Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.03395
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am very saddened to see the negative comments, regarding this organization, they come across as hate filled and full of spite. I have been to The ranch 4 times in apprx 3 years. I have seen some financial struggles, but I have never seen neglect or abuse of the animals. a couple of the animals I spent time with, had troublesome health issues, not unlike older humans experience, especially after being in a prior environment that was not healthy or nurturing, and some bodies, no matter the medical intervention just can never seem to bounce back. We do not immediate jump to put humans out of their misery, we make them as comfortable as possible, maintaining their dignity and give them as much love as possible til time for their final journey, this is not thought of as heinous or criminal when we do it for humans why then would one feel it is wrong to allow nature to take it's course with horses? Horsesisters , IS a peaceful, gentle and loving environment for convalescence and for hospice care of these hooved creatures. My final observance is again directed to those who continue to attack and bombard multiple sites, the county and other organizations with their very UNHELPFUL, HATEFUL and HURTFUL remarks and comments. YOU ARE THE TYPE OF PEOPLE THAT WOULD PUSH to the ground, a man struggling to stand in a fierce wind, then stand on top of him to prevent him from getting up. This IS an organization that is dear to me, and I value the work they are able to do and the services they provide to both the horses, humans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and donate it to them so that they would never have financial concerns again, wave my magic wand and convince the negative "Nellies" that are intent on trying to harm the organization, to reach out a HELPING, loving and supportive hand or at least ENCOURAGE others to do so rather than constantly undermining the attempts of those that do. This IS an organization that is dear to me, and I value the work they are able to do and the services they provide to both the horses, humans

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I used to be a volunteer for Horse Sisters for over 4 years and let me tell u they did a lot to help me. I had a very bad case of depression and every time i went to the ranch to help out it was gone. The events that they do are great and are always willing to do what they can for both kids with special needs and adults that are just looking for something to do. Not only did they help me with my depression problem, they also helped me break out of my shell and get back into a social life again. The things that they do there are just amazing. I even got to the point that i began to train some of the horses and that helped even more. They take great care of there animals and always make sure that they are healthy. Even tho some of you may think otherwise because of the thing you may have read or seen on the news but there is WAY more to the story that of course no one wants u to see. THEY HAVE NEVER mistreated any of there horses in any way. I do not volunteer there any more due to my work schedule but i do try to make it out the the ranch at least 2 a month to see the horses. If you are looking for something for your kids to do over summer vacation, I highly recommend Horse Sisters.
March 7, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 4, 2012

Many reviewers are painting a false picture of Horsesisters. On ratemyhorsepro.com you will find court transcripts when horses were removed from them for cause. Please review them before contributin... more

March 7, 2014

The post by 'An expert' sounds an awful lot like the director herself. The director is currently on probation for battery after having copped a plea to the charge in court. There is still a civil suit pending against her and her husband. These facts are available on the Web site run by the Brevard County Clerk of the Court.

The judge also upheld his original order stating that this scam of a charity can NOT acquire any more equines.

The supportive posts regarding this abomination of a place are from people who benefit from the money coming into the charity. The director has posted that she and her family do receive money for operating the carriage rides. See the facebook group Horsesisters Truth or Dare for accurate information from people who really are in the community and really do see those poor horses.

Speaking of which, the charity also supports the director's own personal horses on the property that is free leased to Horsesisters with the feed that is donated to Horsesisters. They look to be in better shape than the rescued ones and have benefited from donated equine dental, farrier and veterinary services.

There are no therapy sessions going on at this place. No licensed therapists. Many unsafe practices are being taught to the volunteers there.

Horsesisters lies to venues and potential venues for their carriage rides saying that they have equine professional's insurance. They do not. They have a general liability policy that is inadequate and in fact non-existent coverage for equine related incidents. When those venues have been so informed they have rightly ended any affiliation with Horsesisters.

The only thing that the people on social media who criticize Horsesisters are doing is exposing the truth. Again, go to Horsesisters truth or dare on facebook. NObody in the community is calling those people 'haters'. Only the director.

The community has taken to calling this sham charity HorseSTARVERS, though. For good reason.

The rescued horses are still not getting adequate care. The director publicly acknowledges their lack of funds. Recent volunteers documented days on end that the horses had no feed. And still, the director hangs on to the poor things because without the so-called charity, she could not afford her own horses. They all need to be surrendered NOW.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down. Period. Rehome the horses where they will no longer be fodder for the director's imaginary life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Many reviewers are painting a false picture of Horsesisters. On ratemyhorsepro.com you will find court transcripts when horses were removed from them for cause. Please review them before contributing to this sham. The only mention of the group's lack of funds was when the judge decided not to make them pay fees. It was not provided as an excuse for them to have let the horses get in the emaciated condition they were in. The photo of the horse below is from years after he was with Horsesisters. He is now in good weight after being removed from their custody. Here, as on other boards, Clairese Austin has incited those with little or no direct knowlege of Horsesisters - other than what she tells them - to post reviews defending the substandard care horses receive at Horsesisters. Their tone and language gives away the incindiary nature of their outragous claims. There is no accountability in this organization and funds are co-mingled with no oversight. The personal and vindictive attacks on me continue as I reveal only the truth about conditions at the so-called "ranch". Horses deteriorate under their neglectful version of care, and they continue to be an abomination that reflects poorly on legitimate rescues. Please visit Horsesisters- Truth or Dare for an accounting of the concerns the local community has regarding this organization. As is evident from even the comments made here, the director has little grasp of the scope of responsibilities required of legitimate rescues and resorts to vitriol and threats in order to try and keep the charitible organization credential which allows her to solicit funds from the general (unsuspecting) public. Please join us in the call for Horsesisters to surrender horses to Animal Services so they can be properly cared for and not be food insecure again. If it was possible to give no stars or negative stars, I, and others, would.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Horsesisters recently had 3 horses removed from their property by Brevard County Animal Services for neglect. After about a month one, a pony, was deemed healthy enough to be returned. He died 6 days after being returned. The other two were released to an adoptive home where they are recovering from emaciation. The director makes many false claims as to the health of the horses and conditions at Horsesisters. The horses are not regularly fed adequate amounts of nutrition. The director does not have CHA accredidation as is claimed on the corporate Website. These comments come from personal observations and court documents. While the director gives the appearance of a knowledgeable horse person, the neglect of animals and the yelling and screaming at volunteers and others is serious cause for concern.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You will not find a more caring group of people anywhere. The love and respect of Gods precious creatures and love of mother nature is evident at Horsesisters.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I read, with some incredulity the review posted by An Expert. I have some questions and statements in regard to same. First let's start with the neighbor and the 2 injunctions for protection that were filed. You sort of neglect to mention both were dismissed by the judge following a hearing. Anyone can file an injunction, if you don't have facts to back your claim the judge will dismiss your filing as was done here.
If as you mention the land is free why on tax filings were $27,000 written off for land and buildings? The land is free so the landowner should get the deduction. The only permanent building is not even completed and I see no permits for this. This would make the building a legal liability.
As far as claiming that they are sabotaging the wiring, do you have any proof such as dated pictures? That is leaning very close to libel. The horses have gotten out many times as evidenced by dated photos, in fact some this morning, when they had to come back and move horses. Or do you have any proof that any of the thefts are related to this neighbor?
If they are not charging the nonprofit for fuel, tack and such why are they writing these expenditures off on their tax return (citing 2010) to the tune of $4970.54, truck lease $2,606, Saddles $4,800, riding tack $4,000, driving tack $4.000 etc?
But all this is trivial. The real concern, and the ONLY concern, is the horses. The judge in his final judgement stated this "6. Respondents/Owners shall not acquire any additional equines unless and until the
Court determines that Respondents/Owners are financially able to adequately provide for said
animals. Respondents/Owners may adopt out remaining equines, but shall not replace them
without Court approval." Unlike some of the other provisions in this final judgement, this did not have an end date attached to it. There are now 3 additional horses on this property that arrived on 6/30/2013. They are in a state of starvation, flat out painful abusive starvation. There was one other but it colicked and was put down. Not only does Horsesister's appear to be in violation of a court order by bringing in more horses but in the months since their arrival they have gone steadily downhill. On that mule you mention you can see the hipbones sticking out like wings and every other bone in that body. You see huge pits in the head where they should be fat and muscle. Yes, this mule is dying a slow and painful misery. Why, if this is the caring charity as is claimed, aren't all the horses being fed something besides beet pulp. Why do some horses have a full round bale while the horses on the other side of the fence have little to nothing. The concern is that horses do not die and to that end yes, a noise will be made. It is only right. I might ask too that why the horses that were confiscated from Horsesister's before gained weight while being held by the courts? If they were ill and unable to gain weight they would not gain weight anywhere.
I've worked at horse rescues and in none of the rescues that I've worked with even with starving horses off the feedlots was there anything like the conditions I am seeing at Horsesister's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close down and send the horses to new homes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It shocks me that anyone would ever question the honor, honesty or care with which Clairese Austin conducts her work at Horsesisters and Associates. Her horses are always well fed,sheltered and cared for. Sometimes she rescues a horse, thank God, and that horse is in horrible shape certainly no fault of hers. I have seen her bring horses back from the edge of life to happy, healthy and adoptable horses.
I have also seen her horses, all rescues I believe, turn a hard world right for kids and adults who re differently abled. She has done nothing but good for horses and animals for her community. Her work is nothing less than commendable.
In a world where so much harm is being done and especially to the animals, why in the world would anyone try to stop somebody who is giving tirelessly at her own expense at times. This is not a woman getting fat on donations rather she is a woman that would share her last scraps with her animals if need be.
Clairese is conscientious and always in touch with and on top of the wellness of her herd. All this in spite of the harassment and distractions leveled at her.
If you want to find a woman of courage, determination and good moral standing, look no further than Clairese Austin Sincerely Flash Silvermoon Animal Communicator
* What The Animals Tell Me Radio Show

