for these poor animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I work with Dr.Craig Roberts an equine veterinarian in Gainesville Florida that specializes in lameness and soundness in horses. Clairese approached us wanting an evaluation of her main carriage horse Thunder, to assure his soundness and ability to do the work asked of him, and to be confident he was doing fine and well. He passed his exam and all radiographs with flying colors. The care and responsibility to her animals well being was wonderfully apparent by her seeking out this professional evaluation and asking for the guidance and direction to keep him healthy and happy in his job. These actions far exceeded what most horse owners do for their working or performance animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I do not understand why something that happened in May is being brought up again if you people are all so concerned instead of trying to descredit them why dont you get off your assssss and volunteer and or donate. They are trying they may not have a perfect farm but how are they to survive and help horses if you try to get donations taken away.. If I was closer I would volounteer and I would help to the best I could. Yes maybe at times people maybe take more than they could handle that always isnt the answer but for crying out loud the spca came in and too the old guy and he died if any of you have any brains the stress on a old horse and virus that could be on the trailers the spca doesn't know crap about horses in my opinion and do they disinfect there trailer doubt it. You all need to get a life and stop stalking this rescue get of your asses and do something productive!!! like HELP!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I AM HONORED TO WRITE A REVIEW......MS. AUSTIN AND HER STAFF HAVE BEEN NOTHING BUT SUPORTIVE OF OUR RESCUE AND MYSELF PERSONALY FOR MANY YEARS. CLARISE HAS BEEN VERY KIND TO US. I FEEL THAT THOSE THAT FIND FAULT IN WHAT OTHERS ARE DOING IS A DISGRACE. WHILE I HAVE NOT BEEN THO THIS FACILITY, MY SISTER HAS. THIS FACILITY, LIKE MANY OTHERS IN THE COUNTRY IS STRUGGLING. I ALSO HAVE SEEN THE PICTURES POSTED BY SOME OF THE PEOPLE POSTING NEGATIVE COMMENTS AND I HAVE ALSO SEEN THE ONES MY SISTER HAS TAKEN.......PICTURES LIKE WORDS CAN BE TAKEN OUT OF CONTEXT. ANGLE, LIGHTING, DISTANCE.......MS. DIBBLE HER SELF HAS HAD SICK ANIMALS THAT WHERE NEVER CARED FOR. WHEN MY SISTER WAS THERE SHE FOUND NOTHING OF SERIOUS CONCERN. THE HORSES WERE CARED FOR, HER STALLS WERE CLEAN THE TROUGHS WERE CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY......MY SISTER MADE A SURPRISE VISIT SO THERE WAS NO SET UP FOR THIS VISIT. I THINK IT IS A SHAME THAT PEOPLE HAVE TO SPEND THEIR TIME FINDING FAULT IN WHAT OTHERS ARE DOING......NO ONE IS PERFECT. NOT EVEN MS. DIBBLE. I WOULD HAVE NO PROBLEM SENDING AN ANIMAL TO HER FOR TRAINING. I WOULD HOW EVER NEVER SEND ONE TO MS. DIBBLE. PLEASE PEOPLE MOVE ON AND TAKE CARE OF YOUR OWN. LEAVE THIS FAMILY ALONE AND LET THEM DO WHAT THEY DO BEST. CARE FOR ANIMALS.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Horses are not cared for, never brushed or hooves checked. Never loved. No grass for grazing. Receive 1 cup of beet pulp a day, and maybe a flake of hay to share one time a day. Owner is loud, rude, refuses to accept any criticism. People have inquired about adopting a horse and she refuses. Overall, just one big sad situation where the horses are suffering.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Watched them try to train a horse to Pull a cart, They almost killed a man ! No this group is better off closed down.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I actually LIVE right here in the neighborhood where these horses are housed. I can visualy SEE the ammounts of feed and care these horses have received and have taken many photos of such to back up all my statements. All my photos are time and date stamped for proof and saved on Disc's and now Flash Drives. I have seen over 20 plus horses die over these 8 years with owner knowing and visually watching them down with colic. NO Veternarian was ever called and NO help was personally given to the horse. Not even the effort was put forth to try to get horse up and walk it. They are treated as "Dispensable Animals". Not ONCE has the owner fed a horse by herself, ran water from a hose into tanks to refill their water supply, brushed or groomed ONE horse. NOTHING. NIL. NOTTA. I have heard her lose her temper and go off into screaming vile vulgar attacks onto volunteers and also me. I watched them take one horse showing the signs of colic, rope it off into a stanchion with water and hay and leave it there as they drove off. The following morning it laid dead where it fell over the rope enclosure. These horses are by nature, grazing animals. They are housed on sugar sand lots. All grazing is bare sugar sand mixed with weeds and plants of Lantana and Poke Weed. At the present time their diets consist of 2...yes TWO cups of grain mixed with beet pulp in the mornings. This cup used for serving the horses resembles a older A&W Rootbeer mug with a false bottom. Keep in mind that is NOT a regular SCOOP that ranges in sizes of 1 QUART or more. Late afternoon they receive a flake of hay off a bale. Their fencing is supposed to be hot wire, but NO electric or batteries run to it. They stick their heads thru the wire spaces to chew on what grass they can get on the outside. Constant pressure eventually snaps the wire and they are free to roam the neighborhood and roadways.. Sheriffs Dept. has been called so many times that counts of times have been lost. Vet care and Farier care has recently been started because of many complaints from general public and animal services getting involved. But that has also been rare. NOT done on a regular basis. What Rescue must be FORCED into giving care to the animals under the owners care?? That is something a Rescue just does within their guidelines of being a rescue. This is NOT a rescue, just a death trap for many. Humane euthanizing would have been better!! Donations?? Certainly not used towards proper care of these horses so I question "just exactly WHERE does it go"?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I love this organization. The people in it are wonderful, the horses are well taken care of, the volunteers are highly trained the land is beautiful. I've been here once or twice and I always try to do whatever I can. People's vendetta against Horsesisters is completely unjustified and I feel it hurts me personally. It's unfair, and if there is any animal cruelty going on it's by the people claiming that the owners and volunteers maltreat the horses. This is the first ever ranch I've been to, and the only one that I truly feel at home at. Anyone who says that this organization is a sham is a cruel, hateful person who has nothing better to do with their lives but hurt the beautiful creatures aided by Horsesisters. Shame on them, and may the sun continue shining on Horsesisters everyday.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is my first year as an affiliate with both 4-H and HorseSisters, however, I honestly believe that the volunteers and members are all good, kind hearted people that you won't find anywhere else. I find it shameful that their image is tarnished by others due to their pure hatred or vendetta against this nonprofit organization. I may not know the original history behind them; nor am I going to pry on it, but for the most part because of what is going on, most people won't give us a second glance. I find that appalling because of the bad reputation that was given. Such ignorance... Anyways, enough ranting. Overall, HorseSisters is a great organization. So, before you go and judge, get to know them better before anything; Don't judge a book by it's cover!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I feel like I have lost my Big Sister♥, the horses have lost an Angel and all the kids and volunteers have lost a leader full of love and compassion. Shame on haters.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

brush and groom any of the 22 horses, 1 mule and 1 donkey - help mow and trim weeds - maintain horse drawn vehicles - maintain equipment - help with an event - Volunteer