Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.057975
Write A Review
July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I am a former volunteer, and I have so tried to ignore this woman, but it was just brought to my attention that in the last year this ranch has FOUR violations for loose livestock(I've been in horses for over 30 years and never had a single one) Total fines equaling $8715. This is just the last YEAR. She has also had charges for battery on a code enforcement officer, she has a long standing court order to not acquire any more equines. No organization can be considered great when they are in court several times a year for criminal infractions

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization needs to be completely disbanded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My kids and grand kids love visiting and feeding the horses carrots and apples, there are NO horses with their ribs showing... It is a shame that the haters are causing so many problems, the Horses are the one suffering, the writer of that review Needs to get help! We love the farm and the horses are beautiful !, and the donkey!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would find a way to educate the public of how precious this facility is and how much the volunteers help, there is always something that can be done to help the horses!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

First I want to mention that the other reviews which seem to be "hateful" are written by people who care about animals. If a negative operation is not reported...how are animals saved?
I have visited this ranch. My first shock was the ribs sticking out of all the horses. Having been asked to
help feed I brought food and the owner partook in eating it. She told me to go ahead and throw the apples in the sand. I didn't. I left and i am not sure if the horses got the food. She had horses die from having sand in their guts and colic from it so why she would advise me to do that is strange.
With more research i did, I saw that she got kicked out of all the places she tried to have her ranch. If she is not allowed to do her carriage rides at an event she will go a block away and try to capitalise on it.
Go see for yourself before you become a "dear" "great" person and donate she'll call you all these ego boosting names for her gain. But beware if you criticise her! She is unstable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I have been Horsesisters on several occasions to volunteer and I also stay informed through their social media sites. Clairese, her husband Ron and everyone who volunteers have the biggest hearts and their lives revolve around the horses and other animals that they rescue. My life has been enriched by getting to know them and by learning what they do. They make me ask myself often what I am doing in my own life to help animals and other humans that need the help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This couple have done so much for many horses that needed and need help. They work hard and are and do as much as they can do with limited funds. They do what they do for the love of all the animals and are very deserving. God Less them!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was so impressed with the work that this woman and her husband did with the horse that they have acquired, due to abandonment, that I was more than will to buy hay for them and have recommended many of my friends to check them out, Horsesisters are a wonderful and dedicated to helping others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We came to Horsesisters for my son. We have always been horse lovers and horse people in general. When we moved to Florida we had to leave or beloved horses behind. About a year ago my 12 yr old son started becoming a victim of bullying. The physical violence inflicted on him was affecting the whole family and him greatly. As parents we were very frustrated, stressed and worried and our child was very angry and scared. He needed an outlet to channel that anger. Back in Nc with our horse we always had peace around our horses so we thought maybe we could find a place that we could get our child back around the animals he loved so dear. So we began our search. We had heard about Horsesisters so we went out and talked to the people . Everyone is great out there. My don meet a beautiful paint out there and just fell in love with her. All of the volunteers are welcoming and there are tons of sweet friendly animals as well. We found the peace and happiness we were do looking for by just watching the smile on our child's face at Horsesisters .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I was in a very bad car accident in 1991. I was hurt horribly, with three separate head injuries, broken vertebra in my neck and lower back, my sternum was split in half and I had many other broken bones and soft tissue damage. I could not get out of bed for months. But the worst was in suffering from frontal lobe damage. I could not get in touch with myself. I did not care about too much at all, like what I ate, or what I did, or how I felt and was very impulsive. I lost my temper a lot and I could not control myself very often. I hated to be around people. My physical ailments made it so I could no longer coach sports, or shoot in the skeet club I was in or even hunt or fish. I thought of killing myself many times. I never really had any horse experience except thru my wife who loved them. She got me interested in the ranch...sneaky too. It started with helping with the maintenance, so I would feel worthwhile again, since I am now 100% disabled and cannot work.

I mended fences. I did a little organizing. Then I started working on planning. I was asked to join the board and never had done that, so I resisted. Then I started feeding...what a joy that was. The horses showed me they were each individuals and their personalities were wonderful. I got so I missed them when I wasn't there. They gave me a reason to get out of bed and to feel worthwhile. I do ride, but it does bother my lower back so only one a month or so. But now I am out there every day...because I want to be. I also finally joined the board and care for all the maintenance now and I am glad to do so.

We are a humble place with donated buildings and nothing fancy at all, just the horses. They are the stars of the ranch, well, until the clients and volunteers come out. We have had so many wonderful times out there. The horses have shown me so much about myself and how to get over my walls I had. They challenge me an make me laugh. They even help me understand people better. I cry when I have to bury one of the sanctuary horses as this is our 16th year. I feel very fortunate to have this ranch in my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery - and buy our own place, big enough to rotate pastures.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
December 20, 2010

I came to HorseSisters after searching online for a place my daughter could work with horses as she loves them so much. At the time we could not afford to have a horse of our own. I had no idea ho... more

June 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and board member at HorseSisters for several years. I find the organization to be a positive influence on my daughter, as well as her friends who visit the ranch with her. What I like most is seeing the smiles on people, both young and old, when they interact with the horses. It is even more rewarding to see this with special needs kids and adults. Many of them have never seen a horse up close and this organization provides that to people who may otherwise not get the opportunity to get to know a horse. I am proud to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 20, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I came to HorseSisters after searching online for a place my daughter could work with horses as she loves them so much. At the time we could not afford to have a horse of our own.

I had no idea how a simple internet search could change my life so much. I had no plans of becoming a
Board Member, but willfully accepted the nomination, as I believed in HorseSisters' mission. I have been a volunteer at HorseSisters for almost four years and a Board Member for near the same length of time.

My daughter, yes she has learned a lot about horses and riding. Most importantly she has learned about giving and helping others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen many life changing experiences at HorseSisters and I am so glad to be a part of this work. I have seen the smiles on both children and adults faces as they interact with the horses, especially those that had never been close to a horse before.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything I would change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

An internet search.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

My experience with HorseSisters has been absolutely amazing. I started riding here when I was really young and have learned so much through my 6-7 years. The horses have changed my life greatly and he... more

June 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with this organization since 2007 and it has been an amazing life changer for me. I can not see my life anywhere else if it wasn't for HorseSisters. I enjoy my time out there, I always have something to do. Whether it be with my horse, helping out with physical work, or teaching other about the horses and what we do. And it all makes me very happy. I've learned so much, not just with the horses, but with life skills as well. I've learned to become a leader, have self confidence, patience, and independence. These people are my family and always will be. This is my honest truth about this place. It is my home away from home. I feel comfortable here and I look forward to a great future with the horses and everyone who volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes. But if anything were to ever pop up, I would do my best to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My experience with HorseSisters has been absolutely amazing. I started riding here when I was really young and have learned so much through my 6-7 years. The horses have changed my life greatly and helped me through the loss of my father. The therapeutic work from these magnificent animals is just heart warming. I am glad to say that I have been a volunteer for so long and have one of my own horses that I have adopted. He is so well trained especially at his age. I'm glad that I have adopted him from HorseSisters, he means the world to me. I look forward to so many more years to come with this great organization and hope to see new bright faces along the way, including my friends who are about to start their own journey here! I recommend that anyone who wishes to ride or volunteer and wants to have horses in their lives come check out HorseSisters. You will be amazed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

brush and groom any of the 22 horses, 1 mule and 1 donkey - help mow and trim weeds - maintain horse drawn vehicles - maintain equipment - help with an event - Volunteer