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more $$$

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just recently started volunteering at Horsesisters and the first thing that I noticed was the love that the owners have for their animals. They are kind, warm people who obviously care deeply in helping the horses, mule, and donkey feel loved, safe and well fed. It is an honor to have met them and to be a volunteer at Horsesisters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers and doners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I personally think HorseSisters is awesome despite the crap they have been through and all the rude things said. They have come far in leaps and bounds and continue to be a great rescue!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it so they get more donations

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have personally been to Horse Sisters and have seen for myself the excellent work being done there. The people that choose to hide behind false names and make hateful comments have never been to or have seen what Horse Sisters does. The director works diligently to raise necessary funds for this rescue. There are many, many rescues that are not in it for the right reasons and I can tell you, this place IS in it for the right reasons. They do not abuse or neglect any of their charges. As a matter of fact, it is the exact opposite. Excellent place to go if all you want/need to do is hug a horse and they love peppermints.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more time to spend there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This dedicated charity has been saving horses in their community since 1994, before they were even a nonprofit. They take homeless horses and rehabilitate, re-feed and retrain them to become therapy horses for their equine assisted therapy & Special Olympic riders and drivers, if the horses are able. Some of the horses are not suitable. Some of the horses have terminal illnesses and come to HorseSisters to hospice with their owners paying their way along. They adopt out many as well. Losing their lease in 2003, they were called upon to move onto beautiful property owned by a prominent family who would NOT put up with any kind of nonsense were any of it true. Their current free leased 14 acres is wide open, exposed for all to see and inhabited by a small neighborhood of their landlord's lessees. Everyone loves the horses - except ONE person - most neighborhoods have them - her reputation preceded her and MOST of these bad reviews found online are from her camp. The charity begin to have trouble with this very dangerous neighbor right away, when she appeared to be jealous because she has to pay for a lot for her sad stallion mini who must live all alone. In fact, they had to file TWO injunctions for protection against this neighbor because she brandished a gun and threatened to SHOOT! No one lived on the horse property for a long time, but the crimes against the horses and property were just too grave and finally they started getting caretakers just to keep things from being stolen and vandalized. The list of these crimes is a mile long. With three strand electric fencing, some battery/solar powered, it was easy to sabotage the fencing and that they do. The articles stolen exceeded $15,000.00 one year, along with their faithful registered Parson Russell Terrier who was vermin control. The lies being perpetuated about these fine people are disgusting. They have been accused of all manner of false ills and when forced to court by an out of control animal control officer 2/29/2011 - who was FIRED for insubordination and creating a hostile workplace soon afterwards - the judge ruled the deficits he saw were largely financial. They did NOT even OWN the two horses AC claimed were malnourished (their blood work did proved they were NOT starved) and those two horses were returned to their owners. One has since died of the malady he was diagnosed with in July of 2010 by a licensed Veterinarian in front of the owner, and one is still suffering with the very same ailments he was diagnosed with by another licensed Vet while on this charity's property. In fact this same group of horrid people (disgruntled volunteers and spurned adopters) who everyone has taken to calling the "haters" have made 58 complaints to date against that same horse and those owners at their new barn. The Judge ordered a one year period for the charity to PROVE that it could indeed do as they say they could. No one has been accused of cruelty or neglect! Not even a warning! No charges were ever filed against the director Clairese or the charity and the Judge did NOT rule on that finding, even though the assistant County Attorney tried his best. He did not win. He wanted all 26 horses taken from the charity. But it was not to be. The Judge listed some things the charity was to provide during the year to support their abilities- and they were NOT any different than any other rescue would have to provide Animal Services or what they had not already been sharing amicably all these prior years. The Judge made his ruling for ONE year and that date was April 12, 2012 thru April 12, 2013. The Judge was clear to say "one cannot forget the great things HorseSisters has done for the community". At the end of this one year term, the director asked if AC was going to file their findings. NO ONE would answer her for months. Once she was finally told AC was not turning in a report, how odd, the director set up her report and filed for a hearing with the Judge for the dismissal of the case, which is pending. But the haters could not stand that. See, they spent the entire year trying to force this charity to fail. They contacted their vendors, their donors, their supporters, why even authors that wrote glowing articles about the charity - and their venues. They sent photos of the two sick horses that did not belong to the charity, insisting that the director herself starved them to death. One of the charity's horses was fatally injured by the Veterinarian that AC had out on the original date by ignorantly forcing mineral oil into its lungs. It took 6 weeks to figure out the horse's lungs were dying from the oil and a 6 year old, healthy Clydesdale had to be put to sleep. That very same arrogant vet was fired by the charity over 10 years ago for too many misdiagnosis' and for making a sexual pass at a minor on their premises - that vet should have excused himself from the charity. That vet also seized a 40 year old pony who was seen by the charity's vet Jan. 24, 2012, saying he was neglected and malnourished. In his report he claimed the pony needed dental. In the courtroom, the charity's attorney asked the vet if he was going to build the pony dentures as their vet noted on his Jan. 24, 2012 statement the pony had NO TEETH! The vet lied in his exam! He also listed the sexes and colors of many of their horses in error? Some expert in his field! He claimed the Clydesdale was colicking, but the charity contacted their own vet and gave her the horse's vital signs and they were not concerned, plus the charity has the whole situation on video and the horse is not suffering or have any colic symptoms. Ignorance led AC to seize that pony, who was just vetted 5 weeks earlier, and they tried to seize the Clydesdale as well, lying that the director refused veterinary care for it when she called her own vet and followed her own vet's protocol. The director has a video of the vet and the officers trying to stuff a very calm (he was supposed to be in dire straights, dying of colic) Clydesdale into a small two horse trailer. The horse was smarter than all of them as he refused to get into the trailer. They were forced to leave him. Once those three horses were taken off the property and taken to an undisclosed location, that vet and the AC officers opened a bag of feed and let the three of those "starved horses" gorge themselves. It was springtime and all horse experts know not to allow horses full, unlimited access to tall, new grass. No one else cared. Those three horses were allowed to eat at will and for the pony, that could have killed him. The pony had to see a vet in an emergency the day it was returned to the rescue and given medication and an IV drip. No one reported this back to the charity and that pony died six days later. The haters blamed it all on the director. NO ONE knew - on the stand, when questioned by the charity's attorney, that a horse could eat themselves to death. NOT the AC officer, the County Attorney, or the Judge. HorseSisters knew. Between their board members, there are over 500 years of equine knowledge between them. Through the year, some board members were then traumatized with late night filthy calls, breathing, hangup calls, calls to their employers, one even had a dead dog dragged 1/4 mile into their property by someone who threatened her online. The charity lost board members. The bullying and name calling online was brutal to the volunteers - who were made fun of for their body sizes, or their clothing or the way they did things and photos of them and their minor children were published on social media and other places online against their wishes. The charity lost MANY volunteers. The hater's behaviors has been childish, cruel, even ugly, yet the charity has maintained what their attorney calls "clean hands" in NOT reacting to them on social media or enacting any revenge. Even the director and her family, for the first time in their lives, have been set up and accused of some odd crimes of late. Mr. Austin, age 63, has never been in trouble in his life, took a plea from two felonies to a misdemeanor from a road rage incident where he was attacked by three family members in their 50's for bumping their bumper at a green light and they lied that he had a gun. It was their word against his and he was a set up, insurance fraud. These sick people then requested their identities be kept secret so there was no accidental contact, so their initials were posted in all court documents. But these hateful, lying haters say he assaulted minors, in their absolute ignorance. There were NO youths involved in anything at all. But this is what these haters assume and have publicly declared against a wonderful man. These haters claim the director assaulted a code enforcement officer (one the haters have sent to the charity's thrift store over 40 times with false claims) The director called the police on the code enforcement officer for threatening her and refusing to leave the inside of the premises. The directors arraignment is 9/13 and there will be a jury trial as the director is innocent. These haters continue to hide behind fake names and fake profiles that were set up just for places like this where they leave lies instead of reviews. Cowards. Just yesterday "someone" anonymously complained the charity's mule was "dying" and they called out the Sheriff's department and AC. More taxpayer dollars wasted for their false reports. 99% of their complaints have been "unfounded" and the 1% there was an issue - the haters could have caused that issue. The haters are calling the county managers, commissioners, any city, county or state agency they can to make false accusations against. The charity is so busy trying to do damage control from their hateful and false accusations, their programs have been stopped. They cannot apply for grants, or request board members, or volunteers without these haters going after everything. The haters promise venues that allow the charity to join them, or business that do business with the charity that they will picket them and boycott them and we all live in a very small town. The horse world is small as is. This is how its been for the past 18 months for this poor charity that has done no wrong. Each time someone makes a false comment like this, someone else reconsiders helping with donations for this all volunteer based charity. The director who is not eligible for disability but walks with a cane and needs a scooter because a debilitating back disease and a knee replacement and her husband, who is on disability from a 1991 car accident, gave $6000.00 to the agency and live very frugally. They do not charge the charity for the use of their truck, their 6 horse trailer, their harnesses, their carriages and wagons and their own horses to pull those vehicles to do horse drawn events such as weddings, parties, festivals, hayrides, trail rides, or to give lessons to able bodied riders to generate donations. They do not take any of the donations made., never have. They never charge the disabled or veterans for their services. These people think of themselves last and always have. HorseSisters, named after their first two therapy horses, who were indeed sisters, is their dream - the last thing they would do is harm it. There is something horrible wrong with people like this - who by the way - have been asked several times to come meet the board and look at the financials as the charity has a weekly open house. NO ONE has had the guts to do so. They just do things like this - heaven forbid if they donate so much as a bale of hay! They have not, in fact they told people we refuse their donations, when nothing is further from the truth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find them a new home away from this evil neighbor. A home where they can enjoy their horses, where their clients can come for services and not have their photos taken against their will - to live and work in the peace that all people have the right to have. I would try and expose these cowards for who they are and ask them who they are to judge anyone...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

brush and groom any of the 22 horses, 1 mule and 1 donkey - help mow and trim weeds - maintain horse drawn vehicles - maintain equipment - help with an event - Volunteer