Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.65
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering at Horsenet many years ago with my son. We originally started this for service hours for high school requirements. Once we began helping take care of these beautiful creatures, I found that I couldn't stop once my son reached his hours. I continued to volunteer knowing that this one unselfish thing that I did means the world to these unwanted and sometimes abused animals. I have grown to love them all. They have such fun personalities. When you pull up to the farm, you are greeted with a happy, dancing "Parker". He runs along his paddock waiting for some love or carrots. The blind community has never ceased to amaze me. "Tody" can hear you coming from a mile away waiting for his treat. Watching them intereract with each other can be a great source of entertainment. Horsenet is a place that I look forward to going to every week. My daughter began volunteering with me this year and I feel that this most unique place is such a wonderful learning tool for life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Got involved because it was close to home and I am an animal lover. When I got there and started to help i had no idea that people would abuse these beautiful animals and neglect them as well what a shame.
Now we volunteer about once a month the whole family. it is very rewarding and at the end
of the day it feels good to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I was introduced to Horse Net Horse Rescue by a neighbor and decided to have my Girl Scout troop lend a hand for a day. Well, the girls did not want to leave! They so enjoyed being around the horses and helping with the farm chores. My own daughter begged me to return and the two of us have tried to volunteer on a regular basis over the last two years. My youngest daughter now wants to join us and even my husband and son occassionally help at the farm. It really is a great family experience.

We know these horses are at the farm because their owners could not care for them properly. The owners, managers and volunteers all work together to provide a caring and safe environment for these horses. My children have learned about hard work and they see it pay off as the horses run and frolic together. And it is great to see my family working together to give back to the community.

This is not the place to take riding lessons, but if you would like to learn a bit about caring for horses and what it takes to run a well managed farm on a budget come to Horse Net. As with any animal care and farm, there is always work to be done. Answering phones or clerical work got you down? Teens need service hours for school? Like working around animals? Join us at the farm! You won't be disappointed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

HorseNet does exceptional work with rescue horses. While they are not as high-profile as rescues such as Day's End, they nonetheless have beautiful, well-cared for animals and dedicated volunteers. Their farms are not what some might call "beautiful" or "modern", but such is life when you live off donated time and money.

When I first started volunteering at HorseNet five years ago, it was a much different place than it is today. I have seen HorseNet make remarkable progress during my time with them, and I can only imagine how much more wonderful the rescue will become in the coming years.

Aside from volunteering here, I have also adopted two of their horses (one ex-track, one rescued from an abusive situation). Both animals were fantastically cared-for when I got them and have proven to be wonderful matches for my personality as well as riding desires.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I have been volunteering at Horsenet for almost three years now. I am the "rider," as they all call me, I ride the horses to find out if they in fact ever have been ridden and/or to find out what they know under saddle. The farm is a great place to come out and stretch your legs. There is always something to do, from barn chores, to fixing fences, to hauling hay! There really is something for every one, it would be a great place for a family to come out and volunteer on the weekends. All levels of ability can find something here, beginner to expert. Love the barn, the property, the horses, and the people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I have been a volunteer with HorseNet Horse Rescue for over 7 years.
HorseNet is a 100% volunteer run rescue. The people who are there, are there because they love these horses, not because they are paid.
HorseNet is also a certified 501(c)3 non-profit.
We exist...survive...struggle on
donations from wonderful caring groups and individuals.
HorseNet has accepted horses from all types of situations. Sadly we are unable to take in more horses right now because of financial shortages. We do however always take back any HorseNet horse that was adopted and can no longer be cared for. The last few years have seen quite a few horses come back because of the economy. Our horses will always have a safe and loving home for their entire life.
We have horses that have been severely abused and starved, We also have horses that needed a home because their family could or would no longer care for them. We also have horses that would have been killed or taken to slaughter because their 'family' no longer cared.
We have a 'herd' of beautiful blind horses who can race me across the field! These horses are so beautiful and have so much love and life in them, yet they were given up on because they were blind. All they need is love and patience and they could do anything a horse with sight could do.
I am truly in love with every horse at HorseNet. Through the years these horses have given me so much more than I could ever give back to them.
I hope anyone reading this will consider donating to HorseNet.
Our horses are beautiful and amazing and full of love.
My dream is to see Horsenet have a 100 acre farm of their own, where our volunteers will never have to worry about trying to pay the rent, or how to pay for hay this month.
PLEASE consider donating...anything and everything helps!
It amazes me after what some of these horses have gone through that they still can love...but they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I first found out about HorseNet last summer and decided to visit and see what they were all about, since I'd heard of other horse rescues in the area but not this one. I was pretty amazed by what they do. Unlike a lot of the other horse rescues, which selectively take in horses, HorseNet cares for horses from all different situations from abuse, neglect, injury, etc. They do a lot of great work helping horses to recover from bad situations, and try to adopt them out. But if they can't adopt them, then they give them a good life for as long as they live. I remember they have blind horses, injured horses, mules, ponies, old horses. And they all seem happy. Apparently they are all volunteer and survive on donations, so I give to them a bit every month to help them do their great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I've been volunteering with HorseNet for a little over a year. I have never met a more caring and knowledgeable group of people. The farm managers are well-informed and vigilant in their care of the horses. The manager and many of the other volunteers know the name, condition and history of each of the seventy plus horses cared for by HorseNet.

Of special note is that HorseNet cares for a number of senior and special needs horses, specifically our blind or partially sighted horses. These otherwise healthy horses have been cast off by their owners. At HorseNet they are cared for an allowed to live as normally as possible.

The goal for each of the horse is to find a loving "forever" home, but until that time HorseNet is commited to providing the best possible care for each and every one of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

HorseNet is a wonderful organization who's volunteers work very hard to care for rescued horses. I have visited the farm multiple times and have always had a great experience. The horses always look well cared for and are always grateful for the carrots I bring. This organization allows me to schedule and appointment to come out and visit even though I am physically unable to volunteer. I just love petting the horses and giving them treats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2009

more

November 5, 2009

HorseNet is a lovely rescue with wonderful horses. HorseNet takes amazing care of their horses and their horses are always SO happy and friendly! Even little kids can volunteer with this rescue, everyone has a place and no one feels left out! I highly recommend this rescue because the people are nice, the horses are sweet, and volunteering there is so much fun! :D

Photos

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the horses and the other volunteers.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very sweet, generous and helpful to me.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

save so many horses and get so many adopted!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers