Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with STH's for over 1 year and in that time I have been inspired to sell my house and buy a farm in Ellijay, Ga. to bring 3 of the horse's to become part of our family. Their have been many other people do the same thing. Cheryl has created an environment the not only saves horses and any animal that needs to be rescued, but it also has given men, woman and children a place to belong, heal and find meaning in life. Cheryl works right along side the volunteers and gives the freedom to find our place there. Thank you Cheryl for that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In Oct. 2002 I watched a benefit demonstration for STH done by Monty Roberts. There were several Horses from STH with different issues that he addressed and and was able to help. At that time I volunteered with a handicaped riding facility. The following February I came to visit the farm and see if I could help. There was a great need for help and I have been coming ever since. I have made many 2 and 4 legged friends there. Also had to say 'farewell' to many Horses and other animals. I have formed incredible bonds with some horses, and have helped to get other horses into their forever homes. This is incredibly rewarding work. It is always hard when there is nothing you can do for a horse and you have to say good bye, it happened several times over the years. But there are all the other animals that need, aside from food, water and a clean environment, need to be shown kindness and need to learn to trust humans again. Of course all of it has to be done when its blistering hot, or freezing cold, rainy, stormy or a perfect day. All this does not matter, they all are worth it. and of course you have the great company of your like minded fellow volunteers. I look forward to every Saturday to be able to spend time at the rescue farm.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 1, 2013

Save the Horses has been a regular part of my life since August, 2011. I drive 80 miles, one way, usually once a week, to escape from the day to day worries that plague most of us. I'm continually am... more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been affiliated with Save the Horses since August, 2011. The work is hard but so worth the end results. I say the work is hard to include not just the physical effort but the emotional effort it takes to give and then watch a beautiful animal not make it. Cheryl's never ending commitment to the rescue and care of the animals is astounding and inspirational. Her generosity in making room for yet another horse has resulted in so many people finding the joy of loving a creature that is amazingly capable of giving back. I have been the fortunate recipient of such love when I adopted a rescue that may have gone unnoticed and forgotten if not for Cheryl's decision to bring her to the rescue. Thank you, Cheryl, and to all of the volunteers who make it possible for another horse to find a place of shelter. You are the best!!!!!
October 1, 2013

Save the Horses has been a regular part of my life since August, 2011. I drive 80 miles, one way, usually once a week, to escape from the day to day worries that plague most of us. I'm continually amazed at how many hours will pass before I even wonder how much time I've spent at the rescue. Like many of the volunteers, I've adopted one of the horses and am thrilled to say that Esther is my light! Working with her and seeing her open to human companionship is supremely satisfying. All of the animals at the rescue have a story, some are horrific and others just happily ended up in a good situation without suffering abuse or neglect. The work done here to restore and rehabilitate these animals is wonderful. Many, many lives are positively impacted by the partnerships that are formed. The end results are not just about the animals, but about the people who come to help and end up getting the help they may not have even known they needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

STH is a santuary for both people, and horses! It is place where healing energy and passion for Nature come together! I have volunteered here for 15 years, and it has provided me with a stable, educational, fun loving atmosphere , in which I have grown as a horsewoman! Cheryl gives us a lot of freedom to express ourselves through horses, and their care! You cannot help but be inspired, and want to return to help, and in the end, becoming a better person yourself!
October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about Save The Horses in May 2013, after a devastating year of personal loss. Loosing my mother and all three of my pets (ages 14, 16, 19) and the end of a six year relationship, left me depressed, numb and feeling hopeless. While conducting some banking business, my banker introduced me to Save The Horses, where she was very involved. She asked if I would consider adopting a horse. I immediately replied, No. But I inquired about volunteering. I went to the next Orientation, learned more about the organization and how I could help, met Trudy and my life was changed.

Trudy is a beautiful Appaloosa at the rescue. She is completely blind and was abused terribly before being rescued. I fell in love with her immediately and felt a connection and trust that she extended back. I made her a promise that I would start visiting her and walking her. Because of Trudy's blndness and trust issues, getting exercise wasn't a given. Once per week, quickly turned into multiple times per week. Loving Trudy turned into loving every horse and the other animals. Volunteering my time to take care of these beautiful loving horses turned my depression and hopelessness into Unconditional Love, Passion and Joy! And I have learned alot about horses and their care.

The dozens of people who volunteer to care for these horses are amazing! It feels like family taking care of family. Besides the incredible stories about the horses, I've met some wonderful people and made some lasting friendships. Now besides volunteering 3-4 days per week, I find myself looking for an excuse to visit STH.

Last November, while in the pasture leading horses into the barn for the night, a horse I had never seen before started following me. He would follow me to the gate, wait for me to return, follow me to the pasture, then follow me back to the gate. I came back that weekend to groom him and get acquainted. His name is Tequila Sunrise. Long story short, he chose me. I adopted him in January and hope to buy a farm next year to give him a forever home. The love and energy at Save The Horses is like nothing else I've ever experienced.

Do yourself a favor, plan a visit, attend orientation, volunteer. It will make a difference in your life!
Sponsor or adopt a horse or simply make a tax deductible donation. It will make a difference in the lives of many horses and volunteers!

Save The Horses is long overdue for the recognition it deserves!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

There isn't much I can say, that hasn't already been said before my post. I can say first hand all are true. The farm as I refer to it is my sanctuary as much as it is the horses. I tell everyone about it and wonder how I could have missed out on this before in my life. Truly wonderful place and people.

I found this place in April 2014. Being new to GA and alone(all my family and friends are out west) it has given me great new friends and a place that feels like home. I am as happy as I ever have been, from the first day I stepped on the property, I have felt peace. You have to drop your stress before you walk onto the property because the horses sense it. Nothing is more special than getting a shy horse to take a treat from you. I even got to to hold a horse during an eye procedure. She just laid her head on my chest and that was it for me. Felt like nothing I have ever experienced. This place heals 2- leg people and the ones with 4 legs. Come by and you will see what I mean.

October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 26, 2013

This is a wonderful organization with a strong dedicated volunteer base. I've volunteered here for several years and I only wish I had more time to devote. If you love horses, this is a great place ... more

October 28, 2014

This is one of the best organizations that I've ever worked with in over 20 years of animal rescue volunteering. Its very well run and all of the volunteers deeply care about the animals. Cheryl also does a great job of inspiring us and leading by example. I recommend Save the Horses to anyone that wants to get involved in helping horses and other farm animals.
September 26, 2013

This is a wonderful organization with a strong dedicated volunteer base. I've volunteered here for several years and I only wish I had more time to devote. If you love horses, this is a great place to spend time with them and work with other animal lovers. Cheryl and her volunteers really do make a difference in the lives of these animals that have so often been abused and discarded by their former owners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

As a volunteer and a recent adopter, this is the place to be. The rescue is a sincere rescue with the welfare of everyone and everything as the first priority. I thank Cheryl for letting us take the time to be certain our adoption was a good fit for us. For teaching all the value of each of these rescued animals are immense. As a volunteer you get to work and you get to play. It is the best combination and you know deep in yourself you have done good. You will see me in the bad weather and many of the holidays when it is more difficult for many to volunteer.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

If you need a purpose in your life and want to feel better about yourself, join the volunteer team at the rescue. It is an atmosphere like no other, and you will come away a better person for the experience.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Brooke and I have been volunteering at the rescue for approximately 7 years and we truly love coming here to help out and visit all of the animals. Brooke and I have sponsored two different horses over the past several years which really made us bond with them and the farm. I have helped with fundraising over the past several years and it is always great to see the turn out. I have talked about the rescue to friends and two of them started volunteering a couple of years ago. I have brought several Girl Scout troops here over the years and they have fallen in love with the farm too. A great place to visit and have fun!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers